The Stanly News and Press (Albemarle, NC)

Opinion & Letters to the Editor

December 3, 2012

Looming crisis demands tax reform

Sunday, December 2, 2012 — RALEIGH – Legislative leaders and Gov.-elect Pat McCrory have made clear that they want to rework North Carolina’s tax structure.

In the lead-up to the convening of the legislative session in January, the subject will likely receive more attention at policy meetings and forums of various sorts.

That doesn’t mean the Republicans who now control the legislature will ultimately find sweeping changes to the state tax code any more palatable or politically doable than did their Democratic colleagues who took up the same cause years ago.

One reason that past efforts at tax reform faded, and efforts in other states — including one most recently in Georgia — were undone is because there is no great public outcry for change.

And politics often becomes the art of following the path of least resistance.

So, generating the political will to substantially rework a state’s tax structure becomes a tough chore. It remains to be seen whether legislative leaders and a new governor can create that kind of political will to address the issue.

There is, though, a pending crisis facing part of the state’s tax structure that cannot be avoided.

That looming crisis involves the dedicated taxes that go to build and maintain roads in North Carolina.

Right now, roughly 60 percent of state dollars that go toward road-building and maintenance come from the state’s gas tax. Taxes on vehicle purchases and registration fees provide the majority of the remainder of state money.   

The number of vehicles on the road is growing. In most years, the amount of miles traveled on those roads is rising.

The amount of money collected from the gas tax isn’t, at least not when measured against inflation and road usage.

A 2009 study from the N.C. Budget and Tax Center noted that the number of taxable gallons of gasoline sold in the state between 2003-04 and 2006-07 rose by 2 percent, while the population increased by 6 percent during the same period.

That same study found that the average driver, in 1963, paid three times more in gas taxes on a per-mile basis than in 2009.

Without changes, the trend is going to accelerate dramatically as more electric vehicles and higher-mileage cars hit the roadways in coming years.

The solution isn’t obvious.

The long-term answer likely involves something other than the current gas tax. That tax, which in North Carolina automatically adjusts every six months based on the wholesale price of gasoline, has already become a political football because it is higher than surrounding states.

Some people who have studied the issue want government to begin assessing taxes, not at the gas pump, but by measuring the miles driven by each car. That answer raises privacy concerns regarding car tracking technology and questions of how mileage and taxes are apportioned based on out-of-state driving.

Tolls, along with increasing or changing car sales taxes, are other options.

Whatever the answer, a changing world means that the problem can’t be avoided much longer.

 

1
Text Only
Opinion & Letters to the Editor
  • Doug Creamer Friends and contentment

    Last week I made my annual trip up the mountain to Sparta. My friends have a secluded home near a babbling brook. Their home and property are a haven for peace. It’s a two-plus hour ride to their home that doesn’t feel that long because I look so forward to my time with this great couple. When I arrive, the conversation seems to pick up right where we left it the last time we saw each other.

    July 29, 2014 1 Photo

  • Thanks for the honest deed

    I would like to thank the person that found my wallet in the parking lot of Harris Teeter on July 23 and turned it in to the Albemarle Police.

    July 29, 2014

  • cleaning supplies Don't judge mothers with messy homes

    I was building shelves in my garage when a neighbor girl, one of my 4-year-old daughter's friends, approached me and said, "I just saw in your house. It's pretty dirty. Norah's mommy needs to clean more."

    July 28, 2014 1 Photo

  • We need your help

    Hurray for the Albemarle City Council. Council plans to battle N.C. Department of Transportation’s ranking of all 13 projects in Stanly County to the bottom of their priority list. Council is setting up petitions in various city buildings for citizens to sign.

    July 28, 2014

  • Council asks veterans to seek office

    The terms of office for the leaders of the Stanly County Veterans Council ended June 30. A call is being sent to veterans council members requesting candidates for the four elective offices of the council. A meeting has been set for 6:30 p.m. Aug. 12 at the DAV building. All council members are urged to attend.

    July 28, 2014

  • Mike Walden The gains and gaps in our economy

    Twice a year, I pull out my cloudy crystal ball and attempt to make some predictions about the direction and pace of the North Carolina economy. I just finished my latest effort and, as usual, the results are a combination of pluses and minuses.

    July 28, 2014 1 Photo

  • Jason O. Boyd Yellow journalism takes on new form, people are dumber for it

    Time to get on the soapbox for a few minutes.
    Let me clear my throat. Eh ... hem!
    People are dumb.

    July 28, 2014 1 Photo

  • Brent Laurenz Special election adds to the mix

    RALEIGH – A busy slate of judicial elections this November got even busier recently when Judge John Martin of the N.C. Court of Appeals announced his retirement.
    A special statewide election to fill Martin’s seat will be added to the general election ballot, joining the four N.C. Supreme Court seats and three N.C. Court of Appeals races already slated for this fall.

    July 25, 2014 1 Photo

  • Patrick Gannon Fake news or sign of some more trouble?

    RALEIGH – Of the three situations I can recall where agencies receiving large sums of taxpayer dollars wouldn’t divulge employees’ salaries, two of them ended badly. The third – involving a group of charter schools in Southeastern North Carolina – is playing out right now.

    July 25, 2014 1 Photo

  • Almost half of America's obese youth don't know they're obese

    WASHINGTON - The good news is that after decades of furious growth, obesity rates finally seem to be leveling off in the U.S.. The bad news is that America's youth still appear to be dangerously unaware of the problem.

    July 23, 2014

House Ads
Seasonal Content