Commissioners appoint five new EDC members, approve new business development grant

Published 10:00 pm Monday, August 12, 2019

The Stanly County Board of Commissioners nominated and appointed five people to the Economic Development Commission board Monday evening.

Randy Parker was nominated and approved by the board for District 1; Steve Bradley was reappointed for District 2; Wes Morgan was reappointed for District 3; Greg Underwood was reappointed for District 4; and Dr. Jeff James was reappointed for District 5.

The terms expired Aug. 6.

Even with the new appointments, the EDC board currently has only one woman who has been appointed.

The commissioners also approved a five-year business development grant between the county and an existing fastener manufacturer in Stanfield.

County Manager Andy Lucas said that Stanfield must also approve of the grant before the name of the manufacturer can be revealed.

The company will invest an estimated $1.1 million and create approximately five new jobs in the county, according to EDC Director Candice Lowder.

The council also honored Matt Barringer, Curtis Furr and Reggie Medlin, who each received lifetime honorary board memberships for their service as members of the Friends of the Agri-Civic Center.

About Chris Miller

Chris Miller has been with the SNAP since January 2019. He is a graduate of NC State and received his Master's in Journalism from the University of Maryland. He previously wrote for the Capital News Service in Annapolis, where many of his stories on immigration and culture were published in national papers via the AP wire.

email author More by Chris