The Stanly News and Press (Albemarle, NC)

February 19, 2013

West Stanly Middle boys win RRMSAC title, finish undefeated

WSMS boys’ defense leads to title win at West Montgomery Middle

By Charles Curcio, Sports Editor
Stanly News and Press

Thursday, January 17, 2013 — The West Stanly Middle School boys’ basketball team entered Tuesday’s Rocky River Middle School Athletic Conference tournament title game needing a win over host West Montgomery to complete a perfect season under head coach Gordon Burleson.

After beating the buzzer in the first quarter to take a one-point lead, the Colts’ defense shut down the Wolverines for the next period and claimed the 2012 RRMSAC title by the score of 40-21.

Jacob Whitley had a huge night for the Colts (12-0), scoring 15 of his 21 points in the second half.

Jo Leake and Adrian Jones led the Wolverines (8-5) with six points each.

After jumping out to an 8-2 lead with 2:34 left in the first, West Montgomery rallied with a 7-0 run to lead 9-8 with 24 seconds left in the opening quarter.

Justin Baucom gave West Stanly the lead back at the buzzer of the opening quarter, which gave the Colts momentum heading forward.

West Stanly stifled the West Montgomery offense for the next two periods. The Wolverines went 12 minutes on the clock without any points as West Stanly scored 18 straight points and led 28-9 with 45 seconds left in the third quarter before West Montgomery scored again.

“Defense has been our success this year. It’s not always easy but the kids gave great effort at it,” Burleson said.

With three minutes left in the fourth quarter, Burleson took his starters out to the resounding cheers of the West Stanly students and parents in attendance.

Regarding the team’s 12-0 record and winning both the regular-season and tournament titles, Burleson said that the team “was  a pleasure to coach,” adding, “We have good students that work hard at their game. I’m lucky to have players that have talent and work hard. I’m proud of all 13 players.”

WM    9    0    3    9    21

WS    10    7    11    12    40

WM – Leake 6, Little 6, Jones 4, Vinson-Horne 4, Morrison 1

WS – Jacob Whitley 21, Edwards 8, Boone 3, Brown 3, Baucom 2, Sturdivant 2, Izaguirre 1.