The Stanly News and Press (Albemarle, NC)

Opinion & Letters to the Editor

December 11, 2013

Who will step up to the plate?

Deadline nears to assist SCCM Helping Hands

Wednesday, December 11, 2013 — The headline says it all.

Who will step up to the plate?

That statement can be taken a couple ways.

Who will step up to the plate? 

According to the front-page story on The Community Inn, lots of people are stepping up to the plate, and the beds and the roof over their heads.

Many people do not want to admit it, but we, like every community, do have a homeless population. It’s tough to face, but we should not ignore it. That is why the need for volunteers touches home even more during these cold nights, especially when the holidays hit.

For those who have the means and ability to help, we implore you to do so. Some of the volunteers even admit to being faced with similar circumstances before. It is good to know someone is there when you need them, and you never know when you might need them.

Who will step up to the plate?

This point of reference involves Stanly Community Christian Ministry’s Helping Hands program. The Stanly News & Press once again is participating in this great program that assists low-income families with food and toys for Christmas. As of writing this, the SNAP tree is bare.

We need your help, but SCCM needs your help even more. Our deadline of Friday is closing in rapidly.

Will you step up to the plate?

Canned goods, pasta, new toys, a bike and monetary donations are all appreciated by the elves at SCCM. They see a lot of hardship throughout the year, but the struggles during this season have to be even tougher for the staff members and the volunteers who put in long hours to make sure families do not go without.

Will you step up to the plate? 

Make a difference.

Donate.

1
Text Only
Opinion & Letters to the Editor
  • Almost half of America's obese youth don't know they're obese

    WASHINGTON - The good news is that after decades of furious growth, obesity rates finally seem to be leveling off in the U.S.. The bad news is that America's youth still appear to be dangerously unaware of the problem.

    July 23, 2014

  • Darth Vader is polling higher than all potential 2016 presidential candidates

    On the other hand, with a net favorability of -8, Jar Jar is considerably more popular than the U.S. Congress, which currently enjoys a net favorability rating of -65.

    July 23, 2014

  • D.G. Martin Where did all these new voters in North Carolina come from?

    “Voters born elsewhere make up nearly half of N.C. electorate.”
    So begins the latest DataNet report from the UNC Program on Public Life, directed by former journalist Ferrel Guillory.

    July 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • Patrick Gannon Some light for Dems in their time of darkness

    RALEIGH – Earlier this year, state Sen. Ben Clark, a Hoke County Democrat, became a hero for a day among his party and environmentalists when his amendment to require more well water testing near future fracking sites passed the Senate. It even gained the support of a number of GOP senators, against the wishes of the Republican bill sponsor.

    July 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • mama.jpg What we get wrong about millennials living at home

    If the media is to be believed, America is facing a major crisis. "Kids," some age 25, 26, or even 30 years old, are living out of their childhood bedrooms and basements at alarmingly high numbers. The hand-wringing overlooks one problem: It's all overblown.

    July 22, 2014 1 Photo

  • Doug Creamer Maintaining hope

    Gardeners are facing challenges with the weather this year. It seemed like we were getting great conditions in April and May. The weather was warm and we were getting some good rains. Then sometime in June the rain stopped. It got so dry that I didn’t have to cut the grass. While I enjoyed the break, the garden was not happy at all. I was having to water quite a bit to keep the vegetable garden alive and growing.

    July 22, 2014 1 Photo

  • Jason O. Boyd I may be a bit behind the times, but at least I can find ‘America’

    I seem to be reading about and dealing with technology a lot lately.
    I  love technology and have always been fascinated by gadgets of all kinds and the wonderful things they can do. You never seem to go through an entire day without some form of invention enhancing your life.

    July 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Brent Laurenz Meeting out in open helps negotiations move ahead

    RALEIGH – State lawmakers reconvened in Raleigh on May 14 promising a brief legislative session this summer, but as July moves along they are still in town and tackling big issues.

    July 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Larry's Sketch 7.16.14.tif They don’t give a darn for Duke University

    John “Duke” Wayne’s heirs are suing Duke University over trademark rights.

    July 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Your chocolate addiction is only going to get more expensive

    WASHINGTON - For nearly two years, cocoa prices have been on the rise. Finally, that's affecting the price you pay for a bar of chocolate - and there's reason to believe it's only the beginning.

    July 18, 2014

House Ads
Seasonal Content