The Stanly News and Press (Albemarle, NC)

Opinion & Letters to the Editor

October 17, 2013

Be the Goldilocks of social sharing, and other advice for the next generation

(Continued)

Thursday, October 17, 2013 —

Let's dispense with the hyperbole. Let's teach our kids the value of working hard and overcoming obstacles without setting the bar so high they can barely see it. If our daughters want to grow up to be professional baseball players, let’s talk to them about what would have to happen to make that dream a reality, and the things that all of us can do, together, to change the status quo. There’s nothing wrong with being realistic. 

3. "Duty" is not a four-letter word.

Gen X and Gen Y have not been asked to think too much about duty to family, community or country. We’ve been encouraged to think about ourselves. And when we do put duty over our own personal needs or aspirations, it’s not something we crow about, but rather something we admit almost as if we are ashamed. 

Let’s teach our children to honor and celebrate the decision to serve others. Let's raise kids who will say, "Wow, you're awesome" when a friend moves back home to help take care of their sick grandma. Let's make sure they understand that being a society means that people help each other, and not only when it's convenient for them. 

4. Be the Goldilocks of social sharing. 

Gen Y is the first generation raising children in a fully social-networked world. We’re making up the rules as we go along (How much computer time is too much? Should he have a smartphone? Is it OK to check her browser history?) and we've left our own messy trails on the Internet for our horrified children to discover. We're still seeking balance, not only for ourselves, but for our families. 

Some teens post every passing thought or emotion, however raw, profane or hurtful, online for millions to read it, preserved forever. Others share such a Pollyanna version of their lives that they seem like automatons for whom everything is always great, perfect, tidy and beautiful. Still others use social media as a particularly evil means of shaming, embarrassing and shunning their peers. Surely there's some solution here that’s "just right"?

Text Only
Opinion & Letters to the Editor
  • Brent Laurenz Special election adds to the mix

    RALEIGH – A busy slate of judicial elections this November got even busier recently when Judge John Martin of the N.C. Court of Appeals announced his retirement.
    A special statewide election to fill Martin’s seat will be added to the general election ballot, joining the four N.C. Supreme Court seats and three N.C. Court of Appeals races already slated for this fall.

    July 25, 2014 1 Photo

  • Patrick Gannon Fake news or sign of some more trouble?

    RALEIGH – Of the three situations I can recall where agencies receiving large sums of taxpayer dollars wouldn’t divulge employees’ salaries, two of them ended badly. The third – involving a group of charter schools in Southeastern North Carolina – is playing out right now.

    July 25, 2014 1 Photo

  • Almost half of America's obese youth don't know they're obese

    WASHINGTON - The good news is that after decades of furious growth, obesity rates finally seem to be leveling off in the U.S.. The bad news is that America's youth still appear to be dangerously unaware of the problem.

    July 23, 2014

  • Darth Vader is polling higher than all potential 2016 presidential candidates

    On the other hand, with a net favorability of -8, Jar Jar is considerably more popular than the U.S. Congress, which currently enjoys a net favorability rating of -65.

    July 23, 2014

  • D.G. Martin Where did all these new voters in North Carolina come from?

    “Voters born elsewhere make up nearly half of N.C. electorate.”
    So begins the latest DataNet report from the UNC Program on Public Life, directed by former journalist Ferrel Guillory.

    July 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • Patrick Gannon Some light for Dems in their time of darkness

    RALEIGH – Earlier this year, state Sen. Ben Clark, a Hoke County Democrat, became a hero for a day among his party and environmentalists when his amendment to require more well water testing near future fracking sites passed the Senate. It even gained the support of a number of GOP senators, against the wishes of the Republican bill sponsor.

    July 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • mama.jpg What we get wrong about millennials living at home

    If the media is to be believed, America is facing a major crisis. "Kids," some age 25, 26, or even 30 years old, are living out of their childhood bedrooms and basements at alarmingly high numbers. The hand-wringing overlooks one problem: It's all overblown.

    July 22, 2014 1 Photo

  • Doug Creamer Maintaining hope

    Gardeners are facing challenges with the weather this year. It seemed like we were getting great conditions in April and May. The weather was warm and we were getting some good rains. Then sometime in June the rain stopped. It got so dry that I didn’t have to cut the grass. While I enjoyed the break, the garden was not happy at all. I was having to water quite a bit to keep the vegetable garden alive and growing.

    July 22, 2014 1 Photo

  • Jason O. Boyd I may be a bit behind the times, but at least I can find ‘America’

    I seem to be reading about and dealing with technology a lot lately.
    I  love technology and have always been fascinated by gadgets of all kinds and the wonderful things they can do. You never seem to go through an entire day without some form of invention enhancing your life.

    July 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Brent Laurenz Meeting out in open helps negotiations move ahead

    RALEIGH – State lawmakers reconvened in Raleigh on May 14 promising a brief legislative session this summer, but as July moves along they are still in town and tackling big issues.

    July 21, 2014 1 Photo

House Ads
Seasonal Content