The Stanly News and Press (Albemarle, NC)

Opinion & Letters to the Editor

September 14, 2013

BBQ My Way: Pairing beer with food

One of the benefits of having a weekly column focused on culinary exploits is the freedom to write about anything that catches your fancy, as long as it tastes good. For that reason, this week’s column is focused on beer. As we move into the autumn season, many rich seasonal beers will be brought to market, and it’s a great time of the year to enjoy good beer.

Taken from the book called “The Short Course in Beer” is the following: “Beer is, at its best, a philosopher’s drink. It stimulates sensitive souls to ask questions without arousing the arrogance that might lead them to easy answers.” Obviously this was not written to describe your typical watery, heavily carbonated beverages that try to pass themselves off as “beer.” This was meant to describe real beer, which is full of flavor and personality.

Interestingly enough, there were numerous breweries all over the country prior to prohibition in 1919 – more than 1,500 of them. This prohibition period witnessed the underground growth of spirits, as you could pack a lot more punch in a smaller container for transport. Remember, all booze was illegal, and it was easier to deliver and hide spirits such as vodka, gin and whiskey. Many breweries closed during prohibition, and when prohibition ended in 1933, the economic depression slowed the rebirth of most breweries. Flavorful local and regional brands were replaced by national brands whose strength was their advertising, not their flavor. Until 20 years ago or so, that's where we were stuck. But, we have seen a resurgence of craft beers. While beer consumption is decreasing, the consumption of beer with flavor (craft beers) is actually increasing.

Let's briefly discuss beer styles and definitions, realizing there is a lot of flexibility in all of this. Consider this list as a very generic starting point.

Text Only
Opinion & Letters to the Editor
  • mama.jpg What we get wrong about millennials living at home

    If the media is to be believed, America is facing a major crisis. "Kids," some age 25, 26, or even 30 years old, are living out of their childhood bedrooms and basements at alarmingly high numbers. The hand-wringing overlooks one problem: It's all overblown.

    July 22, 2014 1 Photo

  • Doug Creamer Maintaining hope

    Gardeners are facing challenges with the weather this year. It seemed like we were getting great conditions in April and May. The weather was warm and we were getting some good rains. Then sometime in June the rain stopped. It got so dry that I didn’t have to cut the grass. While I enjoyed the break, the garden was not happy at all. I was having to water quite a bit to keep the vegetable garden alive and growing.

    July 22, 2014 1 Photo

  • Jason O. Boyd I may be a bit behind the times, but at least I can find ‘America’

    I seem to be reading about and dealing with technology a lot lately.
    I  love technology and have always been fascinated by gadgets of all kinds and the wonderful things they can do. You never seem to go through an entire day without some form of invention enhancing your life.

    July 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Brent Laurenz Meeting out in open helps negotiations move ahead

    RALEIGH – State lawmakers reconvened in Raleigh on May 14 promising a brief legislative session this summer, but as July moves along they are still in town and tackling big issues.

    July 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Larry's Sketch 7.16.14.tif They don’t give a darn for Duke University

    John “Duke” Wayne’s heirs are suing Duke University over trademark rights.

    July 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Your chocolate addiction is only going to get more expensive

    WASHINGTON - For nearly two years, cocoa prices have been on the rise. Finally, that's affecting the price you pay for a bar of chocolate - and there's reason to believe it's only the beginning.

    July 18, 2014

  • Patrick Gannon Don’t forget the losers in state lottery

    RALEIGH – Behind every state lottery dollar that goes to education is a loser.
    There’s also a winner – the teacher whose salary it pays, the student who gets a scholarship or the district where a new school gets built. But we hear about the winners in advertisements and in press releases.
    This column is about the losers.

    July 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • Hodgepodge Cooling an overheated hedgehog and other summer travel stories

    Anybody with a pet during the summer inevitably finds themselves facing this question: What do I do with my pet on vacation?
    There are kennels for dogs, day cares for cats. Shoot, you can even find a friend to take care of your guinea pig.
    But what do you do with a hedgehog?

    July 18, 2014 2 Photos

  • North Carolina Boasts Top Wildlife Magazine and A Success Story

    The following opinion piece was released by the N.C. Wildlife Resources Commission:

    RALEIGH  — When Wildlife in North Carolina, the magazine published by the N.C. Wildlife Resources Commission, was named recently as the nation’s best in its category, it reflected more than accolades as a quality publication.

    July 17, 2014

  • 130408_NT_BEA_good kids We're raising a generation of timid kids

    CHICAGO - A week ago, a woman was charged with leaving her child in the car while she went into a store. Her 11-year-old child. This week, a woman was arrested for allowing her 9-year-old daughter to go to the park alone. Which raises just one question: America, what the heck is wrong with you?

    July 17, 2014 1 Photo

House Ads
Seasonal Content