The Stanly News and Press (Albemarle, NC)

November 7, 2012

Alumni games celebrate NSHS’ 50th birthday

By Charles Curcio, Sports Editor

Wednesday, November 7, 2012 — Some of the biggest names in the history of North Stanly High School basketball returned home on Saturday night for the 2012 North Stanly alumni basketball games, celebrating the 50th anniversary of the opening of the school.

Saturday’s charity event to raise funds for the Comets’ basketball program featured an alumni cheerleading squad and a performance by the PSI step team in memory of Mindy Williams from the Class of 1998.

The night opened with the girls’ game as legendary North girls’ coach Lonnie Chandler coached the white team, while Stan Napier coached the blue-clad squad.

Alexis Atkins, Billie Ann Carpenter, Taske Calloway, Chris McDonald, Jency Speight, Wendy Morrow, Tina Carter and Katie Huff were on Team Chandler.

Team Napier featured Anita Atkins, Carla Kimrey, Sherry Wainwright, Tina Kimrey Bradley, Holli Chandler, Francine Benson Young, Dana Prince, Tonya Dunlap and Heather Carter.

Team Chandler earned the win over Team Napier 52-40.

Between games, former North Stanly player and coach Darrell Mauldin won the three-point contest by knocking down 16 three-pointers in one minute.

In the boys game, former North head coach Rudi Heath coached the blue squad and Jackie Burch coached the white team.

Team Heath’s players included game MVP Eric Jackson, Correy Watkins, Bryant Williams, Britt Jernigan, Dewayne Legrande, Ernest “Tick” Mangum, Brandon Scott, Antwan Little, Johnny McLendon, Terell Watkins, Kevin Apperwhite, William Goode, J.R. McRae, Bart Gramling, Chris Bennett, Brandon Cole and Cameron Peoples.

Playing for Team Burch was current head coach Chris Misenheimer, along with Calvin Peoples, Brett Cornwright, Curtis Watkins, Lamar Watkins, Shaun West-brook, Rickey Knotts, Darrell Mauldin, Trent Watkins, David McDonald, Johnny Watkins, Marvin Young, E.J. Richardson, Kamal Watkins, Taylor Thomas, Stedman McDonald, Alex Russell, Donald Peoples, Rodney Cato and Dieza Blue.

Team Heath took the victory 81-70.