The Stanly News and Press (Albemarle, NC)

Opinion & Letters to the Editor

October 14, 2013

Sad shutdown stories distract from debt crisis

Monday, October 14, 2013 — Yes, the nation’s debt ceiling has to be raised.

Whether or not that action includes some kind of compromise on spending or delay of any Obamacare provisions that President Obama doesn’t want to delay (he delays others unilaterally, without even consulting Congress), the bottom line is that it has to be raised.

On that much, the president deserves some kind of validation, if only for stating the obvious.

And while Republicans are correct to push for controls on spending and for a delay in the individual mandate for Obamacare (since the president granted a year’s delay for employers), they ought to be smart enough to know that using a government shutdown or a vote on the debt ceiling as leverage is not a winning political strategy.

Republicans ought to know that the mainstream media will ignore the long-term catastrophic implications of unrestrained growth in the debt, since that would take doing some homework on the projections of the Congressional Budget Office. They ought to know the media will focus only on short-term sob stories from the growing ranks of helpless dependents, cruelly abandoned by a temporary halt in government support.

We have heard, and will keep hearing, that Republicans want children to die! Republicans don’t want poor families to be able to put food on the table! They don’t want new wonder drugs to be developed to save sick people! They don’t want children to have good schools! They want elderly people to freeze! Etc.

But, while Obama enjoys having his media lapdogs do his heavy lifting against his opponents, it would be nice if he could drop the sanctimonious tone about how he’s taking the high moral ground on the debt ceiling – that simply raising it means the nation is doing the fiscally responsible thing.

Text Only
Opinion & Letters to the Editor
  • Council asks veterans to seek office

    The terms of office for the leaders of the Stanly County Veterans Council ended June 30. A call is being sent to veterans council members requesting candidates for the four elective offices of the council. A meeting has been set for 6:30 p.m. Aug. 12 at the DAV building. All council members are urged to attend.

    July 28, 2014

  • Mike Walden The gains and gaps in our economy

    Twice a year, I pull out my cloudy crystal ball and attempt to make some predictions about the direction and pace of the North Carolina economy. I just finished my latest effort and, as usual, the results are a combination of pluses and minuses.

    July 28, 2014 1 Photo

  • Jason O. Boyd Yellow journalism takes on new form, people are dumber for it

    Time to get on the soapbox for a few minutes.
    Let me clear my throat. Eh ... hem!
    People are dumb.

    July 28, 2014 1 Photo

  • Brent Laurenz Special election adds to the mix

    RALEIGH – A busy slate of judicial elections this November got even busier recently when Judge John Martin of the N.C. Court of Appeals announced his retirement.
    A special statewide election to fill Martin’s seat will be added to the general election ballot, joining the four N.C. Supreme Court seats and three N.C. Court of Appeals races already slated for this fall.

    July 25, 2014 1 Photo

  • Patrick Gannon Fake news or sign of some more trouble?

    RALEIGH – Of the three situations I can recall where agencies receiving large sums of taxpayer dollars wouldn’t divulge employees’ salaries, two of them ended badly. The third – involving a group of charter schools in Southeastern North Carolina – is playing out right now.

    July 25, 2014 1 Photo

  • Almost half of America's obese youth don't know they're obese

    WASHINGTON - The good news is that after decades of furious growth, obesity rates finally seem to be leveling off in the U.S.. The bad news is that America's youth still appear to be dangerously unaware of the problem.

    July 23, 2014

  • Darth Vader is polling higher than all potential 2016 presidential candidates

    On the other hand, with a net favorability of -8, Jar Jar is considerably more popular than the U.S. Congress, which currently enjoys a net favorability rating of -65.

    July 23, 2014

  • D.G. Martin Where did all these new voters in North Carolina come from?

    “Voters born elsewhere make up nearly half of N.C. electorate.”
    So begins the latest DataNet report from the UNC Program on Public Life, directed by former journalist Ferrel Guillory.

    July 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • Patrick Gannon Some light for Dems in their time of darkness

    RALEIGH – Earlier this year, state Sen. Ben Clark, a Hoke County Democrat, became a hero for a day among his party and environmentalists when his amendment to require more well water testing near future fracking sites passed the Senate. It even gained the support of a number of GOP senators, against the wishes of the Republican bill sponsor.

    July 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • mama.jpg What we get wrong about millennials living at home

    If the media is to be believed, America is facing a major crisis. "Kids," some age 25, 26, or even 30 years old, are living out of their childhood bedrooms and basements at alarmingly high numbers. The hand-wringing overlooks one problem: It's all overblown.

    July 22, 2014 1 Photo

House Ads
Seasonal Content