The Stanly News and Press (Albemarle, NC)

Opinion & Letters to the Editor

December 12, 2012

Farewell to filmstrips, flipcharts

Wednesday, December 12, 2012 — Is there even one part of our lives untouched by technology? It has changed the way we read (Kindle, Nook), shop (eBay, Amazon), talk to our friends (iPhone, BlackBerry), drive (GPS) and even bowl (the Wii). And it’s having a tremendous impact on the way our kids are learning.

Technology is changing the face of schools, the way teachers teach and how our children learn. And when technology is applied appropriately in different contexts (the school, classroom, home), it can provide unique and engaging experiences for students that increase learning and promote academic achievement.

Project Tomorrow, a nonprofit education organization based in Irvine, Calif., describes three “E”s to learning in the 21st century: enabled, engaged and empowered. Through increased access to educational resources (enabling), rich and compelling learning experiences (engaging) and the ability to take responsibility for their own education (empowering), students are able to participate in socially based, un-tethered and digitally rich learning, thanks to the use of new technology.

But technology is not changing education just for the sake of change. There are some real benefits to integrating technology into classrooms and into students’ individual learning experiences. Researchers are turning up substantial evidence that technology can play a positive role in academic achievement. Several organizations like Edutopia, the North Central Educational Lab (NCREL) and the Center for Applied Research in Educational Technology (CARET) cite studies that link technology to increases in academic achievement.

And there’s more: Students who regularly use technology take more pride in their work, have greater confidence in their abilities and develop higher levels of self-esteem. Technology has even been shown to decrease absenteeism, lower drop-out rates and motivate more students to continue on to college.

Here at Sylvan-Albemarle over the next several months, we will be embracing many new technology tools to make learning more engaging, accessible and effective for our students.

In the next two installments of this column, join us for a more detailed look at the way technology tools are changing schools and classrooms and how our children learn.

 

1
Text Only
Opinion & Letters to the Editor
  • taylor.armerding.jpg Obama's equal pay exaggeration leads us all into danger

    The president's claims of national shame over gender-based pay inequity spring from distorted calculations, as well as some convenient political math.

    April 12, 2014 1 Photo

  • Teens trading naked selfies for mugshots

    Will teenagers ever learn? You think yours will. Maybe so. But it's likely that was also the hope of the parents of children who were so shamed by nude photos of themselves that went south - how else can they go - that they killed themselves.

    April 12, 2014

  • Brent Laurenz If you want to vote in primary, you need to register to vote now

    RALEIGH – North Carolina voters will head to the polls on May 6 this year to cast ballots in important primary elections across the state.

    April 11, 2014 1 Photo

  • Scott Mooneyham Heeding the voter fraud call in N.C.

    RALEIGH – Legislators found the findings outrageous.

    April 11, 2014 1 Photo

  • Doug Creamer Roots

    I took a few minutes over the weekend to enjoy our yard and the arrival of spring. There seems to be so much work that needs to be done, it is hard to decide what to do first. I am excited that I got to run my tiller through the garden. I didn’t go very deep, but I did at least break up the soil. I have a couple of raised beds and the soil in them was in very good shape. I didn’t plant my peas and now after the big rain we got on Monday I realize that I missed a window of opportunity.

    April 11, 2014 1 Photo

  • 10 tips for surviving a severe allergy season

    My colleague Brady Dennis reported recently that the arrival of warmer weather will soon unleash a pollen tsunami in parts of the country where the winter has been especially long and cold. Here are some survival tips from Clifford W. Bassett, an allergy specialist and assistant clinical professor of medicine at the New York University School of Medicine.

    April 11, 2014

  • Is a paleo vegetarian diet possible?

    Research shows most people can follow a regimented eating plan for a short time. That's not the challenge. The challenge is finding a healthful eating plan you can follow day after day and achieve your long-term health goals. At this point, it doesn't appear that the paleo eating plan meets these objectives for most people.

    April 10, 2014

  • Screen Shot 2014-04-08 at 2.16.35 PM.png Are Americans smart to stop drinking diet sodas?

    Recent data from Beverage Digest suggest many are cutting back on diet sodas. Consumption of diet sodas fell more than that of sugary sodas in 2013. This raises two questions: Why is total consumption declining, and is drinking diet soda harmful to health?

    April 10, 2014 1 Photo

  • To get quality care, it helps to be the right kind of patient

    I am a family physician. Sometimes I must step out of the comfort of my clinical role and into that of patient or family caregiver. Generally, these trips to the other side of the exam table inspire a fair amount of anxiety.

    April 10, 2014

  • Hospice of Stanly County should be the one we support

    Regarding your recent article about Community Hospice relocating its offices from one location in Troy to another, let me point out a few things.

    April 10, 2014

House Ads
Seasonal Content