The Stanly News and Press (Albemarle, NC)

Opinion & Letters to the Editor

September 1, 2013

BBQ My Way: Back to basics, with pulled pork

Recently I spoke at a local Rotary club about BBQ and grilling. Before getting started, I always ask for a show of hands of gas versus charcoal grillers so I know what areas to cover. Obviously is useless to discuss the process of creating legit "Q" with a bunch of people whose idea of a BBQ is flipping a frozen hamburger patty over gas flames. Not that there is anything wrong with that, mind you.

I am always shocked. About 90 percent of those polled only do gas. Sometimes, no one in the audience used charcoal. Not a single one.

But, I'm a believer in destiny. And I truly believe it is my destiny to get some of you gas grillers out there to get excited about preparing legit pulled pork BBQ.

And you know what got me excited about this? I smoked two pork butts all night on my Weber Bullet smoker in preparation for the fantasy football draft. I texted out pictures of the end product to the attendees, and four of them threatened to show up at my house for breakfast.

Here is how easy this is. I got home from the office and started up two chimney starters with lump hard wood charcoal and briquette charcoal. As they were getting ready, I threw together the rub, smeared the butts in yellow mustard and liberally rubbed the butts with the spice rub (recipe below.) If that won't make Miley Cyrus start randomly twerking, I don't know what will. (By the way, what was the deal there anyway? Sorry, I digress.)

Pour the hot coals into the bottom of the smoker, layer another helping of briquettes on top and sprinkle with hickory and pecan chips. Place the water container in the smoker over the coals, fill with water, place the rubbed butts in the smoker, close lid and go mow the grass. The meat will smoke at 240 or so degrees Fahrenheit.

Text Only
Opinion & Letters to the Editor
  • Brent Laurenz Special election adds to the mix

    RALEIGH – A busy slate of judicial elections this November got even busier recently when Judge John Martin of the N.C. Court of Appeals announced his retirement.
    A special statewide election to fill Martin’s seat will be added to the general election ballot, joining the four N.C. Supreme Court seats and three N.C. Court of Appeals races already slated for this fall.

    July 25, 2014 1 Photo

  • Patrick Gannon Fake news or sign of some more trouble?

    RALEIGH – Of the three situations I can recall where agencies receiving large sums of taxpayer dollars wouldn’t divulge employees’ salaries, two of them ended badly. The third – involving a group of charter schools in Southeastern North Carolina – is playing out right now.

    July 25, 2014 1 Photo

  • Almost half of America's obese youth don't know they're obese

    WASHINGTON - The good news is that after decades of furious growth, obesity rates finally seem to be leveling off in the U.S.. The bad news is that America's youth still appear to be dangerously unaware of the problem.

    July 23, 2014

  • Darth Vader is polling higher than all potential 2016 presidential candidates

    On the other hand, with a net favorability of -8, Jar Jar is considerably more popular than the U.S. Congress, which currently enjoys a net favorability rating of -65.

    July 23, 2014

  • D.G. Martin Where did all these new voters in North Carolina come from?

    “Voters born elsewhere make up nearly half of N.C. electorate.”
    So begins the latest DataNet report from the UNC Program on Public Life, directed by former journalist Ferrel Guillory.

    July 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • Patrick Gannon Some light for Dems in their time of darkness

    RALEIGH – Earlier this year, state Sen. Ben Clark, a Hoke County Democrat, became a hero for a day among his party and environmentalists when his amendment to require more well water testing near future fracking sites passed the Senate. It even gained the support of a number of GOP senators, against the wishes of the Republican bill sponsor.

    July 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • mama.jpg What we get wrong about millennials living at home

    If the media is to be believed, America is facing a major crisis. "Kids," some age 25, 26, or even 30 years old, are living out of their childhood bedrooms and basements at alarmingly high numbers. The hand-wringing overlooks one problem: It's all overblown.

    July 22, 2014 1 Photo

  • Doug Creamer Maintaining hope

    Gardeners are facing challenges with the weather this year. It seemed like we were getting great conditions in April and May. The weather was warm and we were getting some good rains. Then sometime in June the rain stopped. It got so dry that I didn’t have to cut the grass. While I enjoyed the break, the garden was not happy at all. I was having to water quite a bit to keep the vegetable garden alive and growing.

    July 22, 2014 1 Photo

  • Jason O. Boyd I may be a bit behind the times, but at least I can find ‘America’

    I seem to be reading about and dealing with technology a lot lately.
    I  love technology and have always been fascinated by gadgets of all kinds and the wonderful things they can do. You never seem to go through an entire day without some form of invention enhancing your life.

    July 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Brent Laurenz Meeting out in open helps negotiations move ahead

    RALEIGH – State lawmakers reconvened in Raleigh on May 14 promising a brief legislative session this summer, but as July moves along they are still in town and tackling big issues.

    July 21, 2014 1 Photo

House Ads
Seasonal Content