The Stanly News and Press (Albemarle, NC)

Opinion & Letters to the Editor

September 19, 2013

What Governor McCrory is counting on

Thursday, September 19, 2013 — RALEIGH – When the July jobs report for North Carolina came out last week, showing an uptick in the unemployment rate, all the usual suspects said all the usual things.

Republicans whose main focus is national politics blamed President Barack Obama. Democrats whose main focus is state politics blamed Gov. Pat McCrory. The Raleigh News & Observer published an unintentionally hilarious editorial that blamed 2013 tax and regulation reforms that have yet to be implemented (violating the rules of causality), blamed a 2011 reduction in sales taxes (violating the rules of logic) and mistakenly described North Carolina’s net gain of 8,200 jobs last month as “offset by the lost of 5,300 public sector jobs” (violating the rules of arithmetic).

Employment statistics can be complicated. Labor economics can be even more complicated. Still, you can boil down North Carolina’s job trends into three simple statements.

First, our unemployment rate has been one of the highest in the nation since the start of the Great Recession.

Second, both job creation and unemployment have improved markedly since 2011.

Third, they’ll have to improve even more quickly to catch up with the rest of the nation – and to boost the political fortunes of incumbent North Carolina politicians.

To begin with, remember that every monthly jobs report contains two different sets of data, from two different surveys. The smaller survey, of households, produces the data from which officials compute the unemployment rate and related measures. The larger survey, of employers, produces the jobs count. Over time, the household and employer trends track fairly closely. But because the household survey involves a smaller sample, it tends to bounce around more. Also, both sets of numbers are often revised in subsequent months.

So here’s what the two surveys reported in July about North Carolina’s labor market. From the household survey, we learned that the standard unemployment rate was 8.9 percent, up slightly from 8.8 percent in June but still down substantially from July 2012 (9.6 percent) and July 2011 (10.4 percent). There were about 109,000 more employed people in North Carolina this July than in July 2011, and about 69,000 fewer unemployed people. From the employer survey, we learned not only that North Carolina payroll jobs rose by 8,200 but also that payroll jobs are up 69,000 from July 2012 and 131,000 from July 2011.

It was foolish, in other words, for liberal critics to pounce on the July numbers as evidence that the economic policies of North Carolina’s new leaders are failing. McCrory hasn’t been in power long enough to evaluate, anyway, and the state’s economy has clearly improved since the enactment of the first GOP budget in mid-2011. Remember during the 2011 legislative session when then-Gov. Bev Perdue and Democratic lawmakers demanded that Republicans keep the state sales tax at 5.5 percent? They forecast economic disaster if the sales tax dropped to 4.75 percent. Their forecast was silly and properly ignored by Republicans, whose decision saved North Carolinians nearly $1 billion a year (with the largest proportional benefits accruing to lower-income households, by the way).

Unfortunately for the Republicans, they have more to contend with than foolish rhetoric. North Carolina’s current growth rate still isn’t rapid enough to catch up with the national average. While voters wisely don’t hold state politicians as responsible as federal politicians for economic conditions, there is some evidence that governors, in particular, get praise or blame for the relative position of a state’s economy. A 2004 study published in the Journal of Politics found that when a state’s unemployment rate is lower than the national average, that boosts the job approval of its governor. When the rate is higher than the national average, that pulls the governor’s approval down.

McCrory and legislative leaders are counting on their package of tax, regulatory and other reforms to speed up economic growth and job creation within the next couple of years. Unless you possess a working time machine, please don’t pretend to know the outcome in advance.

John Hood is president of the John Locke Foundation.

1
Text Only
Opinion & Letters to the Editor
  • Doug Creamer Maintaining hope

    Gardeners are facing challenges with the weather this year. It seemed like we were getting great conditions in April and May. The weather was warm and we were getting some good rains. Then sometime in June the rain stopped. It got so dry that I didn’t have to cut the grass. While I enjoyed the break, the garden was not happy at all. I was having to water quite a bit to keep the vegetable garden alive and growing.

    July 22, 2014 1 Photo

  • Jason O. Boyd I may be a bit behind the times, but at least I can find ‘America’

    I seem to be reading about and dealing with technology a lot lately.
    I  love technology and have always been fascinated by gadgets of all kinds and the wonderful things they can do. You never seem to go through an entire day without some form of invention enhancing your life.

    July 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Brent Laurenz Meeting out in open helps negotiations move ahead

    RALEIGH – State lawmakers reconvened in Raleigh on May 14 promising a brief legislative session this summer, but as July moves along they are still in town and tackling big issues.

    July 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Larry's Sketch 7.16.14.tif They don’t give a darn for Duke University

    John “Duke” Wayne’s heirs are suing Duke University over trademark rights.

    July 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Your chocolate addiction is only going to get more expensive

    WASHINGTON - For nearly two years, cocoa prices have been on the rise. Finally, that's affecting the price you pay for a bar of chocolate - and there's reason to believe it's only the beginning.

    July 18, 2014

  • Patrick Gannon Don’t forget the losers in state lottery

    RALEIGH – Behind every state lottery dollar that goes to education is a loser.
    There’s also a winner – the teacher whose salary it pays, the student who gets a scholarship or the district where a new school gets built. But we hear about the winners in advertisements and in press releases.
    This column is about the losers.

    July 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • Hodgepodge Cooling an overheated hedgehog and other summer travel stories

    Anybody with a pet during the summer inevitably finds themselves facing this question: What do I do with my pet on vacation?
    There are kennels for dogs, day cares for cats. Shoot, you can even find a friend to take care of your guinea pig.
    But what do you do with a hedgehog?

    July 18, 2014 2 Photos

  • North Carolina Boasts Top Wildlife Magazine and A Success Story

    The following opinion piece was released by the N.C. Wildlife Resources Commission:

    RALEIGH  — When Wildlife in North Carolina, the magazine published by the N.C. Wildlife Resources Commission, was named recently as the nation’s best in its category, it reflected more than accolades as a quality publication.

    July 17, 2014

  • 130408_NT_BEA_good kids We're raising a generation of timid kids

    CHICAGO - A week ago, a woman was charged with leaving her child in the car while she went into a store. Her 11-year-old child. This week, a woman was arrested for allowing her 9-year-old daughter to go to the park alone. Which raises just one question: America, what the heck is wrong with you?

    July 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • 25 hidden secrets in "Weird Al's" "Word Crimes" video

    Yankovic's 14th album was released this week, and it warms my heart containers that he's kept up his geeky brand of humor for so long. While he has written so many incredible songs, none have spoken to my love of proper grammar.
    Until "Word Crimes."

    July 16, 2014

House Ads
Seasonal Content