Five candidates file Wednesday for Stanfield

Published 6:51 pm Wednesday, July 18, 2018

A number of candidates filed Wednesday to run in the town of Stanfield.

Although candidates in Stanfield had been slow to start, five candidates offered their signatures to the Board of Elections as hopefuls for two at-large seats on the town council.

Incumbent James Griffin, Wally Crawford, Charles L. Connell, James Kluttz and Karen (Faye) Love filed to run for elected office.

Two days earlier incumbent Mayor Kevin Barbee filed for re-election.

Also on Wednesday Betty Harrison filed to run alongside Larry McMahon and Betty O’Neal for two at-large seats in Norwood.

In the race for mayor, Linda Campbell and Harold Thompson are vying for the seat.

Bobby Watkins filed Wednesday to run as an at-large commissioner for Oakboro, joining incumbent Mike Efird in a race for three seats.

Lisa Cratty previously filed to run for mayor.

Incumbent Mayor Terry R. Deese was the first to file to run in the town of Richfield. Two at-large commissioner seats remain up for grabs.

Mayor Tate Daniels signed up for an re-election bid Tuesday in the town of New London. Incumbents Christy Starnes and Marcus L. Mullis have already filed.

Deadline for filing is noon Friday.