The Stanly News and Press (Albemarle, NC)

Breaking News

Opinion & Letters to the Editor

December 3, 2012

Looming crisis demands tax reform

Sunday, December 2, 2012 — RALEIGH – Legislative leaders and Gov.-elect Pat McCrory have made clear that they want to rework North Carolina’s tax structure.

In the lead-up to the convening of the legislative session in January, the subject will likely receive more attention at policy meetings and forums of various sorts.

That doesn’t mean the Republicans who now control the legislature will ultimately find sweeping changes to the state tax code any more palatable or politically doable than did their Democratic colleagues who took up the same cause years ago.

One reason that past efforts at tax reform faded, and efforts in other states — including one most recently in Georgia — were undone is because there is no great public outcry for change.

And politics often becomes the art of following the path of least resistance.

So, generating the political will to substantially rework a state’s tax structure becomes a tough chore. It remains to be seen whether legislative leaders and a new governor can create that kind of political will to address the issue.

There is, though, a pending crisis facing part of the state’s tax structure that cannot be avoided.

That looming crisis involves the dedicated taxes that go to build and maintain roads in North Carolina.

Right now, roughly 60 percent of state dollars that go toward road-building and maintenance come from the state’s gas tax. Taxes on vehicle purchases and registration fees provide the majority of the remainder of state money.   

The number of vehicles on the road is growing. In most years, the amount of miles traveled on those roads is rising.

The amount of money collected from the gas tax isn’t, at least not when measured against inflation and road usage.

A 2009 study from the N.C. Budget and Tax Center noted that the number of taxable gallons of gasoline sold in the state between 2003-04 and 2006-07 rose by 2 percent, while the population increased by 6 percent during the same period.

That same study found that the average driver, in 1963, paid three times more in gas taxes on a per-mile basis than in 2009.

Without changes, the trend is going to accelerate dramatically as more electric vehicles and higher-mileage cars hit the roadways in coming years.

The solution isn’t obvious.

The long-term answer likely involves something other than the current gas tax. That tax, which in North Carolina automatically adjusts every six months based on the wholesale price of gasoline, has already become a political football because it is higher than surrounding states.

Some people who have studied the issue want government to begin assessing taxes, not at the gas pump, but by measuring the miles driven by each car. That answer raises privacy concerns regarding car tracking technology and questions of how mileage and taxes are apportioned based on out-of-state driving.

Tolls, along with increasing or changing car sales taxes, are other options.

Whatever the answer, a changing world means that the problem can’t be avoided much longer.

 

1
Text Only
Opinion & Letters to the Editor
  • Patrick Gannon Spending the money to save money

    RALEIGH – The irony was unmistakable.
    In a recent legislative committee meeting, House and Senate lawmakers peppered a Pat McCrory government official with questions about money the state is spending in an effort to try to save money in state government.

    July 11, 2014 1 Photo

  • D.G. Martin Preserving the controversial ones, too

    “You see him and ask: ‘Why is the statue still here? What was it he actually stood for?’ This is the kind of debate that a public work of art makes possible. We won’t change the way people think just by getting rid of a monument.”

    July 9, 2014 1 Photo

  • Mike Miller No substitute for experience

    According to a recent survey conducted by the National Association of Colleges and Employers, last year employers made full-time job offers to 56.5 percent of their interns. Undeniably, with more and more professions requiring a mix of intellectual, technical, social and cultural skills, students will need as many opportunities as possible to gain exposure to workplace situations that test, apply and build upon the knowledge they acquire in the classroom.

    July 9, 2014 1 Photo

  • Paul O’Connor Liberals vs. Conservatives: What’s the differences?

    RALEIGH – After a lifetime of observing politics I’ve discovered the basic difference between liberals and conservatives.

    July 9, 2014 1 Photo

  • ent_taylorswift.jpg There's less good music now — here's why

    Taylor Swift, the seven-time Grammy winner, is known for her articulate lyrics, so there was nothing surprising about her writing a long column for The Wall Street Journal about the future of the music industry. Yet there's reason to doubt the optimism of what she had to say.

    July 8, 2014 1 Photo

  • This is what happened when I drove my Mercedes to pick up food stamps

    HARTFORD, Conn. - I climbed the ladder quickly, free to work any hours in any location for any pay. I moved from market to market, always achieving a better title, a better salary. Succeeding.

    July 8, 2014

  • Larry's Sketch 6.18.14 The beach is the same, just different

    When I go back to Myrtle Beach I can’t help but notice changes compared to when I went back in the ‘50s and ‘60s.

    July 8, 2014 1 Photo

  • Doug Creamer Going to the beach

    We went to the beach last week. We look forward to our days at the beach all year long. Once we got the luggage unloaded and settled a little bit in our room, I went out on the balcony. I sat down on the chair and took in a deep breath of the salty air.

    July 8, 2014 1 Photo

  • Jason O. Boyd It’s becoming harder and harder to maintain my night owl status

    They say you’re only as old as you feel.
    Sometimes, I feel like I’m just 23. Other times, I feel like I’m 123.

    July 8, 2014 1 Photo

  • Paul O’Connor Change must come from Republicans

    RALEIGH – Just a few days into this year’s short session, Sen. Dan Blue, D-Wake, shared his disappointment over current affairs.

    July 7, 2014 1 Photo

House Ads
Seasonal Content