The Stanly News and Press (Albemarle, NC)

Opinion & Letters to the Editor

September 7, 2013

EDITORIALS: Later class times; Anti-Assad bandwagon is empty

(Continued)

We suppose all the research on student sleep patterns will prompt some school districts to alter their schedules. Over time, this should produce measurable results to determine if it indeed makes sense to start classes later in the day.

But we wouldn’t be surprised if the best answer here is for parents to step in and make sure their children are in bed earlier. School officials ought to encourage that, too.

-----------------

World fails to jump on anti-Assad bandwagon

(New Castle News / New Castle, Pa.)

President Obama has scored a victory of sorts with a Senate panel accepting military action in Syria.

But that’s a far cry from the broad-based international support such a mission demands. We note the rationale for striking Syria is to deter the future use of chemical weapons by that country and others. If the rest of the world lacks the incentive to join the Obama administration’s call, what’s the point?

It has been disheartening to watch the president and top members of his administration try to make the case in Washington and around the globe for action against the Syrian government. The Assad regime’s employment of sarin gas against its own people should have sparked widespread outrage.

Yet the response was muted, marked with hesitancy, uncertainty and doubts about claims the Syrian government was responsible.

The failure to build international consensus against the Assad government ultimately rests with the president. After all, he had previously put his own — and the nation’s — prestige at stake by warning of dire consequences if chemical weapons were used in Syria’s civil war.

With such a declaration, the administration should have been pressing its case globally, in preparation for the possibility Syria would wage chemical warfare. That effort alone would have served as a deterrent, and if an attack came anyway, a quick response would have been possible.

Text Only
Opinion & Letters to the Editor
  • Jason O. Boyd I may be a bit behind the times, but at least I can find ‘America’

    I seem to be reading about and dealing with technology a lot lately.
    I  love technology and have always been fascinated by gadgets of all kinds and the wonderful things they can do. You never seem to go through an entire day without some form of invention enhancing your life.

    July 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Brent Laurenz Meeting out in open helps negotiations move ahead

    RALEIGH – State lawmakers reconvened in Raleigh on May 14 promising a brief legislative session this summer, but as July moves along they are still in town and tackling big issues.

    July 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Larry's Sketch 7.16.14.tif They don’t give a darn for Duke University

    John “Duke” Wayne’s heirs are suing Duke University over trademark rights.

    July 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Your chocolate addiction is only going to get more expensive

    WASHINGTON - For nearly two years, cocoa prices have been on the rise. Finally, that's affecting the price you pay for a bar of chocolate - and there's reason to believe it's only the beginning.

    July 18, 2014

  • Patrick Gannon Don’t forget the losers in state lottery

    RALEIGH – Behind every state lottery dollar that goes to education is a loser.
    There’s also a winner – the teacher whose salary it pays, the student who gets a scholarship or the district where a new school gets built. But we hear about the winners in advertisements and in press releases.
    This column is about the losers.

    July 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • Hodgepodge Cooling an overheated hedgehog and other summer travel stories

    Anybody with a pet during the summer inevitably finds themselves facing this question: What do I do with my pet on vacation?
    There are kennels for dogs, day cares for cats. Shoot, you can even find a friend to take care of your guinea pig.
    But what do you do with a hedgehog?

    July 18, 2014 2 Photos

  • North Carolina Boasts Top Wildlife Magazine and A Success Story

    The following opinion piece was released by the N.C. Wildlife Resources Commission:

    RALEIGH  — When Wildlife in North Carolina, the magazine published by the N.C. Wildlife Resources Commission, was named recently as the nation’s best in its category, it reflected more than accolades as a quality publication.

    July 17, 2014

  • 130408_NT_BEA_good kids We're raising a generation of timid kids

    CHICAGO - A week ago, a woman was charged with leaving her child in the car while she went into a store. Her 11-year-old child. This week, a woman was arrested for allowing her 9-year-old daughter to go to the park alone. Which raises just one question: America, what the heck is wrong with you?

    July 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • 25 hidden secrets in "Weird Al's" "Word Crimes" video

    Yankovic's 14th album was released this week, and it warms my heart containers that he's kept up his geeky brand of humor for so long. While he has written so many incredible songs, none have spoken to my love of proper grammar.
    Until "Word Crimes."

    July 16, 2014

  • 90-plus welcome to birthday party 

    The Stanly County Senior Center will host our eighth annual 90+ Birthday Party for all Stanly County residents who are 90 years or greater. This event will be held at the Senior Center on July 30 at 2 p.m. The theme this year is “An Afternoon with Old Blue Eyes.”

    July 16, 2014

House Ads
Seasonal Content