The Stanly News and Press (Albemarle, NC)

Opinion & Letters to the Editor

September 1, 2013

BBQ My Way: Back to basics, with pulled pork

(Continued)

Before going to bed, take the top rack out, pull the unit apart and add more briquettes and a sprinkling of wood chips. Place the upper cylinder back on, replenish the water, put the top rack back on, put the lid on, take shower (unless you like to sleep exuding a smoky aroma) and go to bed. You will wake up to the most delicious sight: smoky, falling apart pork with a rich, sweet, spicy and crunchy bark. The bark is the rub and mustard mixture. It turns dark, crunchy and delicious. I've seen fights almost break out over a piece of pork with bark on it.

A Weber Bullet sells for retail at a price point of around $300 to $400, depending on the size. These units have been used to win national BBQ championships, so you don't need anything fancier. This time of the year, retailers are blowing out their grilling inventory so you might get a better deal. You can also go with a knockoff for less, but it won't last as long. In a few weeks, it's time for the holidays, and you haven't truly lived until you have fixed your holiday bird, ham or prime rib in a smoker.

Rub Recipe

  • 1 cup paprika
  • 1 cup brown sugar
  • 8 Tbs Kosher salt
  • 6 Tbs granulated garlic
  • 4 Tbs dried oregano
  • 3 Tbs chile powder
  • 2 Tbs cayenne pepper (alter this amount based on how spicy you like it)
  • 2 Tbs cumin

I used this for two butts and still had a bunch left over. It’s also great to use when pan-searing salmon, tilapia or roasting chicken.

This is my destiny today. Go get a smoker and start making real "Q."

Dave Lobeck is a barbecue chef from Sellersburg, Ind., who writes the "BBQ My Way" column for CNHI News Service. Visit his website at www.BBQ-My-Way.com.

Text Only
Opinion & Letters to the Editor
  • Thanks for the honest deed

    I would like to thank the person that found my wallet in the parking lot of Harris Teeter on July 23 and turned it in to the Albemarle Police.

    July 29, 2014

  • cleaning supplies Don't judge mothers with messy homes

    I was building shelves in my garage when a neighbor girl, one of my 4-year-old daughter's friends, approached me and said, "I just saw in your house. It's pretty dirty. Norah's mommy needs to clean more."

    July 28, 2014 1 Photo

  • We need your help

    Hurray for the Albemarle City Council. Council plans to battle N.C. Department of Transportation’s ranking of all 13 projects in Stanly County to the bottom of their priority list. Council is setting up petitions in various city buildings for citizens to sign.

    July 28, 2014

  • Council asks veterans to seek office

    The terms of office for the leaders of the Stanly County Veterans Council ended June 30. A call is being sent to veterans council members requesting candidates for the four elective offices of the council. A meeting has been set for 6:30 p.m. Aug. 12 at the DAV building. All council members are urged to attend.

    July 28, 2014

  • Mike Walden The gains and gaps in our economy

    Twice a year, I pull out my cloudy crystal ball and attempt to make some predictions about the direction and pace of the North Carolina economy. I just finished my latest effort and, as usual, the results are a combination of pluses and minuses.

    July 28, 2014 1 Photo

  • Jason O. Boyd Yellow journalism takes on new form, people are dumber for it

    Time to get on the soapbox for a few minutes.
    Let me clear my throat. Eh ... hem!
    People are dumb.

    July 28, 2014 1 Photo

  • Brent Laurenz Special election adds to the mix

    RALEIGH – A busy slate of judicial elections this November got even busier recently when Judge John Martin of the N.C. Court of Appeals announced his retirement.
    A special statewide election to fill Martin’s seat will be added to the general election ballot, joining the four N.C. Supreme Court seats and three N.C. Court of Appeals races already slated for this fall.

    July 25, 2014 1 Photo

  • Patrick Gannon Fake news or sign of some more trouble?

    RALEIGH – Of the three situations I can recall where agencies receiving large sums of taxpayer dollars wouldn’t divulge employees’ salaries, two of them ended badly. The third – involving a group of charter schools in Southeastern North Carolina – is playing out right now.

    July 25, 2014 1 Photo

  • Almost half of America's obese youth don't know they're obese

    WASHINGTON - The good news is that after decades of furious growth, obesity rates finally seem to be leveling off in the U.S.. The bad news is that America's youth still appear to be dangerously unaware of the problem.

    July 23, 2014

  • Darth Vader is polling higher than all potential 2016 presidential candidates

    On the other hand, with a net favorability of -8, Jar Jar is considerably more popular than the U.S. Congress, which currently enjoys a net favorability rating of -65.

    July 23, 2014

House Ads
Seasonal Content