The Stanly News and Press (Albemarle, NC)

Opinion & Letters to the Editor

January 29, 2014

Obama's battle plan against inequality: Hold back the successful

Editor's note: CNHI newspapers that are not weekly subscribers to Taylor Armerding's column may publish this one if they notify him at t.armerding@verizon.net.

They say the best way to ensure nothing gets done about a problem is to form a committee. To that we should add that the best way to ensure that a lot of money gets spent, but not much gets done about various perceived social problems, is for government to declare a war on them.

President Lyndon Johnson made his grandiose declaration of a War on Poverty 50 years ago. About $20 trillion later, while his Democratic descendants claim its success, they also decry continuing unconscionable levels of poverty.

Remember the War on Drugs? The legalization of pot is spreading throughout the land. Who’s winning that, uh, war?

The first lady declared war on obesity. Not much different since the war began that I can see, except for some rallies and blogs in support of “fat pride.”

And so it is, and will go, with the War on Inequality, which President Obama says will be his main focus in the coming year – perhaps for the rest of his term if he continues to need a distraction from ongoing “glitches” and “surprises” embedded in Obamacare.

A lot of government money will get spent. A tremendous amount of hot air will issue forth about “more fortunate” people failing to “pay their fair share.” And little will change.

Hillary Clinton, the full-time non-candidate for president, checked the “inequality outrage” box several months ago with a clarion call to “reverse this tide of inequality that is eating away at the social fabric of our country.”

After which she revealed the specifics of her and her former-president husband’s vast personal wealth and bewailed how disconnected she is from the lives of average people … oh, wait.

Text Only
Opinion & Letters to the Editor
  • Doug Creamer Maintaining hope

    Gardeners are facing challenges with the weather this year. It seemed like we were getting great conditions in April and May. The weather was warm and we were getting some good rains. Then sometime in June the rain stopped. It got so dry that I didn’t have to cut the grass. While I enjoyed the break, the garden was not happy at all. I was having to water quite a bit to keep the vegetable garden alive and growing.

    July 22, 2014 1 Photo

  • Jason O. Boyd I may be a bit behind the times, but at least I can find ‘America’

    I seem to be reading about and dealing with technology a lot lately.
    I  love technology and have always been fascinated by gadgets of all kinds and the wonderful things they can do. You never seem to go through an entire day without some form of invention enhancing your life.

    July 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Brent Laurenz Meeting out in open helps negotiations move ahead

    RALEIGH – State lawmakers reconvened in Raleigh on May 14 promising a brief legislative session this summer, but as July moves along they are still in town and tackling big issues.

    July 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Larry's Sketch 7.16.14.tif They don’t give a darn for Duke University

    John “Duke” Wayne’s heirs are suing Duke University over trademark rights.

    July 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Your chocolate addiction is only going to get more expensive

    WASHINGTON - For nearly two years, cocoa prices have been on the rise. Finally, that's affecting the price you pay for a bar of chocolate - and there's reason to believe it's only the beginning.

    July 18, 2014

  • Patrick Gannon Don’t forget the losers in state lottery

    RALEIGH – Behind every state lottery dollar that goes to education is a loser.
    There’s also a winner – the teacher whose salary it pays, the student who gets a scholarship or the district where a new school gets built. But we hear about the winners in advertisements and in press releases.
    This column is about the losers.

    July 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • Hodgepodge Cooling an overheated hedgehog and other summer travel stories

    Anybody with a pet during the summer inevitably finds themselves facing this question: What do I do with my pet on vacation?
    There are kennels for dogs, day cares for cats. Shoot, you can even find a friend to take care of your guinea pig.
    But what do you do with a hedgehog?

    July 18, 2014 2 Photos

  • North Carolina Boasts Top Wildlife Magazine and A Success Story

    The following opinion piece was released by the N.C. Wildlife Resources Commission:

    RALEIGH  — When Wildlife in North Carolina, the magazine published by the N.C. Wildlife Resources Commission, was named recently as the nation’s best in its category, it reflected more than accolades as a quality publication.

    July 17, 2014

  • 130408_NT_BEA_good kids We're raising a generation of timid kids

    CHICAGO - A week ago, a woman was charged with leaving her child in the car while she went into a store. Her 11-year-old child. This week, a woman was arrested for allowing her 9-year-old daughter to go to the park alone. Which raises just one question: America, what the heck is wrong with you?

    July 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • 25 hidden secrets in "Weird Al's" "Word Crimes" video

    Yankovic's 14th album was released this week, and it warms my heart containers that he's kept up his geeky brand of humor for so long. While he has written so many incredible songs, none have spoken to my love of proper grammar.
    Until "Word Crimes."

    July 16, 2014

House Ads
Seasonal Content