The Stanly News and Press (Albemarle, NC)

Opinion & Letters to the Editor

October 14, 2013

Sad shutdown stories distract from debt crisis

(Continued)

Monday, October 14, 2013 —

Obama keeps saying members of Congress must vote to pay for spending they have already authorized. Which sounds good.

It really would be good if the president really meant “pay for.” But what he really means is that he wants Congress to authorize borrowing the money from somebody else, like China, so that country can pay for it, and we will owe them even more. The U.S. can’t pay its bills today, never mind tomorrow.

Raising the debt ceiling only papers over the problem.

Can you imagine a financial counselor telling a family drowning in debt that the way to get back on their feet financially is to raise their credit card limit so they can go even deeper in debt? And then when they reach that limit, just get it raised again?

A few spoilsports have pointed out what then-Sen. Barack Obama said in 2006, when President George W. Bush sought to raise the debt ceiling. He called it, “a sign of leadership failure.”

“It is a sign that the U.S. government can't pay its own bills,” he said. “It is a sign that we now depend on ongoing financial assistance from foreign countries to finance our government's reckless fiscal policies. … Increasing America's debt weakens us domestically and internationally. Leadership means that ‘the buck stops here.’ Instead, Washington is shifting the burden of bad choices today onto the backs of our children and grandchildren.”

Whoa, sounds like something the “Hezbollah wing of the Republican party” (one of the gentler epithets lobbed at conservatives by liberals) would say.

If only the president would listen to the senator he used to be. Or at least acknowledge that he once said what he now accuses Republicans of being irresponsible for saying.

As a few sober voices have pointed out, the government “shutdown” (the majority of it is still operating) and the fight over the debt ceiling are relatively trivial distractions from the real danger – debt that will crush coming generations and that puts the nation in serious danger of default.

Text Only
Opinion & Letters to the Editor
  • Schyler Martin As wonderful as Ireland was, there’s just no place like home

    I expected a lot of things from my six-week study abroad program in Dublin, Ireland.
    I expected to miss family and friends, I expected to see a lot of things that I’d never seen before and I expected, more than anything else, to yearn for sweet tea. For the record, I did miss sweet tea quite terribly.

    August 1, 2014 3 Photos

  • taylor.armerding.jpg Impeachment arms Democrats, doesn't end the Obama disaster

    Republicans may have grounds to impeach President Barack Obama but they would be daft to pursue a case they cannot win in a Senate controlled by Democrats. Impeachment would only drive the Democrats' fundraising and potentially squander the GOP's best opportunity in years to capture both houses of Congress then, in two years, the White House.

    August 1, 2014 1 Photo

  • Brent Laurenz Wrangling over pay for teachers

    RALEIGH – When the N.C. General Assembly reconvened in mid-May, there was talk of a short, efficient session.

    August 1, 2014 1 Photo

  • Medical marijuana opponents' most powerful argument is at odds with a mountain of research

    Opponents of marijuana legalization are rapidly losing the battle for hearts and minds. Simply put, the public understands that however you measure the consequences of marijuana use, the drug is significantly less harmful to users and society than tobacco or alcohol.

    August 1, 2014

  • Patrick Gannon Two sides in debate about film incentives

    RALEIGH – It’s looking like the current film incentives program may be scrapped for a much different grant program for TV and movie production companies.

    August 1, 2014 1 Photo

  • D.G. Martin Read others’ views to be better informed, decide for yourself

    “I don’t read The Washington Post. That is not where I get my ideas.”

    July 30, 2014 1 Photo

  • Patrick Gannon This isn’t medical marijuana

    As state legislators debated allowing the use of an extract from marijuana plants to treat seizure disorders over the past couple of weeks, it was evident that social conservatives – there are many of them in the General Assembly – felt a tinge of unease about it, even as almost every one of them voted yes.

    July 30, 2014 1 Photo

  • Doug Creamer Friends and contentment

    Last week I made my annual trip up the mountain to Sparta. My friends have a secluded home near a babbling brook. Their home and property are a haven for peace. It’s a two-plus hour ride to their home that doesn’t feel that long because I look so forward to my time with this great couple. When I arrive, the conversation seems to pick up right where we left it the last time we saw each other.

    July 29, 2014 1 Photo

  • Thanks for the honest deed

    I would like to thank the person that found my wallet in the parking lot of Harris Teeter on July 23 and turned it in to the Albemarle Police.

    July 29, 2014

  • cleaning supplies Don't judge mothers with messy homes

    I was building shelves in my garage when a neighbor girl, one of my 4-year-old daughter's friends, approached me and said, "I just saw in your house. It's pretty dirty. Norah's mommy needs to clean more."

    July 28, 2014 1 Photo

House Ads
Seasonal Content