The Stanly News and Press (Albemarle, NC)

Opinion & Letters to the Editor

September 17, 2013

Blame fellow liberals for America's mess

I blame the liberals.

Yes, for the putrid, polarized, paralyzed state of politics and governing in this country, I blame the liberal Democrats.

Hey, this isn’t coming from some anti-abortion rights, pry this gun from my cold, dead hands, Rush Limbaugh “ditto-head.”

No, fellow liberals, or progressives, or whatever it is we’re calling ourselves these days, this is coming from a member of the family — mishpucha. C’mon, I’d be a card-carrying member of the ACLU and Planned Parenthood except that I’m not much of a joiner.

But, gee, isn’t it the far-right-wing conservatives in Congress who won’t pass any bill that President Barack Obama would want to sign? Hasn’t it been said about Republican Senate Majority Leader Mitch McConnell: “If the doctors told Sen. McConnell he had a kidney stone, he would refuse to pass it”?

Well, sure.

And isn’t it the conservative majority on the Supreme Court that opened the gates for billionaires to spend millions to elect the candidates whom they feel will help make them trillionaires?

Absolutely.

But whose fault is that?

It says here that it’s all the fault of liberals who can’t be bothered to vote when it’s not a presidential election year.

And yeah, some of the blame goes to the moderate, middle-of-the-road Democrats and Republicans who need directions to their polling places because they haven’t been there for four years.

Meanwhile, all the gun-loving, abortion-hating, Obamacare-loathing, “you damn kids get the hell off my lawn”-shouting, tea party “patriots” would find their way to the voting booth even if they were in an iron lung.

That’s to their credit. They’re doing what they’re supposed to be doing. They’re not breaking any laws. Quite the contrary, they’re exercising their rights as Americans. They’re voting.

Text Only
Opinion & Letters to the Editor
  • Jason O. Boyd Yellow journalism takes on new form, people are dumber for it

    Time to get on the soapbox for a few minutes.
    Let me clear my throat. Eh ... hem!
    People are dumb.

    July 28, 2014 1 Photo

  • Brent Laurenz Special election adds to the mix

    RALEIGH – A busy slate of judicial elections this November got even busier recently when Judge John Martin of the N.C. Court of Appeals announced his retirement.
    A special statewide election to fill Martin’s seat will be added to the general election ballot, joining the four N.C. Supreme Court seats and three N.C. Court of Appeals races already slated for this fall.

    July 25, 2014 1 Photo

  • Patrick Gannon Fake news or sign of some more trouble?

    RALEIGH – Of the three situations I can recall where agencies receiving large sums of taxpayer dollars wouldn’t divulge employees’ salaries, two of them ended badly. The third – involving a group of charter schools in Southeastern North Carolina – is playing out right now.

    July 25, 2014 1 Photo

  • Almost half of America's obese youth don't know they're obese

    WASHINGTON - The good news is that after decades of furious growth, obesity rates finally seem to be leveling off in the U.S.. The bad news is that America's youth still appear to be dangerously unaware of the problem.

    July 23, 2014

  • Darth Vader is polling higher than all potential 2016 presidential candidates

    On the other hand, with a net favorability of -8, Jar Jar is considerably more popular than the U.S. Congress, which currently enjoys a net favorability rating of -65.

    July 23, 2014

  • D.G. Martin Where did all these new voters in North Carolina come from?

    “Voters born elsewhere make up nearly half of N.C. electorate.”
    So begins the latest DataNet report from the UNC Program on Public Life, directed by former journalist Ferrel Guillory.

    July 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • Patrick Gannon Some light for Dems in their time of darkness

    RALEIGH – Earlier this year, state Sen. Ben Clark, a Hoke County Democrat, became a hero for a day among his party and environmentalists when his amendment to require more well water testing near future fracking sites passed the Senate. It even gained the support of a number of GOP senators, against the wishes of the Republican bill sponsor.

    July 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • mama.jpg What we get wrong about millennials living at home

    If the media is to be believed, America is facing a major crisis. "Kids," some age 25, 26, or even 30 years old, are living out of their childhood bedrooms and basements at alarmingly high numbers. The hand-wringing overlooks one problem: It's all overblown.

    July 22, 2014 1 Photo

  • Doug Creamer Maintaining hope

    Gardeners are facing challenges with the weather this year. It seemed like we were getting great conditions in April and May. The weather was warm and we were getting some good rains. Then sometime in June the rain stopped. It got so dry that I didn’t have to cut the grass. While I enjoyed the break, the garden was not happy at all. I was having to water quite a bit to keep the vegetable garden alive and growing.

    July 22, 2014 1 Photo

  • Jason O. Boyd I may be a bit behind the times, but at least I can find ‘America’

    I seem to be reading about and dealing with technology a lot lately.
    I  love technology and have always been fascinated by gadgets of all kinds and the wonderful things they can do. You never seem to go through an entire day without some form of invention enhancing your life.

    July 21, 2014 1 Photo

House Ads
Seasonal Content