The Stanly News and Press (Albemarle, NC)

Opinion & Letters to the Editor

February 25, 2013

What’s the best ‘COLA’?

Monday, February 25, 2013 — A COLA war is going on. It hit the headlines a couple of months ago, has now subsided but is threatening to come back. It’s a war that not only can affect those who enjoy liquid refreshments but potentially everyone.

So is this a war between the big-name soda manufacturers? Actually, it’s not. I’m not talking about the best-tasting or most thirst-quenching carbonated beverage. Instead, I’m referring to the best “cost-of-living adjuster.”

Now, before you tune out, let me remind you, this version of the COLA war has the potential to affect everyone. This is because the front where the war will be waged is Social Security, and 90 percent of us are in the Social Security system. So using a popular current phrase, virtually all of us have some skin in this fight.

But just what is this COLA war? It’s a discussion (war is really too harsh a term) about the best index to use to adjust future Social Security payments received by retirees.

When Social Security was introduced in the 1930s, payments to retirees were not periodically changed to keep up with the cost of living. This didn’t begin until the 1970s, when price inflation started to be a big problem. Now, each year retirees receiving Social Security receive an increase in the amount they receive based on how some broad increase in average prices has changed.

This annual adjustment in Social Security payments is a big help to retirees. Even though the annual change can be small, over time it can accumulate to an impressive gain. For example, if a 3 percent increase is received each year for 10 years, then after a decade, the Social Security recipient’s checks will be more than one-third (with compounding) higher.

However, the big question is, What method should be used to make the annual adjustments to Social Security payments? Currently, the government uses its main inflation gauge — the Consumer Price Index, or CPI — to make these adjustments.

Text Only
Opinion & Letters to the Editor
  • Brent Laurenz Special election adds to the mix

    RALEIGH – A busy slate of judicial elections this November got even busier recently when Judge John Martin of the N.C. Court of Appeals announced his retirement.
    A special statewide election to fill Martin’s seat will be added to the general election ballot, joining the four N.C. Supreme Court seats and three N.C. Court of Appeals races already slated for this fall.

    July 25, 2014 1 Photo

  • Patrick Gannon Fake news or sign of some more trouble?

    RALEIGH – Of the three situations I can recall where agencies receiving large sums of taxpayer dollars wouldn’t divulge employees’ salaries, two of them ended badly. The third – involving a group of charter schools in Southeastern North Carolina – is playing out right now.

    July 25, 2014 1 Photo

  • Almost half of America's obese youth don't know they're obese

    WASHINGTON - The good news is that after decades of furious growth, obesity rates finally seem to be leveling off in the U.S.. The bad news is that America's youth still appear to be dangerously unaware of the problem.

    July 23, 2014

  • Darth Vader is polling higher than all potential 2016 presidential candidates

    On the other hand, with a net favorability of -8, Jar Jar is considerably more popular than the U.S. Congress, which currently enjoys a net favorability rating of -65.

    July 23, 2014

  • D.G. Martin Where did all these new voters in North Carolina come from?

    “Voters born elsewhere make up nearly half of N.C. electorate.”
    So begins the latest DataNet report from the UNC Program on Public Life, directed by former journalist Ferrel Guillory.

    July 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • Patrick Gannon Some light for Dems in their time of darkness

    RALEIGH – Earlier this year, state Sen. Ben Clark, a Hoke County Democrat, became a hero for a day among his party and environmentalists when his amendment to require more well water testing near future fracking sites passed the Senate. It even gained the support of a number of GOP senators, against the wishes of the Republican bill sponsor.

    July 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • mama.jpg What we get wrong about millennials living at home

    If the media is to be believed, America is facing a major crisis. "Kids," some age 25, 26, or even 30 years old, are living out of their childhood bedrooms and basements at alarmingly high numbers. The hand-wringing overlooks one problem: It's all overblown.

    July 22, 2014 1 Photo

  • Doug Creamer Maintaining hope

    Gardeners are facing challenges with the weather this year. It seemed like we were getting great conditions in April and May. The weather was warm and we were getting some good rains. Then sometime in June the rain stopped. It got so dry that I didn’t have to cut the grass. While I enjoyed the break, the garden was not happy at all. I was having to water quite a bit to keep the vegetable garden alive and growing.

    July 22, 2014 1 Photo

  • Jason O. Boyd I may be a bit behind the times, but at least I can find ‘America’

    I seem to be reading about and dealing with technology a lot lately.
    I  love technology and have always been fascinated by gadgets of all kinds and the wonderful things they can do. You never seem to go through an entire day without some form of invention enhancing your life.

    July 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Brent Laurenz Meeting out in open helps negotiations move ahead

    RALEIGH – State lawmakers reconvened in Raleigh on May 14 promising a brief legislative session this summer, but as July moves along they are still in town and tackling big issues.

    July 21, 2014 1 Photo

House Ads
Seasonal Content