BOE extends filing deadline for Richfield

Published 6:40 pm Friday, July 20, 2018

Candidates were scarce in Richfield, prompting a five-day filing extension for the town.

No one raced to file at the Board of Elections (BOE) on the last day to do so. Noon Friday marked the filing deadline for the nonpartisan municipal elections with no one enlisting a candidacy for town commissioner in Richfield.

Consequently, the filing period for the town will be extended until noon Wednesday per state law. This extension only applies to the office of commissioner for the town of Richfield.

If no one filed by the extended deadline, future candidates for commissioners will be determined by write-in during the election. Or, an appointment could be made at a later date, according to the BOE.

Only incumbent Mayor Terry R. Deese signed to run again in Richfield.

Richfield has a history of having difficulty keeping the council at full service. The town has had a vacancy on the board after the resignation of Scottie Heglar.

Richfield’s other commissioner, David Titus, was originally appointed to serve after the sudden resignation of Mary Ann Fisher.

Incumbent Jack J. Curlee is the only candidate to file for one of two at-large seats for the Red Cross Town Council.

Because at least one candidate filed for commissioner in Red Cross there will be no extension for the town. Any other candidates for commissioner will depend on a write-in candidate or an appointment after the election.

A few threw their hats in the ring Thursday. Among those was J.R. Mount in Locust. He joins incumbents J.C. Burris, Mandy Watson (appointed) and Roger Hypes in the race for the at-large seat in Locust.

Locust Mayor Steve Huber is unopposed in a re-election bid.

Also on Thursday incumbent Micah Edquist joined fellow incumbent and father Peter Edquist and Michael (Frizbee) Herron for the three at-large seats in Misenheimer.

A crowded field for town commissioner in Norwood added another candidate Thursday when Keith Morgan filed. He joins Larry McMahon, Betty Harrison and appointed Betty O’Neil as the foursome vie for two at-large seats on the town board.

Linda Campbell and Harold Thompson square off in the mayoral race for Norwood.

Oakboro is assured a change at mayor after incumbent Doug Burgess failed to seek re-election.

On Thursday Joyce H. Little filed to run for Oakboro mayor, joining Lisa Cratty who filed earlier.

Incumbent Mike Efird is the only Oakboro commissioner seeking re-election among three at-large seats. Thursday Bud Smith joined the fray along with Bobby Watkins.

A logjam of candidates in Stanfield filed Wednesday. Incumbent James Griffin is joined by Wally Crawford, Charles L. Connell, James Kluttz and Karen (Faye) Love for two at-large seats on the town board.

Stanfield Mayor Kevin N. Barbee is unopposed.

All incumbents filed again in New London. Mayor Tate Daniels and commissioners Christy Starnes and Marcus L. Mullis will appear on the November ballot.

In Badin, incumbent Larry Milano and Phillip Burdge face off for an at-large seat on the town council.

Anne Kelley Harwood is unopposed for the town’s east district and Deloris (Dee) Chambers has no opposition in the west district.

The mayor in Badin is chosen among the councilors every two years.

Other incumbents choosing not to seek re-election include Georgia Osborne Harvey and Ernest Broadway in Oakboro, Greg Lucas in Stanfield and Jerry Jordan in Red Cross.

Contact Ritchie Starnes at 704-754-5076 or