The Stanly News and Press (Albemarle, NC)

Opinion & Letters to the Editor

March 4, 2013

Enough to make Dr. Seuss sick

Monday, March 4, 2013 — I am sick and tired of being sick.

My assumption is that most of those reading this are as well.

All the clarion calls have been the warnings about the flu, but it seems to me most everyone has suffered from every malady except the flu.

It sort of makes me think of a Dr. Seuss rhyme (written with apologies to the good Doctor):

It started with sneezes,

Then led up to wheezes,

The chest was a thumping,

Oh, gosh I think it’s coming.

Blowing the nose,

Then holding the cough,

Oh, how I wish there were

A way to shake it off.

This misery that comes

With the chills and the shakes,

I’m so tired of cold one moment

Than feeling full baked.

The sweat on my brow

Could fill up a sea

And the boat I’m now on

It’s like Titanic for me!

Then the blue pill, the pink pill,

The long and the round.

One twice a day,

The others when found.

My cabinet is strewn with empty bottles a plenty.

The labels had said

two teaspoon fulls

and you’re ready!

Ready for what?

I must declare.

Ready for hunger and no way to breathe air.

I feel like I sound.

I look like I feel.

My eyelids are sore

from trying to see.

Will this not go away?

Go away today?

Kill these bugs off!

I must find a way!

Ah, sleep!

It can’t survive that.

Hot cocoa and soup

will give it a zap.

All is now quiet

as the z’s fill my thoughts.

The germs have all gone.

The one’s I have fought.

Finally gone, you blight!

Now leave me alone.

But oops, from your red nose

I see they have found a new home.

Sharing is good

they taught me in school.

But sharing these germs

just isn’t real cool.

My forgiveness is begged

I’m sorry you’re sick.

I don’t have the answers

to getting well quick.

This too shall pass.

I’m quite sure of this.

‘Cause another bug’s coming

I sure hope we miss.

 

1
Text Only
Opinion & Letters to the Editor
  • Patrick Gannon Fake news or sign of some more trouble?

    RALEIGH – Of the three situations I can recall where agencies receiving large sums of taxpayer dollars wouldn’t divulge employees’ salaries, two of them ended badly. The third – involving a group of charter schools in Southeastern North Carolina – is playing out right now.

    July 25, 2014 1 Photo

  • Almost half of America's obese youth don't know they're obese

    WASHINGTON - The good news is that after decades of furious growth, obesity rates finally seem to be leveling off in the U.S.. The bad news is that America's youth still appear to be dangerously unaware of the problem.

    July 23, 2014

  • Darth Vader is polling higher than all potential 2016 presidential candidates

    On the other hand, with a net favorability of -8, Jar Jar is considerably more popular than the U.S. Congress, which currently enjoys a net favorability rating of -65.

    July 23, 2014

  • D.G. Martin Where did all these new voters in North Carolina come from?

    “Voters born elsewhere make up nearly half of N.C. electorate.”
    So begins the latest DataNet report from the UNC Program on Public Life, directed by former journalist Ferrel Guillory.

    July 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • Patrick Gannon Some light for Dems in their time of darkness

    RALEIGH – Earlier this year, state Sen. Ben Clark, a Hoke County Democrat, became a hero for a day among his party and environmentalists when his amendment to require more well water testing near future fracking sites passed the Senate. It even gained the support of a number of GOP senators, against the wishes of the Republican bill sponsor.

    July 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • mama.jpg What we get wrong about millennials living at home

    If the media is to be believed, America is facing a major crisis. "Kids," some age 25, 26, or even 30 years old, are living out of their childhood bedrooms and basements at alarmingly high numbers. The hand-wringing overlooks one problem: It's all overblown.

    July 22, 2014 1 Photo

  • Doug Creamer Maintaining hope

    Gardeners are facing challenges with the weather this year. It seemed like we were getting great conditions in April and May. The weather was warm and we were getting some good rains. Then sometime in June the rain stopped. It got so dry that I didn’t have to cut the grass. While I enjoyed the break, the garden was not happy at all. I was having to water quite a bit to keep the vegetable garden alive and growing.

    July 22, 2014 1 Photo

  • Jason O. Boyd I may be a bit behind the times, but at least I can find ‘America’

    I seem to be reading about and dealing with technology a lot lately.
    I  love technology and have always been fascinated by gadgets of all kinds and the wonderful things they can do. You never seem to go through an entire day without some form of invention enhancing your life.

    July 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Brent Laurenz Meeting out in open helps negotiations move ahead

    RALEIGH – State lawmakers reconvened in Raleigh on May 14 promising a brief legislative session this summer, but as July moves along they are still in town and tackling big issues.

    July 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Larry's Sketch 7.16.14.tif They don’t give a darn for Duke University

    John “Duke” Wayne’s heirs are suing Duke University over trademark rights.

    July 21, 2014 1 Photo

House Ads
Seasonal Content