The Stanly News and Press (Albemarle, NC)

Opinion & Letters to the Editor

October 10, 2013

I own a hedgehog named Hodgepodge

Thursday, October 10, 2013 — In an effort to dispel the long-ignored myths surrounding that ever-elusive animal, the hedgehog:

It may not be world peace, or the economic state of the country, but we can make room for the small things, right? Hedgehogs deserve a voice, too, you know. They have too long been misrepresented.

In order for you to understand my authority on the subject of hedgehogs, the first myth I’ll have to dispel is this: It is illegal to own a hedgehog.

Not true. It is legal to own a hedgehog everywhere in the United States except in California, Georgia, and Hawaii. Everywhere else you can either own a hedgehog or get a permit to own one.

Hedgehog ownership became legal in North Carolina about 10 years ago. No permit is required.

So it is that I have, quite legally, come to own an adorable diva of a hedgehog named Hodgepodge.

Don’t ask me how I got it into my head to buy her. I never watched Sonic or played the video games. But hedgehogs are just so darn cute. How could I pass one up?

“Well, Shannon,” one might say, “they are rather painful.”

Which moves me onto myth number two: Hedgehogs are like porcupines.

It never fails. The second reaction I get when I tell people I have a hedgehog is, Can you even hold that?” (The first reaction, of course, being, “You own a what?”)

Somehow everyone is under the mistaken impression that, like a porcupine, hedgehogs can throw their quills, or at least stab you with them.

Again, not true.

In fact, porcupines themselves don’t even throw their quills. They shake them at predators and occasionally one may get stuck in some unfortunate bobcat’s face, but they can’t fire them at will.

Same goes for the hedgehog. However, unlike the porcupine, hedgehog quills are rather short. They won’t stab through your hand and leave you bleeding.

While some folks use hedgie handling mitts to hold their hedgehogs, it’s not necessary. I hold Hodgepodge everyday without any sort of gloves. Yes she prickles. They are quills after all. But when she calms down, her quills lay down and she’s quite easy to hold.

Another mistaken impression folks get about hedgehogs is that, like porcupines, they are rather large.

“Does it roam around your house” some ask.

“Does it use a litter box?”

Again, a hedgehog is not a porcupine. The reason it has shorter quills is because it’s a smaller animal.

While European hedgehogs can get to be the size of a small cat, most domesticated hedgehogs are a breed called African Pygmy. They don’t get any bigger Guinea pig.

I keep Hodgepodge in a large rodent cage. As far as the litter box goes, there’s no actual box but she’s very good about using the same spot to do her business every night, which is convenient.

Warning: This does have exceptions though.

I don’t know if this is true of every hedgehog but as several of my friends have experienced, Hodgepodge is  under the impression that anyone who isn’t me needs to get peed on.

I like to think of it as a hedgehog anti-burglaring system.

This isn’t to say that hedgehogs are all fun and easy sailing. Myth number three: Hedgehogs are pets for everyone.

They’re not.

First of all, hedgehogs are nocturnal. This works for me because I’m never at home during the day anyways. But it doesn’t work for everyone.

Hedgehogs also require a lot of patience. They’re naturally afraid of people and so they have to be handled every day if you want them to be friendly.

Even then they aren’t “playful.” They won’t scamper up to you, or ask you to pet them. Mostly they’re just fun little personalities who like to do their own thing.

While I watch TV, Hodgepodge scampers around the couch trying to burrow under pillows. If I pull her away from her all-important excursion and she’ll get a upset and snuffle at you. I mentioned she was a diva didn’t I?

But in spite of, or perhaps because of, their personality quirks, they’re endlessly entertaining.

What other animal would try to climb out of a flower pot butt first and end up rolling down the sidewalk? Or burrow into your sister’s hair and try to make a bed there?

No myth, my friends. That’s the absolute truth.

To submit story ideas, contact Shannon Beamon at (704) 982-2121 ext. 24 or at shannon@stanlynews press.com.

1
Text Only
Opinion & Letters to the Editor
  • cleaning supplies Don't judge mothers with messy homes

    I was building shelves in my garage when a neighbor girl, one of my 4-year-old daughter's friends, approached me and said, "I just saw in your house. It's pretty dirty. Norah's mommy needs to clean more."

    July 28, 2014 1 Photo

  • We need your help

    Hurray for the Albemarle City Council. Council plans to battle N.C. Department of Transportation’s ranking of all 13 projects in Stanly County to the bottom of their priority list. Council is setting up petitions in various city buildings for citizens to sign.

    July 28, 2014

  • Council asks veterans to seek office

    The terms of office for the leaders of the Stanly County Veterans Council ended June 30. A call is being sent to veterans council members requesting candidates for the four elective offices of the council. A meeting has been set for 6:30 p.m. Aug. 12 at the DAV building. All council members are urged to attend.

    July 28, 2014

  • Mike Walden The gains and gaps in our economy

    Twice a year, I pull out my cloudy crystal ball and attempt to make some predictions about the direction and pace of the North Carolina economy. I just finished my latest effort and, as usual, the results are a combination of pluses and minuses.

    July 28, 2014 1 Photo

  • Jason O. Boyd Yellow journalism takes on new form, people are dumber for it

    Time to get on the soapbox for a few minutes.
    Let me clear my throat. Eh ... hem!
    People are dumb.

    July 28, 2014 1 Photo

  • Brent Laurenz Special election adds to the mix

    RALEIGH – A busy slate of judicial elections this November got even busier recently when Judge John Martin of the N.C. Court of Appeals announced his retirement.
    A special statewide election to fill Martin’s seat will be added to the general election ballot, joining the four N.C. Supreme Court seats and three N.C. Court of Appeals races already slated for this fall.

    July 25, 2014 1 Photo

  • Patrick Gannon Fake news or sign of some more trouble?

    RALEIGH – Of the three situations I can recall where agencies receiving large sums of taxpayer dollars wouldn’t divulge employees’ salaries, two of them ended badly. The third – involving a group of charter schools in Southeastern North Carolina – is playing out right now.

    July 25, 2014 1 Photo

  • Almost half of America's obese youth don't know they're obese

    WASHINGTON - The good news is that after decades of furious growth, obesity rates finally seem to be leveling off in the U.S.. The bad news is that America's youth still appear to be dangerously unaware of the problem.

    July 23, 2014

  • Darth Vader is polling higher than all potential 2016 presidential candidates

    On the other hand, with a net favorability of -8, Jar Jar is considerably more popular than the U.S. Congress, which currently enjoys a net favorability rating of -65.

    July 23, 2014

  • D.G. Martin Where did all these new voters in North Carolina come from?

    “Voters born elsewhere make up nearly half of N.C. electorate.”
    So begins the latest DataNet report from the UNC Program on Public Life, directed by former journalist Ferrel Guillory.

    July 23, 2014 1 Photo

House Ads
Seasonal Content