The Stanly News and Press (Albemarle, NC)

July 17, 2013

11 new candidates file for Stanly County positions

Many familiar faces, several newcomers

Tiffany Thompson

Thursday, July 18, 2013 — As the end of the municipal election filing period inches closer, several election catergories are in need of candidates. Meanwhile, 11 more candidates have filed for office since Monday, bringing the total list of candidates to 40.

Adding their names on Wednesday were David Morgan as a Democratic candidate for mayor of Albemarle, as well as Larry Milano for the at-large seat and Delores Chambers of the West District seat on Badin Town Council.

Peter Edquist has filed for re-election to Misenheimer Village Council, while Marcus L. Mullis is seating a spot on the New London Town Council.

Jerry R. Thomas has added his name to the list of candidates for mayor of Norwood, while Steve Bradley has filed for Norwood Town Council.

In Red Cross, Jerry A. Jordan has filed for re-election to the town council.

In Stanfield, Rick Huggins is seeking the mayoral seat, while Brian Webb and Greg Lucas filed for town council.

In Badin, candidates are needed for the council at-large seat, as well as the west district office.

At least two candidates are are needed for Locust City Concil as there are three seats up for election and only one candidate has filed. At least one more is needed for Misenheimer Village Council and New London Town Council.

In Oakboro, candidates are needed for the mayoral seat, as well as at least two for council positions. At least one candidate is also needed for Richfield Town Council.

Candidate filings will be accepted at the Stanly County Board of Elections Office, 1000 North 1st St., Albemarle, until noon Friday. Fees may be made by cash or check, payable to the Stanly County Board of Elections.

Candidates must be a resident of the municipality and/or district to file for municipal seats.

For the city of Albemarle, current Councilman Ronnie Michael (DEM) and Republicans Chris Bramlett and Joe Speight have filed for the mayoral seat.

Democratic incumbent Judy Holcomb is being challenged by George “Eddy” McDaniel (DEM) and Martha E. Hughes (REP) for the at-large seat, while John R. “Jack” Bell (DEM), Joe Canupp (DEM) and Ed Underwood (REP) have filed for the District 2 seat.

For the District 4 seat, Democratic incumbent Jack Neel and  Republican Chris Whitley have filed.

In Badin, Anne Kelley Harwood filed for the East District seat.

In Locust, incumbent Mayor Steve Huber filed for re-election, while Roger Hypes filed for Locust City Council.

Seeking election to Misenheimer Village Council is Michael “Frizbee” Herron.

Jane Hartley Van Sinderen filed for the mayoral seat in New London.

In Norwood, incumbent Mayor Beverly L. Johnson and challenger James L. Lilly have filed for the mayoral seat.

Henry “Buster” Thompson Sr., David Diggs and Linda Campbell also filed for Norwood Town Council, and Larry McMahon filed for the unexpired term on Norwood council.

In Oakboro, incumbent Ernest Broadway is seeking re-election.

Richard M. “Dickey” Hatley also filed for a seat on Red Cross Town Council.

Two candidates have filed in the Richfield mayoral race. They include incumbent Jim Misenheimer and challenger Floyd S. Wilson. Scottie Heglar filed for Richfield Town Council.

Incumbent Mayor Kevin Barbee is seeking another term as mayor in Stanfield, while James Davis Griffin, who was recently appointed to Stanfield Town Council, filed for election to the seat he now occupies.

To submit story ideas, contact Tiffany Thompson at (704) 982-2121 ext. 24 or