The Stanly News and Press (Albemarle, NC)

Opinion & Letters to the Editor

December 12, 2012

Farewell to filmstrips, flipcharts

Wednesday, December 12, 2012 — Is there even one part of our lives untouched by technology? It has changed the way we read (Kindle, Nook), shop (eBay, Amazon), talk to our friends (iPhone, BlackBerry), drive (GPS) and even bowl (the Wii). And it’s having a tremendous impact on the way our kids are learning.

Technology is changing the face of schools, the way teachers teach and how our children learn. And when technology is applied appropriately in different contexts (the school, classroom, home), it can provide unique and engaging experiences for students that increase learning and promote academic achievement.

Project Tomorrow, a nonprofit education organization based in Irvine, Calif., describes three “E”s to learning in the 21st century: enabled, engaged and empowered. Through increased access to educational resources (enabling), rich and compelling learning experiences (engaging) and the ability to take responsibility for their own education (empowering), students are able to participate in socially based, un-tethered and digitally rich learning, thanks to the use of new technology.

But technology is not changing education just for the sake of change. There are some real benefits to integrating technology into classrooms and into students’ individual learning experiences. Researchers are turning up substantial evidence that technology can play a positive role in academic achievement. Several organizations like Edutopia, the North Central Educational Lab (NCREL) and the Center for Applied Research in Educational Technology (CARET) cite studies that link technology to increases in academic achievement.

And there’s more: Students who regularly use technology take more pride in their work, have greater confidence in their abilities and develop higher levels of self-esteem. Technology has even been shown to decrease absenteeism, lower drop-out rates and motivate more students to continue on to college.

Here at Sylvan-Albemarle over the next several months, we will be embracing many new technology tools to make learning more engaging, accessible and effective for our students.

In the next two installments of this column, join us for a more detailed look at the way technology tools are changing schools and classrooms and how our children learn.

 

1
Text Only
Opinion & Letters to the Editor
  • Almost half of America's obese youth don't know they're obese

    WASHINGTON - The good news is that after decades of furious growth, obesity rates finally seem to be leveling off in the U.S.. The bad news is that America's youth still appear to be dangerously unaware of the problem.

    July 23, 2014

  • Darth Vader is polling higher than all potential 2016 presidential candidates

    On the other hand, with a net favorability of -8, Jar Jar is considerably more popular than the U.S. Congress, which currently enjoys a net favorability rating of -65.

    July 23, 2014

  • D.G. Martin Where did all these new voters in North Carolina come from?

    “Voters born elsewhere make up nearly half of N.C. electorate.”
    So begins the latest DataNet report from the UNC Program on Public Life, directed by former journalist Ferrel Guillory.

    July 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • Patrick Gannon Some light for Dems in their time of darkness

    RALEIGH – Earlier this year, state Sen. Ben Clark, a Hoke County Democrat, became a hero for a day among his party and environmentalists when his amendment to require more well water testing near future fracking sites passed the Senate. It even gained the support of a number of GOP senators, against the wishes of the Republican bill sponsor.

    July 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • mama.jpg What we get wrong about millennials living at home

    If the media is to be believed, America is facing a major crisis. "Kids," some age 25, 26, or even 30 years old, are living out of their childhood bedrooms and basements at alarmingly high numbers. The hand-wringing overlooks one problem: It's all overblown.

    July 22, 2014 1 Photo

  • Doug Creamer Maintaining hope

    Gardeners are facing challenges with the weather this year. It seemed like we were getting great conditions in April and May. The weather was warm and we were getting some good rains. Then sometime in June the rain stopped. It got so dry that I didn’t have to cut the grass. While I enjoyed the break, the garden was not happy at all. I was having to water quite a bit to keep the vegetable garden alive and growing.

    July 22, 2014 1 Photo

  • Jason O. Boyd I may be a bit behind the times, but at least I can find ‘America’

    I seem to be reading about and dealing with technology a lot lately.
    I  love technology and have always been fascinated by gadgets of all kinds and the wonderful things they can do. You never seem to go through an entire day without some form of invention enhancing your life.

    July 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Brent Laurenz Meeting out in open helps negotiations move ahead

    RALEIGH – State lawmakers reconvened in Raleigh on May 14 promising a brief legislative session this summer, but as July moves along they are still in town and tackling big issues.

    July 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Larry's Sketch 7.16.14.tif They don’t give a darn for Duke University

    John “Duke” Wayne’s heirs are suing Duke University over trademark rights.

    July 21, 2014 1 Photo

  • Your chocolate addiction is only going to get more expensive

    WASHINGTON - For nearly two years, cocoa prices have been on the rise. Finally, that's affecting the price you pay for a bar of chocolate - and there's reason to believe it's only the beginning.

    July 18, 2014

House Ads
Seasonal Content