The Stanly News and Press (Albemarle, NC)

December 7, 2012

Stanly County athletes earn All-Yadkin Valley Conference selections

By Charles Curcio, Sports Editor

Thursday, December 6, 2012 — The following athletes from schools in Stanly County were named to the All-Conference teams that were officially released this week from the Yadkin Valley Conference for the fall sports seasons.

Boys’ Cross-Country

Quinton Parsons (Gray Stone), Reid Huckabee (Gray Stone), Patrick Parsons (Gray Stone), Jake Long (Gray Stone), David Cowan (Gray Stone).

Runner of the Year Runner-Up:  Josh Rolan (Gray Stone)

Coach of the Year:  Michael Furr (Gray Stone)

Girls’ Cross-Country

Bailey Holshouser (Albemarle), Sarah Goodnight (Gray Stone), Rebecca Brickner (Gray Stone), Madison Hale (Gray Stone), Kelsey Kiser (Gray Stone), Caroline McLeod (Gray Stone), Ashelyn Murphy (South Stanly)

Runner of the Year:  Caroline McLeod - Gray Stone; Runner-Up:  Sarah Goodnight (Gray Stone)

Coach of the Year:  Michael Furr  (Gray Stone)    

Football - Offense

Linemen - Roger Prince Jr. (Albemarle), Quatin Taylor (Albemarle), Paul Rhinehardt (South Stanly),

Receivers - Timmie White (Albemarle), Markez Brown (Albemarle).

Running Backs - Kevin McKinney (Albemarle),  Devante Hamilton (South Stanly).

Quarterback - Deon Christian (Albemarle).

Honorable Mention - Alvin Currie (Albemarle), Brandon Eddins (South Stanly), Anthony Smith (South Stanly),

Football - Defense

Linemen - Lee Autry (Albemarle), Josten Horton (South Stanly)

Linebackers - Fuquan Wiggins (Albemarle), Jordan Starnes (South Stanly).

Defensive Backs - Martinus Crump (Albemarle), Austin Smith (South Stanly),

Honorable Mention - Tiante Leak (Albemarle), Anthony Smith (South Stanly).

Player of the Year:  Deon Christian (Albemarle)    

Coach of the Year:  Danny Akins (Albemarle)

Boys’ Soccer

Anthony Hinson (Albemarle), Julio Cisneros (Albemarle), Ross Plyler (Albemarle), Jose Castandes (Albemarle), Ian Lins (Gray Stone), John Latimer (Gray Stone), Sandi Jusic (Gray Stone), Oger Baza (South Stanly), Jesi Hernandez (South Stanly), Bernardo Granados (South Stanly)

Player of the Year Runner-Up:  Julio Cisneros (Albemarle)    

Girls’ Tennis

Brooke Herlocker (Gray Stone), Caby Styers (Gray Stone), Meghan Hedgepeth (Gray Stone), Jordan Dejaco (Gray Stone), Libby Fowler (Gray Stone), Rachel Poston (Gray Stone).

Player of the Year:  Meghan Hedgepeth (Gray Stone); Runner-Up:  Libby Fowler (Gray Stone)

Coach of the Year Runner-Up:  Jeff Walter (Gray Stone)


Morgan Smet (Albemarle), Akela Branch (Albemarle), Catherine Harward (Gray Stone), Hope Moua (Gray Stone), Darcie Herron (Gray Stone), Taylor Gray (South Stanly),

Honorable Mention: Daje Drake (South Stanly).

Player of the Year Runner-Up:  Akela Branch (Albemarle)

Coach of the Year Runner-Up:  Sheri Efird (Gray Stone)