Mt. Pleasant captured the RRC Wrestling Championship last Saturday at Monroe with Albemarle finishing second and Monroe third.

Stanly County schools had five first-place winners that automatically were named All-Conference. In addition to these five, two others were named to the All-RRC team while four others were All-RRC Honorable Mention.

First Place and All-RRC:

112 Alex Thompson (SSHS)

125 Teng Lee (NSHS)

140 Damond Kelley (AHS)

160 Charlie Coggins (AHS)

171 Deaaron Cole (AHS) Second Place:

112 Drew Beadle (NSHS and All-RRC)

130 Zach Leggett (NSHS)

135 Drew Huneycutt (AHS)

152 J.J. Brantley (AHS)

215 Jake Tester (NSHS)

285 Dillion Carter (WSHS) Honorable Mention

Third Place:

103 Michael Boykin (SSHS)

125 Ryan Yepsen (WSHS)

130 Matthew Gaiten (SSHS)

145 Cas Stoker (NSHS)

152 Jake Barrett (SSHS)

160 Miguel Velazquez (NSHS)

171 Logan Kluttz (SSHS) Honorable Mention

189 Dustin Foley (AHS) Honorable Mention

285 Tommy Brown (AHS)

Fourth Place:

103 Ryan Jones (NSHS)

119 Brandon Peters (SSHS)

135 Dustin Gurganus (SSHS)

145 Alex Little (SSHS)

152 Josh Smith (NSHS)

171Aaron Huneycutt (WSHS)

189 Peter Uerliches (SSHS)

215 C.J. Simpson (AHS)

Also named to the All-RRC team was Patrick Konopka of North Stanly, who did not wrestle due to injury. North Stanly’s Cody Wittman, who was also injured and did not wrestle, was named All-RRC Honorable Mention.

React to this story:


This Week's Circulars