The Stanly News and Press (Albemarle, NC)


April 11, 2013

NPR’s Carl Kasell named NCPA’s North Carolinian of the Year

Thursday, April 11, 2013 — CHAPEL HILL – Members of the North Carolina Press Association honored Goldsboro native Carl Kasell with the 2013 North Carolinian of the Year award. The presentation was made March 21 during NCPA’s Winter Institute and Annual Meeting.


Kasell is currently the co-host and judge for the popular National Public Radio news quiz program, Wait, Wait…Don’t Tell Me. He was the news announcer for NPR’s Morning Edition for 30 years. He started his radio career in Goldsboro and then went on to help found WUNC at the University of North Carolina-Chapel Hill while a student there.


The North Carolina Press Association honored Kasell for his many years of service to journalism in North Carolina and throughout the nation. In addition to his role on Wait, Wait…, he serves as a roving ambassador for NPR, traveling throughout the country.


In recognition of his travels and the many events he attends throughout the year, NCPA President Hal Tanner III presented Kasell with special cufflinks from Tiffany’s in the shape of airplanes.


In presenting the award, Tanner, who is publisher of The Goldsboro News-Argus, pointed out that the 2008 recipient of NCPA’s North Carolinian of the Year also grew up in Goldsboro. That honoree was Gene Roberts, former editor of The Philadelphia Inquirer and manager editor of The New York Times.


“Carl was an easy choice for many reasons,” Tanner said of Kasell. “He is highly regarded by journalists everywhere for his integrity and commitment to fairness and honesty. We are proud of his North Carolina roots and his continuing connection to the Tar Heel state.”


A video tribute to Kasell, including cameos by Wait, Wait… host Peter Sagal and a former intern of Kasell’s, Katie Couric, is available for viewing at


NCPA presents the North Carolinian of the Year to honor residents who have excelled in various fields and served the state throughout their careers. Former winners of the North Carolinian of the Year include Erskine Bowles, Jerry Richardson, Richard Petty, Gen. Hugh Shelton, Bob Timberlake, Gene Roberts and Dean Smith.

Text Only
Seasonal Content
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide