The Stanly News and Press (Albemarle, NC)

Opinion & Letters to the Editor

December 3, 2012

Looming crisis demands tax reform

Sunday, December 2, 2012 — RALEIGH – Legislative leaders and Gov.-elect Pat McCrory have made clear that they want to rework North Carolina’s tax structure.

In the lead-up to the convening of the legislative session in January, the subject will likely receive more attention at policy meetings and forums of various sorts.

That doesn’t mean the Republicans who now control the legislature will ultimately find sweeping changes to the state tax code any more palatable or politically doable than did their Democratic colleagues who took up the same cause years ago.

One reason that past efforts at tax reform faded, and efforts in other states — including one most recently in Georgia — were undone is because there is no great public outcry for change.

And politics often becomes the art of following the path of least resistance.

So, generating the political will to substantially rework a state’s tax structure becomes a tough chore. It remains to be seen whether legislative leaders and a new governor can create that kind of political will to address the issue.

There is, though, a pending crisis facing part of the state’s tax structure that cannot be avoided.

That looming crisis involves the dedicated taxes that go to build and maintain roads in North Carolina.

Right now, roughly 60 percent of state dollars that go toward road-building and maintenance come from the state’s gas tax. Taxes on vehicle purchases and registration fees provide the majority of the remainder of state money.   

The number of vehicles on the road is growing. In most years, the amount of miles traveled on those roads is rising.

The amount of money collected from the gas tax isn’t, at least not when measured against inflation and road usage.

A 2009 study from the N.C. Budget and Tax Center noted that the number of taxable gallons of gasoline sold in the state between 2003-04 and 2006-07 rose by 2 percent, while the population increased by 6 percent during the same period.

That same study found that the average driver, in 1963, paid three times more in gas taxes on a per-mile basis than in 2009.

Without changes, the trend is going to accelerate dramatically as more electric vehicles and higher-mileage cars hit the roadways in coming years.

The solution isn’t obvious.

The long-term answer likely involves something other than the current gas tax. That tax, which in North Carolina automatically adjusts every six months based on the wholesale price of gasoline, has already become a political football because it is higher than surrounding states.

Some people who have studied the issue want government to begin assessing taxes, not at the gas pump, but by measuring the miles driven by each car. That answer raises privacy concerns regarding car tracking technology and questions of how mileage and taxes are apportioned based on out-of-state driving.

Tolls, along with increasing or changing car sales taxes, are other options.

Whatever the answer, a changing world means that the problem can’t be avoided much longer.

 

1
Text Only
Opinion & Letters to the Editor
  • Do White Castle prices tell us anything about the minimum wage?

    NEW YORK - Economists love hamburgers. Specifically fast-food burgers. This is partly because all right-thinking human beings love ground meat on a bun, but it's also because the sandwich makes a handy yardstick for international financial comparisons. The ingredients and labor involved in preparing a Big Mac are pretty much the same no matter where you are in the world, so by looking at how many hours of toiling it takes a worker to earn enough to purchase one, you can get a sense of how wages really stack up across countries. The Economist famously created the Big Mac index in 1986 to see which currencies were overvalued. It started as a joke. Now, as the magazine proudly notes, it's a subject of academic study.

    April 22, 2014

  • Can Hillary Clinton rock the cradle and the world?

    WASHINGTON - What's most interesting to contemplate is the effect becoming a grandmother will have on Hillary's ambition. It's one of life's unfairnesses that a woman's peak career years often coincide with her peak childbearing years.

    April 22, 2014

  • Doug Creamer All in the Family

    We had a family get-together at my brother’s house on Easter Sunday. It’s hard to get our family together because we are spread out, especially when you consider nieces and nephews. My parents and siblings all made the gathering this year. Some of my nieces and nephews are far away, but they all remember gathering at my brother’s house for the holidays. Easter is known for the Jell-O eggs and the famous Easter egg hunt.

    April 22, 2014 1 Photo

  • Victimized by the 'marriage penalty'

    In a few short months, I'll pass the milestone that every little girl dreams of: the day she swears - before family and God, in sickness and in health, all in the name of love - that she's willing to pay a much higher tax rate.

    April 19, 2014

  • The case for separate beds

    WASHINGTON - The other night I slept on a twin bed in the guest room of the house I share with my husband and our two kids.
    It was the best night's sleep I've had in years.

    April 19, 2014

  • taylor.armerding.jpg Obama's equal pay exaggeration leads us all into danger

    The president's claims of national shame over gender-based pay inequity spring from distorted calculations, as well as some convenient political math.

    April 12, 2014 1 Photo

  • Teens trading naked selfies for mugshots

    Will teenagers ever learn? You think yours will. Maybe so. But it's likely that was also the hope of the parents of children who were so shamed by nude photos of themselves that went south - how else can they go - that they killed themselves.

    April 12, 2014

  • Brent Laurenz If you want to vote in primary, you need to register to vote now

    RALEIGH – North Carolina voters will head to the polls on May 6 this year to cast ballots in important primary elections across the state.

    April 11, 2014 1 Photo

  • Scott Mooneyham Heeding the voter fraud call in N.C.

    RALEIGH – Legislators found the findings outrageous.

    April 11, 2014 1 Photo

  • Doug Creamer Roots

    I took a few minutes over the weekend to enjoy our yard and the arrival of spring. There seems to be so much work that needs to be done, it is hard to decide what to do first. I am excited that I got to run my tiller through the garden. I didn’t go very deep, but I did at least break up the soil. I have a couple of raised beds and the soil in them was in very good shape. I didn’t plant my peas and now after the big rain we got on Monday I realize that I missed a window of opportunity.

    April 11, 2014 1 Photo

House Ads
Seasonal Content