Students, teachers honored at School Board meeting

Published 10:59 am Wednesday, June 5, 2019

There was a celebratory feel to Tuesday’s Stanly County School Board meeting, which was standing room only as several students and staff members were recognized for their achievements throughout the year.

The top-ranked West Stanly High School softball team, which defeated Eastern Randolph over the weekend to win the 2A State Championship, was recognized and each young lady received a rose and a plaque.

Easton Emery, a kindergarten student at Richfield Elementary, was one of 13 students throughout the state (out of more than 4,000 who applied) who won the N.C. Farm to School Calendar Art Contest. His artwork, of roosters in front of a farmhouse, will be featured in the March page of next year’s N.C. Farm to School Calendar.

Richfield Elementary’s Easton Emery was one of 13 students in the state chosen to have his drawing appear in next year’s N.C. Farm to School Calendar.

The Superintendent Students of the Year were recognized during the meeting and they include: Albemarle High’s Meghan Krol; Albemarle Middle’s Emma Brown; Aquadale Elementary’s Anna Morgan; Badin Elementary’s Nova Thao; Central Elementary’s Rachel Lothakoun; East Albemarle Elementary’s Donovan Arriaga-Aviles; Endy Elementary’s Louis Chaney; Locust Elementary’s John Owen Tucker; Millingport Elementary’s Riley Jewell Stirewalt; North Stanly High’s Hope Doby; North Stanly Middle’s Jasmine Glenn; Norwood Elementary’s Lawson Blake; Oakboro Choice STEM’s Vanessa Cordova-Noyola; Richfield Elementary’s Lilly Medlin; South Stanly High’s Milli’On Colson; South Stanly Middle’s Mattie Poulos; Stanfield Elementary’s Saylor Edwards; Stanly Academy’s Crysta Kay Kittredge; Stanly Early College’s Shane Vang; West Stanly High’s Gretchen Castelloe; and West Stanly Middle’s Nyah Burris.

The winning teams that competed in the SCS robotics competition, which took place in early May, were recognized: First place was Central Elementary, second place Norwood Elementary and third place Locust Elementary, along with Endy Elementary, which won the teamwork award, and Aquadale, which won for best T-shirt design.

Beth Pinto, a counselor at West Stanly Middle, was recognized as the Certified Support Staff of the Year, while Jason Crayton, student resource officer at West Stanly High, was recognized as the Classified Support Staff of the Year.

Teachers who finished their third year of teaching and will be getting a continuing teaching license were recognized. They include: Lisa Allen, Kristi Christenbury, Deanna Dennis, Emily Dougherty, Alexis Fox, Kelsie Hatley, Kolby Hunt, Elizabeth Laney, Nikki Laster, Meredith Martin, Laura McCammon, Rebecca Nelson, Jason Polk, Toby Richardson, Danielle Rushing, Jada Smith, Leilani Snavely, Emily Stallings and Jerry Lee Wiles.

Mandy Melton, SCS Child Nutrition director, received a check on behalf of the school system from Kelloggs for $5,000, based on a Kelloggs promotional program Menu Explorers, that SCS participated in last year. SCS won one of the five awards given out across the nation. The money will go towards expanding the system’s child nutrition department.

About Chris Miller

Chris Miller has been with the SNAP since January 2019. He is a graduate of NC State and received his Master's in Journalism from the University of Maryland. He previously wrote for the Capital News Service in Annapolis, where many of his stories on immigration and culture were published in national papers via the AP wire.

email author More by Chris