SCS announces Teacher, Principal of the Year, other honors

Published 10:46 am Monday, June 15, 2020

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

During a ceremony streamed live Wednesday afternoon, Stanly County Schools announced several end-of-year awards, including Teacher and Principal of the Year.

“Today is a celebration,” said Lynn Plummer, director of curriculum and MTSS support. “What better way to end the last day of the 2019-2020 school year than by recognizing some of our very own dedicated Stanly County Schools employees.”

The five finalists for teacher of the year were Karen Brown, who teaches graphics and design at West Stanly High; Tina Carter, who teaches drafting at North Stanly High; Amy Crisco, who teaches health science at Albemarle High; Emily Furr, fourth-grade ELA and social studies teacher at Endy Elementary; and Tamara Furr, exceptional children’s teacher at Stanly Stanly Middle.

The winner, announced by 2018-2019 Teacher of the Year Michael Curlee of South Stanly High, was Carter.

“Tina Carter is nothing short of phenomenal,” Superintendent Dr. Jeff James said. “Her love and passion for teaching almost beams from her face as she engages and challenges students to learn skills they will use for life.”

The other teachers nominated included Sandy Brown from Albemarle Middle; Deanna Dennis from Aquadale Elementary; Stacey Larson from Badin Elementary; Linda McCormick from Central Elementary; Bobbi Craig from East Albemarle; Dawn Medlin from Locust Elementary; Tricia Yow from Millingport Elementary; Erin Gardiner from North Stanly Middle; Antionette Baldwin from Norwood Elementary; Amanda Yow from Oakboro Choice STEM; Abigayle Helms from Richfield Elementary; Sharon Huggins from South Stanly High; Kelli Noel from Stanly Academy; Josh Smith from Stanly Early College; Amanda Hranek from Stanly STEM Early College; Darlene Haggerty from Stanfield Elementary; and Lorrie Bell from West Stanly Middle.

The five finalists for Principal of the Year were Megan DePasquale of Millingport Elementary, Jennifer Huneycutt of West Stanly Middle, Erik Johnson of East Albemarle Elementary, Chris Jonassen of Albemarle Middle and Damon Rhodes of Badin Elementary.

The winner, announced by 2018-2019 Principal of the Year Emily Shaw of Albemarle High, was Huneycutt.

“Jennifer represents our principal group well,” said James. “WSMS has performed well above the state for numerous years. Her work ethic and passion for her students, staff and community are unparalleled in the profession.”

The five finalists for Assistant Principal of the Year were Jodi Autry of South Stanly High, Jennifer Flowe of North Stanly Middle, Natasha Krueger of West Stanly High, Andrea Russell of Stanly STEM Early College and Katrice Thomas of Albemarle High.

The winner, announced by 2018-2019 Assistant Principal of the Year Kristen Sides of South Stanly Middle, was Thomas.

“Katrice Thomas at AHS, while quiet, works hard to ensure AHS offers a great education to every child,” James said. “Her passion for the students is inspiring.”

The four finalists for Bus Driver of the Year were Pam Smith of the Albemarle District, Amanda Starling of the North Stanly District, Gwendolyn Boulware of the South Stanly District and Vivian Furr of the West Stanly District.

The winner, announced by SCS Director of Transportation Mike Lambert, was Boulware.

“Our bus drivers are often the first and last person from the system a child sees each day,” James said. “Gwen personifies the importance of this.”

About Chris Miller

Chris Miller has been with the SNAP since January 2019. He is a graduate of NC State and received his Master's in Journalism from the University of Maryland. He previously wrote for the Capital News Service in Annapolis, where many of his stories on immigration and culture were published in national papers via the AP wire.

email author More by Chris