The Stanly News and Press (Albemarle, NC)


February 27, 2012

Cox, Craven land on conference academic team

Monday, February 27, 2012 — HIGH POINT — Conference Carolinas announces the 2011-2012 Basketball Academic All-Conference award winners.  League member institutions stress the role of “Academics and Athletics Working Together” and each sport’s Academic All-Conference award winners exemplify this continued league-wide commitment. Pfeiffer University’s Brittany Cox and Sam Craven each made the list for Lady Falcon basketball.

The 2011-2012 Conference Carolinas Basketball Academic All-Conference representatives have been awarded to the following junior and senior student-athletes with a cumulative grade point average of 3.25 or higher on a 4.0 scale in all work completed at their member institution that have played in a conference sponsored sport. The GPA is calculated based on the student-athletes cumulative average through the previous semester and each student-athlete must have attended their member institution for at least one academic year.

Each year the Academic All-Conference Team is released while closing out each regular season before starting the tournament championships. The women will begin tournament play Feb. 27 with quarterfinal games being played at the higher seeded team. The men immediately follow starting tournament play on Feb. 28 with all games being played at the higher seeded team as well. The Conference Champions will be determined Saturday for the women and Sunday for the men.

Women’s Basketball Academic All-Conference Team: Janae Jackson, Barton Col-lege; Mariah White, Barton College; Alyx Ingram, Belmont Abbey College; Paula Regalado, Belmont Abbey College; Porsha Morgan, Erskine College; Brittany Fields, King College; Brittany Watson, King College; Brooke Johnson, King Col-lege; Kalen Collins, King College; Jana Gross, King College; Mikki Oliver, King College; Candace Flowers, Lees-McRae College; Sophie Witte, Lees-McRae College; Kaileigh West, Limestone Col-lege; Lauren Pace, Limestone College; Tia Williams, Limestone College; Whitney Lee, Limestone College; Ashleigh Edwards, North Greenville University; Karoline Stache, North Greenville University; Landrie Fox, North Greenville University; Savannah Newkirk, North Greenville University; Brittany Cox, Pfeiffer University and Samantha Craven, Pfeiffer University.

Text Only
Twitter Updates
Seasonal Content