The Stanly News and Press (Albemarle, NC)

Opinion & Letters to the Editor

February 3, 2014

Happy trails to you, Grandma

Monday, February 3, 2014 — This column appeared in the Jan. 26, 2014 print edition of The Stanly News & Press.

I believe in coincidences.

In times of crisis, it is comforting to think of good things, coincidental things, that seem to go together, as Forrest Gump would say, “like peas and carrots.”

My grandma died Tuesday night. She had been to the doctor late that afternoon and her vital signs were good. Then she was gone around 11 p.m.

I think back to the past week and many puzzle pieces come together.

I know I didn’t visit her as often as I could have, but there’s not a lot an 88-year-old woman and a man of my age have in common other than bloodline.

Well, we do have a few things.

We like sweets. I find myself eating more than I should considering I’m the child of two diabetics and the grandson of a diabetic.

But for Grandma, sweets didn’t seem to faze her. She could not get enough to satisfy her sweet tooth, yet she had no weight problem, no signs of diabetes and other than being a breast cancer survivor and outlasting a broken hip, she had always been in good health.

They say nothing is as American as apple pie. In my childhood years and probably long before that, Grandma was known for her apple pie. We always had to take home a piece or two or half an apple pie when we visited Grandma’s house.

So it seems poetic that Mom decided to make an apple pie Sunday. I can’t remember the last time she made an apple pie, seeing as how she doesn’t like apple pie that much, just like it says in Jimmy Dean’s song “I.O.U.”

It was Wednesday of last week when I last saw Grandma, and it was fate as well, I guess. I was the one selected to fix her television. The cable box needed rebooting and she never could get it to work right. So I went in and worked my magic. She seemed fine and greeted me at the door with her walker.

When I had the television fixed, she asked, “How much I owe you?” I said, “I’ll send you my bill.” She knew I was joking, but now I wonder if I should have taken payment in the form of a hug. But I didn’t want to give Grandma any germs. We have been cautious to keep her from outside settings to keep her well.

Which leads to the next coincidence. One of my favorite aunts — I have so many — took Grandma to her favorite restaurant Friday night. She loved to go to Blue Bay, I think for the people watching as much as the food. Again, we didn’t really want to get her out in the cold or in flu season, but looking back we’re glad she got to enjoy it one last time, with someone she had grown to love so much.

If Grandpa would have been alive, they would have celebrated their 70th anniversary this year. Grandma would be turning 89. She lived a little more than 18 years after him and still spoke of him often.

They loved the Ridgecrest community and visiting with their neighbors. Whether it was an event at the fire department or an activity at Ridgecrest Presbyterian, Grandma and Grandpa always seemed to be there. Grandma was one of the last veteran members of that community.

They are no doubt taking a buggy ride or enjoying a horseback ride right now. Possibly to the tune of “Filipino Baby,” which was their song.

So, wherever you are up there, Cowbay Copas, play it for Grandma.

B.J. Drye is editor of The Stanly News & Press. Send comments or story ideas to bj@stanlynewspress. com or PO Box 488, Albemarle, NC 28002.

 

1
Text Only
Opinion & Letters to the Editor
  • Brent Laurenz Special election adds to the mix

    RALEIGH – A busy slate of judicial elections this November got even busier recently when Judge John Martin of the N.C. Court of Appeals announced his retirement.
    A special statewide election to fill Martin’s seat will be added to the general election ballot, joining the four N.C. Supreme Court seats and three N.C. Court of Appeals races already slated for this fall.

    July 25, 2014 1 Photo

  • Patrick Gannon Fake news or sign of some more trouble?

    RALEIGH – Of the three situations I can recall where agencies receiving large sums of taxpayer dollars wouldn’t divulge employees’ salaries, two of them ended badly. The third – involving a group of charter schools in Southeastern North Carolina – is playing out right now.

    July 25, 2014 1 Photo

  • Almost half of America's obese youth don't know they're obese

    WASHINGTON - The good news is that after decades of furious growth, obesity rates finally seem to be leveling off in the U.S.. The bad news is that America's youth still appear to be dangerously unaware of the problem.

    July 23, 2014

  • Darth Vader is polling higher than all potential 2016 presidential candidates

    On the other hand, with a net favorability of -8, Jar Jar is considerably more popular than the U.S. Congress, which currently enjoys a net favorability rating of -65.

    July 23, 2014

  • D.G. Martin Where did all these new voters in North Carolina come from?

    “Voters born elsewhere make up nearly half of N.C. electorate.”
    So begins the latest DataNet report from the UNC Program on Public Life, directed by former journalist Ferrel Guillory.

    July 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • Patrick Gannon Some light for Dems in their time of darkness

    RALEIGH – Earlier this year, state Sen. Ben Clark, a Hoke County Democrat, became a hero for a day among his party and environmentalists when his amendment to require more well water testing near future fracking sites passed the Senate. It even gained the support of a number of GOP senators, against the wishes of the Republican bill sponsor.

    July 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • mama.jpg What we get wrong about millennials living at home

    If the media is to be believed, America is facing a major crisis. "Kids," some age 25, 26, or even 30 years old, are living out of their childhood bedrooms and basements at alarmingly high numbers. The hand-wringing overlooks one problem: It's all overblown.

    July 22, 2014 1 Photo

  • Doug Creamer Maintaining hope

    Gardeners are facing challenges with the weather this year. It seemed like we were getting great conditions in April and May. The weather was warm and we were getting some good rains. Then sometime in June the rain stopped. It got so dry that I didn’t have to cut the grass. While I enjoyed the break, the garden was not happy at all. I was having to water quite a bit to keep the vegetable garden alive and growing.

    July 22, 2014 1 Photo

  • Jason O. Boyd I may be a bit behind the times, but at least I can find ‘America’

    I seem to be reading about and dealing with technology a lot lately.
    I  love technology and have always been fascinated by gadgets of all kinds and the wonderful things they can do. You never seem to go through an entire day without some form of invention enhancing your life.

    July 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Brent Laurenz Meeting out in open helps negotiations move ahead

    RALEIGH – State lawmakers reconvened in Raleigh on May 14 promising a brief legislative session this summer, but as July moves along they are still in town and tackling big issues.

    July 21, 2014 1 Photo

House Ads
Seasonal Content