The Stanly News and Press (Albemarle, NC)

Opinion & Letters to the Editor

December 12, 2012

Farewell to filmstrips, flipcharts

Wednesday, December 12, 2012 — Is there even one part of our lives untouched by technology? It has changed the way we read (Kindle, Nook), shop (eBay, Amazon), talk to our friends (iPhone, BlackBerry), drive (GPS) and even bowl (the Wii). And it’s having a tremendous impact on the way our kids are learning.

Technology is changing the face of schools, the way teachers teach and how our children learn. And when technology is applied appropriately in different contexts (the school, classroom, home), it can provide unique and engaging experiences for students that increase learning and promote academic achievement.

Project Tomorrow, a nonprofit education organization based in Irvine, Calif., describes three “E”s to learning in the 21st century: enabled, engaged and empowered. Through increased access to educational resources (enabling), rich and compelling learning experiences (engaging) and the ability to take responsibility for their own education (empowering), students are able to participate in socially based, un-tethered and digitally rich learning, thanks to the use of new technology.

But technology is not changing education just for the sake of change. There are some real benefits to integrating technology into classrooms and into students’ individual learning experiences. Researchers are turning up substantial evidence that technology can play a positive role in academic achievement. Several organizations like Edutopia, the North Central Educational Lab (NCREL) and the Center for Applied Research in Educational Technology (CARET) cite studies that link technology to increases in academic achievement.

And there’s more: Students who regularly use technology take more pride in their work, have greater confidence in their abilities and develop higher levels of self-esteem. Technology has even been shown to decrease absenteeism, lower drop-out rates and motivate more students to continue on to college.

Here at Sylvan-Albemarle over the next several months, we will be embracing many new technology tools to make learning more engaging, accessible and effective for our students.

In the next two installments of this column, join us for a more detailed look at the way technology tools are changing schools and classrooms and how our children learn.

 

1
Text Only
Opinion & Letters to the Editor
  • D.G. Martin Read others’ views to be better informed, decide for yourself

    “I don’t read The Washington Post. That is not where I get my ideas.”

    July 30, 2014 1 Photo

  • Patrick Gannon This isn’t medical marijuana

    As state legislators debated allowing the use of an extract from marijuana plants to treat seizure disorders over the past couple of weeks, it was evident that social conservatives – there are many of them in the General Assembly – felt a tinge of unease about it, even as almost every one of them voted yes.

    July 30, 2014 1 Photo

  • Doug Creamer Friends and contentment

    Last week I made my annual trip up the mountain to Sparta. My friends have a secluded home near a babbling brook. Their home and property are a haven for peace. It’s a two-plus hour ride to their home that doesn’t feel that long because I look so forward to my time with this great couple. When I arrive, the conversation seems to pick up right where we left it the last time we saw each other.

    July 29, 2014 1 Photo

  • Thanks for the honest deed

    I would like to thank the person that found my wallet in the parking lot of Harris Teeter on July 23 and turned it in to the Albemarle Police.

    July 29, 2014

  • cleaning supplies Don't judge mothers with messy homes

    I was building shelves in my garage when a neighbor girl, one of my 4-year-old daughter's friends, approached me and said, "I just saw in your house. It's pretty dirty. Norah's mommy needs to clean more."

    July 28, 2014 1 Photo

  • We need your help

    Hurray for the Albemarle City Council. Council plans to battle N.C. Department of Transportation’s ranking of all 13 projects in Stanly County to the bottom of their priority list. Council is setting up petitions in various city buildings for citizens to sign.

    July 28, 2014

  • Council asks veterans to seek office

    The terms of office for the leaders of the Stanly County Veterans Council ended June 30. A call is being sent to veterans council members requesting candidates for the four elective offices of the council. A meeting has been set for 6:30 p.m. Aug. 12 at the DAV building. All council members are urged to attend.

    July 28, 2014

  • Mike Walden The gains and gaps in our economy

    Twice a year, I pull out my cloudy crystal ball and attempt to make some predictions about the direction and pace of the North Carolina economy. I just finished my latest effort and, as usual, the results are a combination of pluses and minuses.

    July 28, 2014 1 Photo

  • Jason O. Boyd Yellow journalism takes on new form, people are dumber for it

    Time to get on the soapbox for a few minutes.
    Let me clear my throat. Eh ... hem!
    People are dumb.

    July 28, 2014 1 Photo

  • Brent Laurenz Special election adds to the mix

    RALEIGH – A busy slate of judicial elections this November got even busier recently when Judge John Martin of the N.C. Court of Appeals announced his retirement.
    A special statewide election to fill Martin’s seat will be added to the general election ballot, joining the four N.C. Supreme Court seats and three N.C. Court of Appeals races already slated for this fall.

    July 25, 2014 1 Photo

House Ads
Seasonal Content