The Stanly News and Press (Albemarle, NC)

January 12, 2014

Stanly County athletes named to Yadkin Valley Conference All-YVC teams

By Charles Curcio, Sports Editor

Sunday, January 12, 2014 — Here are the selections representing high schools in Stanly County that were named to the 2013 fall sports Yadkin Valley Conference All-Conference teams.

Football – Offense       

All-YVC: Bryan Blanton (Albemarle), Montrell Brewer (South Stanly), Hunter Davis (Albemarle), David Harris (South Stanly), KJ McKinney (Albemarle),  Ollen Smith (Albemarle), Timmie White (Albemarle), Antonio Williams (North Stanly).

Honorable Mention: CJ Harris (North Stanly)

Football – Defense

Lee Autry (Albemarle), Travis Bennett (Albemarle), Terrace Ellis (Albemarle), Jai-Len Harris (North Stanly), Josten Horten (South Stanly), Andre Ridenhour (Albemarle), Lacey Riggins (North Stanly).

Honorable Mention: Robert Mack (Albemarle), Sawyer Lee (South Stanly).

Volleyball – West

All-YVC:  Dana Beadle (North Stanly), Samantha Blue (Albemarle), Akela Branch (Albemarle), Daj’e Drake (South Stanly), Sydney Freeman (Gray Stone), Maggie Habeeb (Gray Stone), Hope Moua (Gray Stone), Jordan Redman (Gray Stone), Leah Russell (North Stanly), Morgan Smet (Albemarle), Kayla Smith (South Stanly), Caroline Snyder (Albemarle).

Honorable Mention: Roni Boss (Gray Stone), Riley Cohen (South Stanly), Talesha Currie (Albemarle), Megan Hart (North Stanly).

Coach of the Year: Joanne McConlogue (Albemarle).

Player of the Year: Hope Moua (Gray Stone).

Soccer – West

All-YVC: Brandon Fortin (Gray Stone), Sean Lavook (Gray Stone), John Latimer (Gray Stone), Blua Lee (North Stanly), Ian Lins (Gray Stone), Ross Plyler (Albemarle), King Vang (North Stanly), Adam Yang (Albemarle).

Honorable Mention:  Tyler Billingsley (North Stanly), Evan McDow (Albemarle), Sandi Jusic (Gray Stone).

Player of the Year: John Latimer (Gray Stone).

Boys’ Cross Country

All-YVC: Dennis Collins (Gray Stone), David Cowan (Gray Stone), Jordy Featherstone (Gray Stone), Reid Huckabee (Gray Stone), Noah Lancaster (North Stanly),  Patrick Parsons (Gray Stone), Josh Rolan (Gray Stone).

Honorable Mention: Will Murdock (Gray Stone)

Girls’ Cross Country

All-YVC: Lythi Barnette (North Stanly), Megan Brickner (Gray Stone), Virginia Currie (Gray Stone), Annie Habeeb (Gray Stone), Kelsey Kiser (Gray Stone), Caroline McLeod (Gray Stone), Tori Thompson (Gray Stone), Jennie Wagner (Gray Stone).

Honorable Mention: Ashlyn Murphy (South Stanly).

Coach of the Year: Mike Furr (Gray Stone).

Player of the Year: Caroline McLeod (Gray Stone).

Tennis – West

All-YVC: Madalyn Blalock (Albemarle), Chelsey Culp (South Stanly), Libby Fowler (Gray Stone), Meghan Hedgepeth (Gray Stone), Brooke Herlocker (Gray Stone), Katherine Mansfield (Albemarle), Martha McSwain (South Stanly), Caby Styers (Gray Stone), Gao Xa Xao Moua (North Stanly), Mkay Wary (North Stanly).

Honorable Mention: Jessy Boatman (Albemarle), Sabrina Faulkner (South Stanly), Pa Chee Lee (North Stanly), Rachel Poston (Gray Stone).

Coach of the Year: Jeff Walter (Gray Stone).

Player of the Year: Libby Fowler (Gray Stone).