The Stanly News and Press (Albemarle, NC)

Opinion & Letters to the Editor

November 12, 2013

When will justice be served?

Tuesday, November 12, 2013 — March 7, 2009, was the last time I would hear the voice of my son, Ricky Lowder. He called to wish me a happy birthday and say, “I love you, Dad.”

On March 8, 2009, I was awakened with a call at 5 a.m. that would change my life. I was informed that my son and his mother had been killed.

For the past five years I have lived this day over and over on my birthday. I will never get another call from my son or be able to hear his voice. No more will I hear happy birthday, no more “I love you, Dad” and no more can I see my son. I now have to visit his grave on his birthday, Christmas and other times I want to talk to him.

This incident has taken a toll on my health. Not only do I not have my son, the man that is charged with his murder and the murder of his mother has not been to trial.

Five years have passed and nothing has been done to Gary Sells. So, I ask, why is it that a man that is charged with double murder has not been tried? The district attorney and Albemarle police have done their part, so why can the court system not do their part?

I think five years is long enough to wait on the trial to be over. I need to have peace and know that justice has been served. I need to see the man that murdered my son be tried and convicted by a court of law.

The family of Sells can call and see him on his birthday, holidays, tell him they love him and hear his voice.

I will never have that. He took my son from me and I want justice.

Jerry D. Lowder

New Salem

 

1
Text Only
Opinion & Letters to the Editor
  • Almost half of America's obese youth don't know they're obese

    WASHINGTON - The good news is that after decades of furious growth, obesity rates finally seem to be leveling off in the U.S.. The bad news is that America's youth still appear to be dangerously unaware of the problem.

    July 23, 2014

  • Darth Vader is polling higher than all potential 2016 presidential candidates

    On the other hand, with a net favorability of -8, Jar Jar is considerably more popular than the U.S. Congress, which currently enjoys a net favorability rating of -65.

    July 23, 2014

  • D.G. Martin Where did all these new voters in North Carolina come from?

    “Voters born elsewhere make up nearly half of N.C. electorate.”
    So begins the latest DataNet report from the UNC Program on Public Life, directed by former journalist Ferrel Guillory.

    July 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • Patrick Gannon Some light for Dems in their time of darkness

    RALEIGH – Earlier this year, state Sen. Ben Clark, a Hoke County Democrat, became a hero for a day among his party and environmentalists when his amendment to require more well water testing near future fracking sites passed the Senate. It even gained the support of a number of GOP senators, against the wishes of the Republican bill sponsor.

    July 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • mama.jpg What we get wrong about millennials living at home

    If the media is to be believed, America is facing a major crisis. "Kids," some age 25, 26, or even 30 years old, are living out of their childhood bedrooms and basements at alarmingly high numbers. The hand-wringing overlooks one problem: It's all overblown.

    July 22, 2014 1 Photo

  • Doug Creamer Maintaining hope

    Gardeners are facing challenges with the weather this year. It seemed like we were getting great conditions in April and May. The weather was warm and we were getting some good rains. Then sometime in June the rain stopped. It got so dry that I didn’t have to cut the grass. While I enjoyed the break, the garden was not happy at all. I was having to water quite a bit to keep the vegetable garden alive and growing.

    July 22, 2014 1 Photo

  • Jason O. Boyd I may be a bit behind the times, but at least I can find ‘America’

    I seem to be reading about and dealing with technology a lot lately.
    I  love technology and have always been fascinated by gadgets of all kinds and the wonderful things they can do. You never seem to go through an entire day without some form of invention enhancing your life.

    July 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Brent Laurenz Meeting out in open helps negotiations move ahead

    RALEIGH – State lawmakers reconvened in Raleigh on May 14 promising a brief legislative session this summer, but as July moves along they are still in town and tackling big issues.

    July 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Larry's Sketch 7.16.14.tif They don’t give a darn for Duke University

    John “Duke” Wayne’s heirs are suing Duke University over trademark rights.

    July 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Your chocolate addiction is only going to get more expensive

    WASHINGTON - For nearly two years, cocoa prices have been on the rise. Finally, that's affecting the price you pay for a bar of chocolate - and there's reason to believe it's only the beginning.

    July 18, 2014

House Ads
Seasonal Content