Gray Stone tennis posts critical win over North Stanly

Published 4:40 pm Wednesday, September 12, 2018

North’s Faith Wang fought into a third-set tiebreaker to earn a win for the Comets at No. 2 singles in the team’s home match against Gray Stone. (Photo by Charles Curcio)

On Sept. 6, the Gray Stone women’s tennis team traveled to North Stanly for a battle between two teams who were undefeated in Yadkin Valley Conference.

Gray Stone opened the season with five wins in a row, losing to Cox Mill in a non-conference matchup Aug. 23. The Knights then won four YVC matches in a row heading into the match with North.

The Comets were 6-0 heading into the match — all in conference play.

The two teams split singles but the visiting Knights swept doubles to improve to 9-1 on the season and 9-0 in YVC play with the 6-3 win.

Mia Taggert won her third-seeded match in straight sets in the Knights’ road win at North Stanly. (Photo by Charles Curcio).


  1. Emma Bost (GS) d. Andi Billingsley 6-3, 6-3
  2. Faith Wang (NS) d. Lilley Brookeshire  7-6 (7-4), 0-6, 1-0 (10-3).
  3. Mia Taggart (GS) d. Elithe Hudson 6-3, 6-1
  4. Ella Hedenskog (GS) d. Josie Luther 6-2, 6-0
  5. Katie Earnhardt (NS) d. Kate VanHorn 3-6, 6-4, 1-0 (11-9)
  6. Vanna Vang (NS) d. Jordan Loflin 6-3, 6-0


  1. Bost / Brookshire (GS) d. Hudson / Wang 10-2
  2. Taggart / Hedenskog (GS) d. Billingsley / Luther, 10-4

    Gray Stone’s top seed, sophomore Emma Bost, fires a backhand in her straight-sets win at North. (Photo by Charles Curcio)

  3. Alexa Bolin / Jenna Robinson (GS) d. Earnhardt / Vang, 8-4

    Ella Hedenskog captured a singles win in the fourth-seeded matchup in the Knights’ win. (Photo by Charles Curcio)

About Charles Curcio

Charles Curcio has served as the sports editor of the Stanly News & Press for more than 16 years and has written numerous news and feature storeis as well. He was awarded the NCHSAA Tim Stevens Media Representative of the Year and named CNHI Sports Editor of the Year in 2014. He has also won an award from Boone Newspapers, and has won four North Carolina Press Association awards.

email author More by Charles