The Stanly News and Press (Albemarle, NC)

Opinion & Letters to the Editor

August 31, 2013

EDITORIAL: How many bloodbaths before we ban assault weapons?

How many bloodbaths before we ban assault weapons?

The Herald Bulletin / Anderson, Ind.

Our nation dodged a hail of bullets, literally and figuratively, a week ago when a young man armed with an AK-47 assault rifle surrendered to police after invading an Atlanta-area school.

A school clerk, Antoinette Tuff, talked 19-year-old Michael Brandon Hill, who had already fired at police outside the school, into surrendering.

If not for her calm and courageous action, we all know how this would have played out. It would have been a bloodbath, and the nation would have again mourned innocent lives lost.

It’s happened in Newtown, Conn., in Littleton, Colo., in Aurora, Colo., and at Virginia Tech. And it will happen again while the nation sits idly by and continues to allow basically unfettered access to assault rifles and other semi-automatic weapons.

President Obama had deep resolve to instigate meaningful gun control in the aftermath of the Newtown shooting last December at Sandy Hook Elementary School. Twenty schoolchildren and eight adults died. We were all shocked and determined to make sure other children didn’t face such dangers.

But the powerful National Rifle Association lobby and conservative members of Congress torpedoed Obama’s efforts. So, here we are, eight months later, with nothing really having changed. Assault rifles are still easy to acquire, and virtually anyone with a twisted mind and evil intent can do what Hill set out to do last week.

When our forefathers wrote the Bill of Rights, they did not foresee the development of semi-automatic weapons or the way some “citizens” might use them. If they had, the Second Amendment would be worded much differently. And the fact remains that you are statistically in greater danger having a gun in your home than not having a gun in your home.

Text Only
Opinion & Letters to the Editor
  • Jason O. Boyd I may be a bit behind the times, but at least I can find ‘America’

    I seem to be reading about and dealing with technology a lot lately.
    I  love technology and have always been fascinated by gadgets of all kinds and the wonderful things they can do. You never seem to go through an entire day without some form of invention enhancing your life.

    July 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Brent Laurenz Meeting out in open helps negotiations move ahead

    RALEIGH – State lawmakers reconvened in Raleigh on May 14 promising a brief legislative session this summer, but as July moves along they are still in town and tackling big issues.

    July 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Larry's Sketch 7.16.14.tif They don’t give a darn for Duke University

    John “Duke” Wayne’s heirs are suing Duke University over trademark rights.

    July 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Your chocolate addiction is only going to get more expensive

    WASHINGTON - For nearly two years, cocoa prices have been on the rise. Finally, that's affecting the price you pay for a bar of chocolate - and there's reason to believe it's only the beginning.

    July 18, 2014

  • Patrick Gannon Don’t forget the losers in state lottery

    RALEIGH – Behind every state lottery dollar that goes to education is a loser.
    There’s also a winner – the teacher whose salary it pays, the student who gets a scholarship or the district where a new school gets built. But we hear about the winners in advertisements and in press releases.
    This column is about the losers.

    July 18, 2014 1 Photo

  • Hodgepodge Cooling an overheated hedgehog and other summer travel stories

    Anybody with a pet during the summer inevitably finds themselves facing this question: What do I do with my pet on vacation?
    There are kennels for dogs, day cares for cats. Shoot, you can even find a friend to take care of your guinea pig.
    But what do you do with a hedgehog?

    July 18, 2014 2 Photos

  • North Carolina Boasts Top Wildlife Magazine and A Success Story

    The following opinion piece was released by the N.C. Wildlife Resources Commission:

    RALEIGH  — When Wildlife in North Carolina, the magazine published by the N.C. Wildlife Resources Commission, was named recently as the nation’s best in its category, it reflected more than accolades as a quality publication.

    July 17, 2014

  • 130408_NT_BEA_good kids We're raising a generation of timid kids

    CHICAGO - A week ago, a woman was charged with leaving her child in the car while she went into a store. Her 11-year-old child. This week, a woman was arrested for allowing her 9-year-old daughter to go to the park alone. Which raises just one question: America, what the heck is wrong with you?

    July 17, 2014 1 Photo

  • 25 hidden secrets in "Weird Al's" "Word Crimes" video

    Yankovic's 14th album was released this week, and it warms my heart containers that he's kept up his geeky brand of humor for so long. While he has written so many incredible songs, none have spoken to my love of proper grammar.
    Until "Word Crimes."

    July 16, 2014

  • 90-plus welcome to birthday party 

    The Stanly County Senior Center will host our eighth annual 90+ Birthday Party for all Stanly County residents who are 90 years or greater. This event will be held at the Senior Center on July 30 at 2 p.m. The theme this year is “An Afternoon with Old Blue Eyes.”

    July 16, 2014

House Ads
Seasonal Content