The Stanly News and Press (Albemarle, NC)

Opinion & Letters to the Editor

March 23, 2013

John Wayne had his way of restoring order

Try unwinding with a John Wayne movie

Saturday, March 23, 2013 — Some folks go for a walk to decompress after a tough day. Others listen to soft music.

Still others fight stress with a quiet dinner.

Not me! I reach for a John Wayne movie, sit back and relax.

And it doesn’t matter if he’s winning World War II almost singlehandedly or chasing the bad guys out of town on horseback or romancing Maureen O’Hara in Ireland.

On my office wall is a life-sized, pen-and-ink portrait of the “Duke,” as he liked to be called, to remind me each day that personal values of courage, integrity, honesty and patriotism never go out of style.

Wayne was America’s top box office star for 30 years. In today’s terminology, he was the first action hero and you didn’t have to be the smartest guy in the theatre to follow the storyline of his movies.

He always was the good guy who championed the cause of truth, justice and the American way of life.

In every situation, Wayne triumphed over evil, sometimes at the cost of his own character’s life.

His off-screen critics didn’t like his politics or his personal lifestyle of heavy drinking and gambling or the fact that he was married three times.

But to millions of moviegoers, he was a larger than life man’s man who generally made them feel better about themselves, about their lot in life and about their country.

After more than 140 movies, Wayne finally received the Best Actor Oscar in 1969 for his rollicking role of drunken U. S. Marshal Rooster Cogburn in “True Grit.”

Can we ever forget that scene in “True Grit” where, after Robert Duvall accused him of “bold talk by a one-eyed fat man”, he charged the bad guys with the reins in his teeth and guns blazing away in each hand?

Text Only
Opinion & Letters to the Editor
  • Almost half of America's obese youth don't know they're obese

    WASHINGTON - The good news is that after decades of furious growth, obesity rates finally seem to be leveling off in the U.S.. The bad news is that America's youth still appear to be dangerously unaware of the problem.

    July 23, 2014

  • Darth Vader is polling higher than all potential 2016 presidential candidates

    On the other hand, with a net favorability of -8, Jar Jar is considerably more popular than the U.S. Congress, which currently enjoys a net favorability rating of -65.

    July 23, 2014

  • D.G. Martin Where did all these new voters in North Carolina come from?

    “Voters born elsewhere make up nearly half of N.C. electorate.”
    So begins the latest DataNet report from the UNC Program on Public Life, directed by former journalist Ferrel Guillory.

    July 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • Patrick Gannon Some light for Dems in their time of darkness

    RALEIGH – Earlier this year, state Sen. Ben Clark, a Hoke County Democrat, became a hero for a day among his party and environmentalists when his amendment to require more well water testing near future fracking sites passed the Senate. It even gained the support of a number of GOP senators, against the wishes of the Republican bill sponsor.

    July 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • mama.jpg What we get wrong about millennials living at home

    If the media is to be believed, America is facing a major crisis. "Kids," some age 25, 26, or even 30 years old, are living out of their childhood bedrooms and basements at alarmingly high numbers. The hand-wringing overlooks one problem: It's all overblown.

    July 22, 2014 1 Photo

  • Doug Creamer Maintaining hope

    Gardeners are facing challenges with the weather this year. It seemed like we were getting great conditions in April and May. The weather was warm and we were getting some good rains. Then sometime in June the rain stopped. It got so dry that I didn’t have to cut the grass. While I enjoyed the break, the garden was not happy at all. I was having to water quite a bit to keep the vegetable garden alive and growing.

    July 22, 2014 1 Photo

  • Jason O. Boyd I may be a bit behind the times, but at least I can find ‘America’

    I seem to be reading about and dealing with technology a lot lately.
    I  love technology and have always been fascinated by gadgets of all kinds and the wonderful things they can do. You never seem to go through an entire day without some form of invention enhancing your life.

    July 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Brent Laurenz Meeting out in open helps negotiations move ahead

    RALEIGH – State lawmakers reconvened in Raleigh on May 14 promising a brief legislative session this summer, but as July moves along they are still in town and tackling big issues.

    July 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Larry's Sketch 7.16.14.tif They don’t give a darn for Duke University

    John “Duke” Wayne’s heirs are suing Duke University over trademark rights.

    July 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Your chocolate addiction is only going to get more expensive

    WASHINGTON - For nearly two years, cocoa prices have been on the rise. Finally, that's affecting the price you pay for a bar of chocolate - and there's reason to believe it's only the beginning.

    July 18, 2014

House Ads
Seasonal Content