The Stanly News and Press (Albemarle, NC)

Opinion & Letters to the Editor

October 10, 2013

I own a hedgehog named Hodgepodge

Thursday, October 10, 2013 — In an effort to dispel the long-ignored myths surrounding that ever-elusive animal, the hedgehog:

It may not be world peace, or the economic state of the country, but we can make room for the small things, right? Hedgehogs deserve a voice, too, you know. They have too long been misrepresented.

In order for you to understand my authority on the subject of hedgehogs, the first myth I’ll have to dispel is this: It is illegal to own a hedgehog.

Not true. It is legal to own a hedgehog everywhere in the United States except in California, Georgia, and Hawaii. Everywhere else you can either own a hedgehog or get a permit to own one.

Hedgehog ownership became legal in North Carolina about 10 years ago. No permit is required.

So it is that I have, quite legally, come to own an adorable diva of a hedgehog named Hodgepodge.

Don’t ask me how I got it into my head to buy her. I never watched Sonic or played the video games. But hedgehogs are just so darn cute. How could I pass one up?

“Well, Shannon,” one might say, “they are rather painful.”

Which moves me onto myth number two: Hedgehogs are like porcupines.

It never fails. The second reaction I get when I tell people I have a hedgehog is, Can you even hold that?” (The first reaction, of course, being, “You own a what?”)

Somehow everyone is under the mistaken impression that, like a porcupine, hedgehogs can throw their quills, or at least stab you with them.

Again, not true.

In fact, porcupines themselves don’t even throw their quills. They shake them at predators and occasionally one may get stuck in some unfortunate bobcat’s face, but they can’t fire them at will.

Same goes for the hedgehog. However, unlike the porcupine, hedgehog quills are rather short. They won’t stab through your hand and leave you bleeding.

While some folks use hedgie handling mitts to hold their hedgehogs, it’s not necessary. I hold Hodgepodge everyday without any sort of gloves. Yes she prickles. They are quills after all. But when she calms down, her quills lay down and she’s quite easy to hold.

Another mistaken impression folks get about hedgehogs is that, like porcupines, they are rather large.

“Does it roam around your house” some ask.

“Does it use a litter box?”

Again, a hedgehog is not a porcupine. The reason it has shorter quills is because it’s a smaller animal.

While European hedgehogs can get to be the size of a small cat, most domesticated hedgehogs are a breed called African Pygmy. They don’t get any bigger Guinea pig.

I keep Hodgepodge in a large rodent cage. As far as the litter box goes, there’s no actual box but she’s very good about using the same spot to do her business every night, which is convenient.

Warning: This does have exceptions though.

I don’t know if this is true of every hedgehog but as several of my friends have experienced, Hodgepodge is  under the impression that anyone who isn’t me needs to get peed on.

I like to think of it as a hedgehog anti-burglaring system.

This isn’t to say that hedgehogs are all fun and easy sailing. Myth number three: Hedgehogs are pets for everyone.

They’re not.

First of all, hedgehogs are nocturnal. This works for me because I’m never at home during the day anyways. But it doesn’t work for everyone.

Hedgehogs also require a lot of patience. They’re naturally afraid of people and so they have to be handled every day if you want them to be friendly.

Even then they aren’t “playful.” They won’t scamper up to you, or ask you to pet them. Mostly they’re just fun little personalities who like to do their own thing.

While I watch TV, Hodgepodge scampers around the couch trying to burrow under pillows. If I pull her away from her all-important excursion and she’ll get a upset and snuffle at you. I mentioned she was a diva didn’t I?

But in spite of, or perhaps because of, their personality quirks, they’re endlessly entertaining.

What other animal would try to climb out of a flower pot butt first and end up rolling down the sidewalk? Or burrow into your sister’s hair and try to make a bed there?

No myth, my friends. That’s the absolute truth.

To submit story ideas, contact Shannon Beamon at (704) 982-2121 ext. 24 or at shannon@stanlynews press.com.

1
Text Only
Opinion & Letters to the Editor
  • Doug Creamer Maintaining hope

    Gardeners are facing challenges with the weather this year. It seemed like we were getting great conditions in April and May. The weather was warm and we were getting some good rains. Then sometime in June the rain stopped. It got so dry that I didn’t have to cut the grass. While I enjoyed the break, the garden was not happy at all. I was having to water quite a bit to keep the vegetable garden alive and growing.

    July 22, 2014 1 Photo

  • Jason O. Boyd I may be a bit behind the times, but at least I can find ‘America’

    I seem to be reading about and dealing with technology a lot lately.
    I  love technology and have always been fascinated by gadgets of all kinds and the wonderful things they can do. You never seem to go through an entire day without some form of invention enhancing your life.

    July 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Brent Laurenz Meeting out in open helps negotiations move ahead

    RALEIGH – State lawmakers reconvened in Raleigh on May 14 promising a brief legislative session this summer, but as July moves along they are still in town and tackling big issues.

    July 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Larry's Sketch 7.16.14.tif They don’t give a darn for Duke University

    John “Duke” Wayne’s heirs are suing Duke University over trademark rights.

    July 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Your chocolate addiction is only going to get more expensive

    WASHINGTON - For nearly two years, cocoa prices have been on the rise. Finally, that's affecting the price you pay for a bar of chocolate - and there's reason to believe it's only the beginning.

    July 18, 2014

  • Patrick Gannon Don’t forget the losers in state lottery

    RALEIGH – Behind every state lottery dollar that goes to education is a loser.
    There’s also a winner – the teacher whose salary it pays, the student who gets a scholarship or the district where a new school gets built. But we hear about the winners in advertisements and in press releases.
    This column is about the losers.

    July 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • Hodgepodge Cooling an overheated hedgehog and other summer travel stories

    Anybody with a pet during the summer inevitably finds themselves facing this question: What do I do with my pet on vacation?
    There are kennels for dogs, day cares for cats. Shoot, you can even find a friend to take care of your guinea pig.
    But what do you do with a hedgehog?

    July 18, 2014 2 Photos

  • North Carolina Boasts Top Wildlife Magazine and A Success Story

    The following opinion piece was released by the N.C. Wildlife Resources Commission:

    RALEIGH  — When Wildlife in North Carolina, the magazine published by the N.C. Wildlife Resources Commission, was named recently as the nation’s best in its category, it reflected more than accolades as a quality publication.

    July 17, 2014

  • 130408_NT_BEA_good kids We're raising a generation of timid kids

    CHICAGO - A week ago, a woman was charged with leaving her child in the car while she went into a store. Her 11-year-old child. This week, a woman was arrested for allowing her 9-year-old daughter to go to the park alone. Which raises just one question: America, what the heck is wrong with you?

    July 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • 25 hidden secrets in "Weird Al's" "Word Crimes" video

    Yankovic's 14th album was released this week, and it warms my heart containers that he's kept up his geeky brand of humor for so long. While he has written so many incredible songs, none have spoken to my love of proper grammar.
    Until "Word Crimes."

    July 16, 2014

House Ads
Seasonal Content