The Stanly News and Press (Albemarle, NC)

Opinion & Letters to the Editor

February 4, 2013

The Impossible: Is It Impossibly Good?

Monday, February 4, 2013 — Most of us remember when we first heard of the tsunami that hit Southeast Asia in December 2004. Even as we listened to the reports and saw photos and film of the destruction, it was nearly impossible to imagine what it would have been like to be there in the midst of that huge natural disaster.  

In 2010, Clint Eastwood gave moviegoers a glimpse of the event in his film “Hereafter.” I am not a big fan of that film because I never felt emotionally involved with the characters on screen. The special effects of the tsunami were very impressive, chilling in their cinematography and their action. However, the rest of the film left me wanting a more powerful and personal story of those who experienced the massive disaster.

One finds that story in “The Impossible.” This film offers an account of the experiences of a real British family of five who lived in Japan but was vacationing in Thailand over the Christmas holidays. In the film, the family is enjoying time in their resort’s pool when the tsunami hits. The scenes that immediately follow are stirring on so many levels. “Hereafter” was nominated for a Visual Effects Oscar for the depiction of the disaster. “The Impossible,” though receiving no such acknowledgement from the Academy for visual effects, offers a much more amazing depiction of this catastrophe.

For 30 minutes or more, the acts of survival on screen are exhilarating and devastating all at the same time. The one thought that kept running through my mind was, “How did they film that without putting the actors in danger? It looks so real!”

Beyond the incredible scenes of the disaster, the film boasts several special performances. “Impossible” might not have been recognized for visual effects, but Naomi Watts, who plays the mother of the family, did receive an Oscar nomination for Best Actress. I have mixed feelings about who should win, but Watts, who has been nominated once before for “21 Grams” (an incredible film in which her character’s family faces a tragedy which is smaller in scoop but no less destructive on her life), deserves to win here. I do not think she will, but I would be pleased if she did.

Tom Holland, who plays Lucas, the oldest of the three sons in the family, also gives a truly outstanding performance. Lucas in many ways becomes both the central character of the film and the hero. Oscar buzz had circled around him for a while, but unfortunately there were too many strong male performances for Holland to get nominated.  Ewan McGregor plays the father Henry; he has less screen time than Watts and Holland, but he too delivers a powerful effort in his role.

Once again as we have discussed in previous reviews, this is a film based on a true story, and I am not sure how much of it is factually accurate. But beyond the stunning visuals and the strong and moving performances, the greatest strength of this film is the narrative. This screenplay reminds us that even when the worst happens, righteousness still matters. Henry asks another survivor if he can use his cell phone and the man replies that his battery is almost dead. Later on, another man, this one seeking to find his family, insists that Henry make not one but two calls. In the midst of tragedy and despair, who was the righteous neighbor?

At a different point in the film, Maria (Watts) advises Lucas to “Go and help people, you are good at it.” She is lying in a hospital bed not sure whether she will survive her injuries and she is advising her young son to help others, to be a good Samaritan.  Moments like that, and many others which depict people at their best in the worst of circumstances, make “The Impossible” a very stirring and uplifting film and reminder to us all that goodness, mercy, compassion and righteousness should never be swept away in the harsher waves of life.

After nearly a month in the theatres, “The Impossible” has grossed less than $10 million. I am sure it has gotten lost among the big end-of-year releases. Hopefully, my thoughts have encouraged at least a few readers to seek out this powerful, amazing, inspiring film. I do not think you will be disappointed.   

          

Roger Thomas reviews films for the Stanly News & Press. His reviews appear at various times in print and online.

1
Text Only
Opinion & Letters to the Editor
  • taylor.armerding.jpg Obama's equal pay exaggeration leads us all into danger

    The president's claims of national shame over gender-based pay inequity spring from distorted calculations, as well as some convenient political math.

    April 12, 2014 1 Photo

  • Teens trading naked selfies for mugshots

    Will teenagers ever learn? You think yours will. Maybe so. But it's likely that was also the hope of the parents of children who were so shamed by nude photos of themselves that went south - how else can they go - that they killed themselves.

    April 12, 2014

  • Brent Laurenz If you want to vote in primary, you need to register to vote now

    RALEIGH – North Carolina voters will head to the polls on May 6 this year to cast ballots in important primary elections across the state.

    April 11, 2014 1 Photo

  • Scott Mooneyham Heeding the voter fraud call in N.C.

    RALEIGH – Legislators found the findings outrageous.

    April 11, 2014 1 Photo

  • Doug Creamer Roots

    I took a few minutes over the weekend to enjoy our yard and the arrival of spring. There seems to be so much work that needs to be done, it is hard to decide what to do first. I am excited that I got to run my tiller through the garden. I didn’t go very deep, but I did at least break up the soil. I have a couple of raised beds and the soil in them was in very good shape. I didn’t plant my peas and now after the big rain we got on Monday I realize that I missed a window of opportunity.

    April 11, 2014 1 Photo

  • 10 tips for surviving a severe allergy season

    My colleague Brady Dennis reported recently that the arrival of warmer weather will soon unleash a pollen tsunami in parts of the country where the winter has been especially long and cold. Here are some survival tips from Clifford W. Bassett, an allergy specialist and assistant clinical professor of medicine at the New York University School of Medicine.

    April 11, 2014

  • Is a paleo vegetarian diet possible?

    Research shows most people can follow a regimented eating plan for a short time. That's not the challenge. The challenge is finding a healthful eating plan you can follow day after day and achieve your long-term health goals. At this point, it doesn't appear that the paleo eating plan meets these objectives for most people.

    April 10, 2014

  • Screen Shot 2014-04-08 at 2.16.35 PM.png Are Americans smart to stop drinking diet sodas?

    Recent data from Beverage Digest suggest many are cutting back on diet sodas. Consumption of diet sodas fell more than that of sugary sodas in 2013. This raises two questions: Why is total consumption declining, and is drinking diet soda harmful to health?

    April 10, 2014 1 Photo

  • To get quality care, it helps to be the right kind of patient

    I am a family physician. Sometimes I must step out of the comfort of my clinical role and into that of patient or family caregiver. Generally, these trips to the other side of the exam table inspire a fair amount of anxiety.

    April 10, 2014

  • Hospice of Stanly County should be the one we support

    Regarding your recent article about Community Hospice relocating its offices from one location in Troy to another, let me point out a few things.

    April 10, 2014

House Ads
Seasonal Content