Municipal election filings begin next week

Published 8:58 pm Wednesday, June 27, 2018

Filing for non-partisan municipal offices begins next week.

Municipal filings start at noon July 6, two days after the Independence Day holiday. Filings continue through noon July 20. Candidates for the respective seats face off in the general election in November.

A majority of seats in each municipality is up for election, including those that were appointed for unexpired terms.

Filings fees are set by the respective municipalities at a minimum of $5 and no more than 1 percent of the office’s annual salary.


Recent legislation, HB1091 and sponsored by N.C. Rep. Justin Burr, R-Stanly, changes the scope of the municipal election in Norwood. Instead of five councilors and a non-voting mayor, the town board will be comprised of four commissioners and a voting mayor.

Therefore, two at-large seats for commissioner and the office of mayor are up for election. The office of mayor has remained vacant since the resignation of Beverly Johnson with Mayor pro tem Linda Campbell assuming leadership duties.

The seats of Campbell and commissioners Betty O’Neal and Wes Hartsell, both appointed to the council, expire this year.

All of the seats are four-year terms, including Hartsell’s which was a two-year term before Burr’s legislation.

Filing fee for Norwood mayor is $40 and $20 for town commissioner.


Four seats on the seven-member council in Locust are up for election. Seats for Mayor Steve Huber, and at-large councilors J.C. Burris, Roger Hypes and Mandy Watson (appointed) expire this year.

Term for the mayor is two years while the term for the others is four years.

Filing fee for Locust candidates is $10.


Three of five positions are available in Badin. Four-year terms for at-large Councilman Lawrence Milano, East District Councilwoman Anne Kelley Harwood and West District Councilwoman Deloris Chambers expire this year.

Filing fee in Badin is $6.


Three at-large seats on the five-member board in Misenheimer are set to expire. The four-year terms for councilors Michael Herron, Peter Edquist and Micah Edquist are due for election.

Filing fee in Misenheimer is $5.

New London

New London has three of its five four-year seats expiring. The office of mayor, presently held by Tate Daniels, and two at-large commissioner seats, Marcus L. Mullis and Christy Starnes, expire this year.

Filing fee for New London candidates is $10.


Four elected offices in Oakboro are scheduled to expire. The two-year term for mayor, held by Doug Burgess, and three four-year terms for at-large commissioners, Mike Efird, Ernest Broadway and Georgia Osborne-Harvey, are up for election.

Filing fee for Oakboro candidates is $25.

Red Cross

In Red Cross, two elected offices are available. The four-year terms for at-large councilmen J.J. Curlee and Jerry A. Jordan are set to expire.

Filing fee for Red Cross candidates is $15.


Three of five four-year term offices in Richfield expire this year. The seats for Mayor Terry Deese and at-large commissioners David Titus and Scottie Heglar are up for election.

Richfield’s filing fee is $10.


Three of five offices in Stanfield come available this year. The four-year terms for Mayor Kevin Barbee and at-large commissioners James Griffin and Greg Lucas expire this year.

Filing fee for all Stanfield candidates is $20.

Soil and Water District

The filing period for Soil and Water Conservation District Supervisor ends at noon July 6 just as municipal filings begin. Two four-term seats are set to expire.

So far only incumbents Curtis Furr and Terry Blalock have filed for re-election for Soil and Water.

Filing fee for Soil and Water is $5.

Contact Ritchie Starnes at 704-754-5076 or at