The Stanly News and Press (Albemarle, NC)

Opinion & Letters to the Editor

May 20, 2013

Ronald McDonald House of benefit to us all

Monday, May 20, 2013 — On Tuesday, Stanly County Managers Association members heard a presentation concerning the Ronald McDonald House in Charlotte.

Now, the SNAP tries to focus purely on Stanly County and the actions of its residents and natives. But this story trickles into the county.

Ronald McDonald House has served 31 families from Stanly since its construction a few years ago. It has served more than 1,000 families in all, and none of those can be from Mecklenburg County, since the house is meant to serve families who are receiving medical care far away from home.

One story we heard was about a baby born premature. It weighed less than I did, and I came in at two pounds, eight ounces. I know my parents could have used the services of Ronald McDonald House back then, since I stayed in the hospital about two months after birth.

It is good to know that families today have this resource available. I know of a few people who used Ronald McDonald House in other parts of the state and it benefited them immensely.

But our connection to the house does not end at its proximity or the number of families served.

I sat with Ronnie Thornton, owner of the McDonald’s restaurants in Stanly County, and he shared with the group some of the fundraising opportunities. The restaurants collect pull tabs which ultimately turn into funds for the house. Shamrock Shakes are also sold once a year to raise funds.

On Oct. 25, it really comes home. The Red Shoe Shootout is scheduled for 8 a.m.-1:30 p.m. at The Fork Farm & Stables. Entry is $325 per person or $1,300 for a team of four. For more information on sponsorship availability or to register, contact Jenna West-brook at (704) 288-5319 or jenna westbrook@rmhofcharlotte.org.

So while we always stress the need to shop locally and donate locally, there are a few outer organizations that do have an impact on county residents as well.

B.J. Drye is editor of The Stanly News & Press. Send comments or story ideas to bj@stanlynewspress.com or PO Box 488, Albemarle, NC 28002.

 

1
Text Only
Opinion & Letters to the Editor
  • Jason O. Boyd Yellow journalism takes on new form, people are dumber for it

    Time to get on the soapbox for a few minutes.
    Let me clear my throat. Eh ... hem!
    People are dumb.

    July 28, 2014 1 Photo

  • Brent Laurenz Special election adds to the mix

    RALEIGH – A busy slate of judicial elections this November got even busier recently when Judge John Martin of the N.C. Court of Appeals announced his retirement.
    A special statewide election to fill Martin’s seat will be added to the general election ballot, joining the four N.C. Supreme Court seats and three N.C. Court of Appeals races already slated for this fall.

    July 25, 2014 1 Photo

  • Patrick Gannon Fake news or sign of some more trouble?

    RALEIGH – Of the three situations I can recall where agencies receiving large sums of taxpayer dollars wouldn’t divulge employees’ salaries, two of them ended badly. The third – involving a group of charter schools in Southeastern North Carolina – is playing out right now.

    July 25, 2014 1 Photo

  • Almost half of America's obese youth don't know they're obese

    WASHINGTON - The good news is that after decades of furious growth, obesity rates finally seem to be leveling off in the U.S.. The bad news is that America's youth still appear to be dangerously unaware of the problem.

    July 23, 2014

  • Darth Vader is polling higher than all potential 2016 presidential candidates

    On the other hand, with a net favorability of -8, Jar Jar is considerably more popular than the U.S. Congress, which currently enjoys a net favorability rating of -65.

    July 23, 2014

  • D.G. Martin Where did all these new voters in North Carolina come from?

    “Voters born elsewhere make up nearly half of N.C. electorate.”
    So begins the latest DataNet report from the UNC Program on Public Life, directed by former journalist Ferrel Guillory.

    July 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • Patrick Gannon Some light for Dems in their time of darkness

    RALEIGH – Earlier this year, state Sen. Ben Clark, a Hoke County Democrat, became a hero for a day among his party and environmentalists when his amendment to require more well water testing near future fracking sites passed the Senate. It even gained the support of a number of GOP senators, against the wishes of the Republican bill sponsor.

    July 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • mama.jpg What we get wrong about millennials living at home

    If the media is to be believed, America is facing a major crisis. "Kids," some age 25, 26, or even 30 years old, are living out of their childhood bedrooms and basements at alarmingly high numbers. The hand-wringing overlooks one problem: It's all overblown.

    July 22, 2014 1 Photo

  • Doug Creamer Maintaining hope

    Gardeners are facing challenges with the weather this year. It seemed like we were getting great conditions in April and May. The weather was warm and we were getting some good rains. Then sometime in June the rain stopped. It got so dry that I didn’t have to cut the grass. While I enjoyed the break, the garden was not happy at all. I was having to water quite a bit to keep the vegetable garden alive and growing.

    July 22, 2014 1 Photo

  • Jason O. Boyd I may be a bit behind the times, but at least I can find ‘America’

    I seem to be reading about and dealing with technology a lot lately.
    I  love technology and have always been fascinated by gadgets of all kinds and the wonderful things they can do. You never seem to go through an entire day without some form of invention enhancing your life.

    July 21, 2014 1 Photo

House Ads
Seasonal Content