The Stanly News and Press (Albemarle, NC)

Opinion & Letters to the Editor

June 16, 2014

Bill on teacher pay will hurt schools 

Monday, June 16, 2014 — Senate Bill 744 (Teacher Pay) requires transfer/elimination of $390 million from the state education budget. This money was established decades ago for desperately needed classroom assistant teachers. Also dismantled (some partially): classroom textbooks, instructional supply money (such as paper, pencils, dry-erase markers), all media specialist assts., school maintenance equipment, field-trip transportation funding, instructional building maintenance personnel, and remedial reading/summer education … There is more:

With 7,000 teacher assistants literally fired across our state, each elementary school will lose an average of five teacher assistants next year. Teacher assistants are not in classrooms to decorate bulletin boards or monitor potty trips. These teachers provide invaluable one-on-one instruction that is critical to reading/math development. Our best deal in education, with the average teacher assistant paid half of what a certified teacher earns. It’s a shame, but most teacher assistants’ children  qualify for Medicaid and supplemental assistance.

Should our children and grandchildren be required to graduate with a third rate diploma in order to foot-the-bill for teacher pay? Why can’t teachers be paid what they deserve, without being forced to accept some underhanded deal that would cause our children to suffer?

Senate Bill 744 provides N.C.’s most experienced teachers with a total annual increase of 1 percent ($143 total). All eligibility toward any accumulated longevity pay is surrendered. See [SB744, Sec.9.1.(a)]. Teachers must forfeit all due process (allowing termination for any judicious reason including extended pregnancy leave).

Without due process, a letter such as this … could be grounds for immediate dismissal by an administrator with a differing opinion or opposing political party affiliation.

Already passed by Senate: If Bill 744 is signed by Gov. McCrory … it will be responsible for 7,000 N.C. teacher assistants losing their jobs … soon drawing unemployment.

Ask Sen. McLaurin: “How did you vote?”

 Billy Mills

 Albemarle

1
Text Only
Opinion & Letters to the Editor
  • Patrick Gannon Two sides in debate about film incentives

    RALEIGH – It’s looking like the current film incentives program may be scrapped for a much different grant program for TV and movie production companies.

    August 1, 2014 1 Photo

  • D.G. Martin Read others’ views to be better informed, decide for yourself

    “I don’t read The Washington Post. That is not where I get my ideas.”

    July 30, 2014 1 Photo

  • Patrick Gannon This isn’t medical marijuana

    As state legislators debated allowing the use of an extract from marijuana plants to treat seizure disorders over the past couple of weeks, it was evident that social conservatives – there are many of them in the General Assembly – felt a tinge of unease about it, even as almost every one of them voted yes.

    July 30, 2014 1 Photo

  • Doug Creamer Friends and contentment

    Last week I made my annual trip up the mountain to Sparta. My friends have a secluded home near a babbling brook. Their home and property are a haven for peace. It’s a two-plus hour ride to their home that doesn’t feel that long because I look so forward to my time with this great couple. When I arrive, the conversation seems to pick up right where we left it the last time we saw each other.

    July 29, 2014 1 Photo

  • Thanks for the honest deed

    I would like to thank the person that found my wallet in the parking lot of Harris Teeter on July 23 and turned it in to the Albemarle Police.

    July 29, 2014

  • cleaning supplies Don't judge mothers with messy homes

    I was building shelves in my garage when a neighbor girl, one of my 4-year-old daughter's friends, approached me and said, "I just saw in your house. It's pretty dirty. Norah's mommy needs to clean more."

    July 28, 2014 1 Photo

  • We need your help

    Hurray for the Albemarle City Council. Council plans to battle N.C. Department of Transportation’s ranking of all 13 projects in Stanly County to the bottom of their priority list. Council is setting up petitions in various city buildings for citizens to sign.

    July 28, 2014

  • Council asks veterans to seek office

    The terms of office for the leaders of the Stanly County Veterans Council ended June 30. A call is being sent to veterans council members requesting candidates for the four elective offices of the council. A meeting has been set for 6:30 p.m. Aug. 12 at the DAV building. All council members are urged to attend.

    July 28, 2014

  • Mike Walden The gains and gaps in our economy

    Twice a year, I pull out my cloudy crystal ball and attempt to make some predictions about the direction and pace of the North Carolina economy. I just finished my latest effort and, as usual, the results are a combination of pluses and minuses.

    July 28, 2014 1 Photo

  • Jason O. Boyd Yellow journalism takes on new form, people are dumber for it

    Time to get on the soapbox for a few minutes.
    Let me clear my throat. Eh ... hem!
    People are dumb.

    July 28, 2014 1 Photo

House Ads
Seasonal Content