The Stanly News and Press (Albemarle, NC)

Opinion & Letters to the Editor

October 14, 2013

Sad shutdown stories distract from debt crisis

Monday, October 14, 2013 — Yes, the nation’s debt ceiling has to be raised.

Whether or not that action includes some kind of compromise on spending or delay of any Obamacare provisions that President Obama doesn’t want to delay (he delays others unilaterally, without even consulting Congress), the bottom line is that it has to be raised.

On that much, the president deserves some kind of validation, if only for stating the obvious.

And while Republicans are correct to push for controls on spending and for a delay in the individual mandate for Obamacare (since the president granted a year’s delay for employers), they ought to be smart enough to know that using a government shutdown or a vote on the debt ceiling as leverage is not a winning political strategy.

Republicans ought to know that the mainstream media will ignore the long-term catastrophic implications of unrestrained growth in the debt, since that would take doing some homework on the projections of the Congressional Budget Office. They ought to know the media will focus only on short-term sob stories from the growing ranks of helpless dependents, cruelly abandoned by a temporary halt in government support.

We have heard, and will keep hearing, that Republicans want children to die! Republicans don’t want poor families to be able to put food on the table! They don’t want new wonder drugs to be developed to save sick people! They don’t want children to have good schools! They want elderly people to freeze! Etc.

But, while Obama enjoys having his media lapdogs do his heavy lifting against his opponents, it would be nice if he could drop the sanctimonious tone about how he’s taking the high moral ground on the debt ceiling – that simply raising it means the nation is doing the fiscally responsible thing.

Text Only
Opinion & Letters to the Editor
  • Patrick Gannon Fake news or sign of some more trouble?

    RALEIGH – Of the three situations I can recall where agencies receiving large sums of taxpayer dollars wouldn’t divulge employees’ salaries, two of them ended badly. The third – involving a group of charter schools in Southeastern North Carolina – is playing out right now.

    July 25, 2014 1 Photo

  • Almost half of America's obese youth don't know they're obese

    WASHINGTON - The good news is that after decades of furious growth, obesity rates finally seem to be leveling off in the U.S.. The bad news is that America's youth still appear to be dangerously unaware of the problem.

    July 23, 2014

  • Darth Vader is polling higher than all potential 2016 presidential candidates

    On the other hand, with a net favorability of -8, Jar Jar is considerably more popular than the U.S. Congress, which currently enjoys a net favorability rating of -65.

    July 23, 2014

  • D.G. Martin Where did all these new voters in North Carolina come from?

    “Voters born elsewhere make up nearly half of N.C. electorate.”
    So begins the latest DataNet report from the UNC Program on Public Life, directed by former journalist Ferrel Guillory.

    July 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • Patrick Gannon Some light for Dems in their time of darkness

    RALEIGH – Earlier this year, state Sen. Ben Clark, a Hoke County Democrat, became a hero for a day among his party and environmentalists when his amendment to require more well water testing near future fracking sites passed the Senate. It even gained the support of a number of GOP senators, against the wishes of the Republican bill sponsor.

    July 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • mama.jpg What we get wrong about millennials living at home

    If the media is to be believed, America is facing a major crisis. "Kids," some age 25, 26, or even 30 years old, are living out of their childhood bedrooms and basements at alarmingly high numbers. The hand-wringing overlooks one problem: It's all overblown.

    July 22, 2014 1 Photo

  • Doug Creamer Maintaining hope

    Gardeners are facing challenges with the weather this year. It seemed like we were getting great conditions in April and May. The weather was warm and we were getting some good rains. Then sometime in June the rain stopped. It got so dry that I didn’t have to cut the grass. While I enjoyed the break, the garden was not happy at all. I was having to water quite a bit to keep the vegetable garden alive and growing.

    July 22, 2014 1 Photo

  • Jason O. Boyd I may be a bit behind the times, but at least I can find ‘America’

    I seem to be reading about and dealing with technology a lot lately.
    I  love technology and have always been fascinated by gadgets of all kinds and the wonderful things they can do. You never seem to go through an entire day without some form of invention enhancing your life.

    July 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Brent Laurenz Meeting out in open helps negotiations move ahead

    RALEIGH – State lawmakers reconvened in Raleigh on May 14 promising a brief legislative session this summer, but as July moves along they are still in town and tackling big issues.

    July 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Larry's Sketch 7.16.14.tif They don’t give a darn for Duke University

    John “Duke” Wayne’s heirs are suing Duke University over trademark rights.

    July 21, 2014 1 Photo

House Ads
Seasonal Content