The Stanly News and Press (Albemarle, NC)

Opinion & Letters to the Editor

August 27, 2013

Pet Talk: Safely medicating Spot

Tuesday, August 27, 2013 — When it comes to the health of your pets, medications play an important role in preventing disease, increasing longevity, and making for a healthier, happier pet. Whether it’s antibiotics, pain meds, or flea and tick prevention, there are various things to keep in mind when choosing the right medication for your furry family member. 

Pets should avoid most human pain medications (such as ibuprofen, acetaminophen, and naproxen), as well as most combination cold/flu medications and Pepto-Bismol, said Dr. Micah Bishop, a veterinary resident at the College of Veterinary Medicine & Biomedical Sciences.

“If an over-the-counter medication is prescribed, ask your vet for the active ingredients you are looking for in a medication,” Bishop said.

You should also be wary when purchasing any drug through a website.

“Some of these companies are not monitored by government regulatory agencies and their products may not contain what is claimed,” said Bishop.

Just like during your doctor visits, veterinarians need to know the drugs or supplements that your pet is currently taking in order to appropriately recommend another medication. Some drugs can react differently with a drug or supplement that is already in your pet’s system, so this information is important in order for your vet to choose the safest option for your pet.

“You should ask how often the drug should be given, whether it needs to be given with food or an empty stomach, and for how long,” Bishop said. “Make sure that you are willing and available to give drugs that need to be administered two or three times a day. If not, let the vet know and they may be able to find an alternative.”

It is always important to thoroughly research any new medications prescribed as well as keep a list of all current medications and supplements. Doing this, in addition to closely following any directions or suggestions that your veterinarian provides, will ensure that Spot’s spots are tick free, and he can return to his noble title as king of the couch.

Pet Talk is a service of the College of Veterinary Medicine & Biomedical Sciences at Texas A&M University. 

1
Text Only
Opinion & Letters to the Editor
  • Jason O. Boyd Yellow journalism takes on new form, people are dumber for it

    Time to get on the soapbox for a few minutes.
    Let me clear my throat. Eh ... hem!
    People are dumb.

    July 28, 2014 1 Photo

  • Brent Laurenz Special election adds to the mix

    RALEIGH – A busy slate of judicial elections this November got even busier recently when Judge John Martin of the N.C. Court of Appeals announced his retirement.
    A special statewide election to fill Martin’s seat will be added to the general election ballot, joining the four N.C. Supreme Court seats and three N.C. Court of Appeals races already slated for this fall.

    July 25, 2014 1 Photo

  • Patrick Gannon Fake news or sign of some more trouble?

    RALEIGH – Of the three situations I can recall where agencies receiving large sums of taxpayer dollars wouldn’t divulge employees’ salaries, two of them ended badly. The third – involving a group of charter schools in Southeastern North Carolina – is playing out right now.

    July 25, 2014 1 Photo

  • Almost half of America's obese youth don't know they're obese

    WASHINGTON - The good news is that after decades of furious growth, obesity rates finally seem to be leveling off in the U.S.. The bad news is that America's youth still appear to be dangerously unaware of the problem.

    July 23, 2014

  • Darth Vader is polling higher than all potential 2016 presidential candidates

    On the other hand, with a net favorability of -8, Jar Jar is considerably more popular than the U.S. Congress, which currently enjoys a net favorability rating of -65.

    July 23, 2014

  • D.G. Martin Where did all these new voters in North Carolina come from?

    “Voters born elsewhere make up nearly half of N.C. electorate.”
    So begins the latest DataNet report from the UNC Program on Public Life, directed by former journalist Ferrel Guillory.

    July 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • Patrick Gannon Some light for Dems in their time of darkness

    RALEIGH – Earlier this year, state Sen. Ben Clark, a Hoke County Democrat, became a hero for a day among his party and environmentalists when his amendment to require more well water testing near future fracking sites passed the Senate. It even gained the support of a number of GOP senators, against the wishes of the Republican bill sponsor.

    July 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • mama.jpg What we get wrong about millennials living at home

    If the media is to be believed, America is facing a major crisis. "Kids," some age 25, 26, or even 30 years old, are living out of their childhood bedrooms and basements at alarmingly high numbers. The hand-wringing overlooks one problem: It's all overblown.

    July 22, 2014 1 Photo

  • Doug Creamer Maintaining hope

    Gardeners are facing challenges with the weather this year. It seemed like we were getting great conditions in April and May. The weather was warm and we were getting some good rains. Then sometime in June the rain stopped. It got so dry that I didn’t have to cut the grass. While I enjoyed the break, the garden was not happy at all. I was having to water quite a bit to keep the vegetable garden alive and growing.

    July 22, 2014 1 Photo

  • Jason O. Boyd I may be a bit behind the times, but at least I can find ‘America’

    I seem to be reading about and dealing with technology a lot lately.
    I  love technology and have always been fascinated by gadgets of all kinds and the wonderful things they can do. You never seem to go through an entire day without some form of invention enhancing your life.

    July 21, 2014 1 Photo

House Ads
Seasonal Content