The Stanly News and Press (Albemarle, NC)

Opinion & Letters to the Editor

March 26, 2013

This Weekend in Stanly County

Tuesday, March 26, 2013 — Yes, it’s spring. The calendar says so. And it won’t be long before we are complaining about the heat. Until then, enjoy a banquet for a good cause, an Easter Egg Hunt and a pleasant hike through some of our beautiful countryside.

On Friday, March 29 The National Wildlife Turkey Federation will host a banquet at the Stanly County Senior Center. Founded in 1973, the NWTF is headquartered in Edgefield, S.C., and has local chapters in every state and Canada.

Who are they? They are sportsmen, women and children who care deeply about our natural resources and the wild places they love to hunt. They cherish the memory of the ridge top gobbler they hunted last spring and fondly remember the cornfield where they saw that big buck at sunset two years ago. Collectively, they come from all walks of life to engage in conservation and preserve the hunting heritage they all hold dear. They’re hunters. Some of them follow bird dogs through waving stands of grass from south Georgia to Montana in pursuit of bobwhite quail and pheasant. And most of them would rather spend a bitterly cold winter morning knee deep in a flooded oak flat or beaver pond than waste that morning in a warm bed.

They are champions of conservation. According to many state and federal agencies, the restoration of the wild turkey is arguably the greatest conservation success story in North America’s wildlife history. Through vital partnerships with state, federal and provincial wildlife agencies, the NWTF and their members have helped restore wild turkey populations throughout North America, spending more than $412 million to conserve nearly 17.25 million acres of habitat.

Start your Easter celebration this Saturday with a special treat when the Albemarle Parks and Recreation Department hosts its annual Easter Egg Hunt at City Lake Park Amphitheater. Ages 10 and younger will find treats left by Mr. Bunny, who will be on hand for pictures!! There will be prizes for each age group for finding the “Golden Egg”. Don’t be late! The hunt begins at 11 am and the event is FREE.

Text Only
Opinion & Letters to the Editor
  • Almost half of America's obese youth don't know they're obese

    WASHINGTON - The good news is that after decades of furious growth, obesity rates finally seem to be leveling off in the U.S.. The bad news is that America's youth still appear to be dangerously unaware of the problem.

    July 23, 2014

  • Darth Vader is polling higher than all potential 2016 presidential candidates

    On the other hand, with a net favorability of -8, Jar Jar is considerably more popular than the U.S. Congress, which currently enjoys a net favorability rating of -65.

    July 23, 2014

  • D.G. Martin Where did all these new voters in North Carolina come from?

    “Voters born elsewhere make up nearly half of N.C. electorate.”
    So begins the latest DataNet report from the UNC Program on Public Life, directed by former journalist Ferrel Guillory.

    July 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • Patrick Gannon Some light for Dems in their time of darkness

    RALEIGH – Earlier this year, state Sen. Ben Clark, a Hoke County Democrat, became a hero for a day among his party and environmentalists when his amendment to require more well water testing near future fracking sites passed the Senate. It even gained the support of a number of GOP senators, against the wishes of the Republican bill sponsor.

    July 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • mama.jpg What we get wrong about millennials living at home

    If the media is to be believed, America is facing a major crisis. "Kids," some age 25, 26, or even 30 years old, are living out of their childhood bedrooms and basements at alarmingly high numbers. The hand-wringing overlooks one problem: It's all overblown.

    July 22, 2014 1 Photo

  • Doug Creamer Maintaining hope

    Gardeners are facing challenges with the weather this year. It seemed like we were getting great conditions in April and May. The weather was warm and we were getting some good rains. Then sometime in June the rain stopped. It got so dry that I didn’t have to cut the grass. While I enjoyed the break, the garden was not happy at all. I was having to water quite a bit to keep the vegetable garden alive and growing.

    July 22, 2014 1 Photo

  • Jason O. Boyd I may be a bit behind the times, but at least I can find ‘America’

    I seem to be reading about and dealing with technology a lot lately.
    I  love technology and have always been fascinated by gadgets of all kinds and the wonderful things they can do. You never seem to go through an entire day without some form of invention enhancing your life.

    July 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Brent Laurenz Meeting out in open helps negotiations move ahead

    RALEIGH – State lawmakers reconvened in Raleigh on May 14 promising a brief legislative session this summer, but as July moves along they are still in town and tackling big issues.

    July 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Larry's Sketch 7.16.14.tif They don’t give a darn for Duke University

    John “Duke” Wayne’s heirs are suing Duke University over trademark rights.

    July 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Your chocolate addiction is only going to get more expensive

    WASHINGTON - For nearly two years, cocoa prices have been on the rise. Finally, that's affecting the price you pay for a bar of chocolate - and there's reason to believe it's only the beginning.

    July 18, 2014

House Ads
Seasonal Content