The Stanly News and Press (Albemarle, NC)

Opinion & Letters to the Editor

July 20, 2013

Zoo Tales: Mtn. Bogs Home to Unique Eco-Systems

Saturday, July 20, 2013 —

Many visitors to the North Carolina Zoo might walk right by the park's Mountain Bog exhibit and never know it's there--just like they might do in the wild. To a lot of people, bogs and wetlands connote wastelands--wet, unusable land areas that serve no purpose to people, plants or animals, but nothing could be farther from the truth.

Bogs are areas of moist, soggy ground, usually containing peat formed by the decay and carbonization of mosses and other vegetation. They're found mostly in flat terrain, where topography, geology and climate cause water to enter the system faster than it leaves. The origin of bogs is not known, but some are thought to date back to the last Ice Age.

Acre for acre, there’s more life in a healthy wetland than in almost any other kind of natural eco-system, and wetlands serve as nature’s own water purification systems. The intertwining roots, leaves and fibers of the dense plant life remove sediment and pollutants from the slow-moving water that meanders through them. They also act as nature’s flood-control system, like giant sponges, holding water and then slowly releasing it, preventing excessive flooding and erosion.

And--some would say, most importantly--bogs provide food and shelter for many species of plants and animals, some endangered. In North Carolina alone, more than 70 percent of the species listed as endangered, threatened or of special concern depend on wetlands for survival. Nationally, one in every three threatened or endangered species lives in wetlands.

The soil in most bogs is acidic due to sulfuric acid formed by the oxidation of organic sulfur compounds and from humic acids produced in the water. Because of this general acidity, bogs support a specialized and unique flora and fauna, many of which are found in no other habitats. These include wild orchids, carnivorous pitcher plants, lilies, wild azaleas, cranberries and a variety of shrubs and sedges in addition to bog turtles and other amphibians.

Text Only
Opinion & Letters to the Editor
  • Mike Walden The gains and gaps in our economy

    Twice a year, I pull out my cloudy crystal ball and attempt to make some predictions about the direction and pace of the North Carolina economy. I just finished my latest effort and, as usual, the results are a combination of pluses and minuses.

    July 28, 2014 1 Photo

  • Jason O. Boyd Yellow journalism takes on new form, people are dumber for it

    Time to get on the soapbox for a few minutes.
    Let me clear my throat. Eh ... hem!
    People are dumb.

    July 28, 2014 1 Photo

  • Brent Laurenz Special election adds to the mix

    RALEIGH – A busy slate of judicial elections this November got even busier recently when Judge John Martin of the N.C. Court of Appeals announced his retirement.
    A special statewide election to fill Martin’s seat will be added to the general election ballot, joining the four N.C. Supreme Court seats and three N.C. Court of Appeals races already slated for this fall.

    July 25, 2014 1 Photo

  • Patrick Gannon Fake news or sign of some more trouble?

    RALEIGH – Of the three situations I can recall where agencies receiving large sums of taxpayer dollars wouldn’t divulge employees’ salaries, two of them ended badly. The third – involving a group of charter schools in Southeastern North Carolina – is playing out right now.

    July 25, 2014 1 Photo

  • Almost half of America's obese youth don't know they're obese

    WASHINGTON - The good news is that after decades of furious growth, obesity rates finally seem to be leveling off in the U.S.. The bad news is that America's youth still appear to be dangerously unaware of the problem.

    July 23, 2014

  • Darth Vader is polling higher than all potential 2016 presidential candidates

    On the other hand, with a net favorability of -8, Jar Jar is considerably more popular than the U.S. Congress, which currently enjoys a net favorability rating of -65.

    July 23, 2014

  • D.G. Martin Where did all these new voters in North Carolina come from?

    “Voters born elsewhere make up nearly half of N.C. electorate.”
    So begins the latest DataNet report from the UNC Program on Public Life, directed by former journalist Ferrel Guillory.

    July 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • Patrick Gannon Some light for Dems in their time of darkness

    RALEIGH – Earlier this year, state Sen. Ben Clark, a Hoke County Democrat, became a hero for a day among his party and environmentalists when his amendment to require more well water testing near future fracking sites passed the Senate. It even gained the support of a number of GOP senators, against the wishes of the Republican bill sponsor.

    July 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • mama.jpg What we get wrong about millennials living at home

    If the media is to be believed, America is facing a major crisis. "Kids," some age 25, 26, or even 30 years old, are living out of their childhood bedrooms and basements at alarmingly high numbers. The hand-wringing overlooks one problem: It's all overblown.

    July 22, 2014 1 Photo

  • Doug Creamer Maintaining hope

    Gardeners are facing challenges with the weather this year. It seemed like we were getting great conditions in April and May. The weather was warm and we were getting some good rains. Then sometime in June the rain stopped. It got so dry that I didn’t have to cut the grass. While I enjoyed the break, the garden was not happy at all. I was having to water quite a bit to keep the vegetable garden alive and growing.

    July 22, 2014 1 Photo

House Ads
Seasonal Content