Stanly Community College confers degrees during drive-thru ceremonies

Published 7:06 pm Thursday, June 18, 2020

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

Stanly Community College celebrated the graduates’ special day by holding drive-thru ceremonies June 8 through June 11.

In an effort to maintain social distancing standards due to the COVID-19 pandemic, SCC had four days of drive-thru style ceremonies in parking lot G on the Albemarle campus.

One-hundred and twenty-five graduates out of the 398 eligible graduates walked across a stage and received their credential as faculty, staff, family and friends cheered them on.

SCC officials presenting the candidates with their degree, diploma and/or certificates included SCC President Dr. John Enamait and SCC Vice President of Student Success and Dean of Students Dr. Myra Furr.

“On behalf of our Board of Trustees, faculty and staff, I would like to congratulate our graduating class of 2020,” Enamait said. “Your perseverance and resilience during this challenging time of COVID-19 shows the incredible strength that you have. Thank you for choosing SCC to achieve your educational goals and we wish you much success as you enter the workforce or pursue your education further.”

Graduation ceremonies are considered a rite of passage, marking a transition from one stage in a student’s life to another.

“We are proud of all of our students and thrilled to share their graduation experiences with their families and friends,” Furr said.

Many graduates received special graduation awards.

Erika Dabbs, a Respiratory Therapy graduate from Locust, received the Annie Ruth Kelley Leadership Award.

Erika Dabbs, Annie Ruth Kelley Leadership Award winner

The Annie Ruth Kelley Leadership Award was created in 2001 to honor the service and leadership of the first Chairperson of the College Board of Trustees and the first woman to chair a community college board in this state.

Kelley served for 28 years as a college trustee. In keeping with the tenets of Kelley’s record of service, this award is presented to the graduating student who has excelled in providing leadership to fellow students, the college and the community.

Michael Maness, a Criminal Justice Technology graduate from Indian Trail, received the Dianne H. Burton Community Service Award that was created in 2006 to honor the service of the past College Registrar.

Michael Maness, Dianne H. Burton Community Service Award winner

This award is presented to the graduating student that has contributed to the community through service learning.

Brittany Neal, a 2019 Associate Degree Nursing graduate from Locust, received the Outstanding Alumni Award.

Brittany Neal, Outstanding Alumni Award winner

Each year one or more Stanly Community College alumni are recognized for their contributions to the college, the community and their profession. Eligibility for this award requires that the student must have participated at the college as either a curriculum, continuing education, or basic skills/literacy student.

The SCC Executive Leadership Team then selects the award recipient out of the eligible nominations.

Amber Lynn Gloege, a Welding Technology graduate from Oakboro, received the Edward J. Snyder Jr., Exceptional Scholars Award.

Amber Lynn Gloege, Edward J. Snyder Jr. Exceptional Scholars Award winner

This award was named in honor of the second chair of the college’s Board of Trustees.

He was a member of the State Board of Community Colleges and the first chairman of the College Foundation, a position he held for more than three decades.

His support of the college provided scholarships and other resources for SCC for nearly four decades.

An award was established in 2002 in honor of his services.

To qualify, a student must be nominated by a faculty or staff member, have at least a 3.0 grade point average, submit an essay and then complete an interview with a selection committee.

Jennie Copeland, an Associate in Arts graduate from Wadesboro, received the Edward J. Snyder Jr., Exceptional Scholars Award and was nominated for the North Carolina Community College Academic Excellence Award (NCCCS).

Jennie Copeland, Edward J. Snyder Jr. Exceptional Scholars Award winner

One student from each of the 58 North Carolina Community Colleges receive this award for academic excellence.

In order to be eligible for this award, students must be currently enrolled, must have completed at least 12 semester hours in an associate degree program, and must have a cumulative grade point average of no less than 3.25.

Other award recipients include David Austin, an Adult High School graduate from Albemarle, received the Shirley Dennis Basic Skills Outstanding Student Award that was established in 2012 in memory of Shirley Diane Dennis.

This award recognizes an exemplary high school equivalency or adult high school graduate who, while overcoming challenges, remains committed to education and demonstrates leadership skills among peers.

James Harrison Shores Jr., a Criminal Justice Technology graduate from Thomasville, received the Edward J. Snyder, Jr., Exceptional Scholars Award.

Amber Nicole Ivester, a Cosmetology Technology graduate from Charlotte, received the Jerrie Sue Moffitt-Morton Award.

The recipient for this award demonstrates the ability to overcome adversity, maintain integrity and keep clients’ needs as their priority.

The recipient will be known for putting others before self while also possessing a fighting spirit when faced with life’s negative circumstances.

Venessa Sue Youance, an Associate Degree Nursing graduate from Matthews, received the Dr. George E. Eddins Jr., Award of Distinction in Allied Health Education.

This award is named in honor of an Albemarle physician whose support of the SCC Foundation have allowed hundreds of students to attend college.

This recognition was established in 2003 and is awarded to an Allied Health student who must have at least a 3.5 GPA, demonstrated leadership ability and a record of service to the community.

Ka Lee, a Radiography Technology graduate from Norwood, was the SCC nominee for the NCCCS/Gov. Robert W. Scott Student Leadership Award.

In 2004, the North Carolina Association of Community College Presidents created the award as a way to recognize student leadership on a statewide level.

Scott served as the state’s chief executive from 1968-1972 and then was president of the community college system from 1983-1995. This is an award designed to highlight outstanding curriculum student leadership and service.

Jeremiah Blayton, a Computer Integrated Machining graduate from Norwood, was the SCC nominee for the NCCCS/Dallas Herring Achievement Award.

Created in 2010, this award is given in memory of Herring’s work for the North Carolina Community Colleges.

The award is bestowed annually upon a current or former student who best embodies Herring’s philosophy of “taking people where they are and carrying them as far as they can go.”

Each community college is encouraged to submit nominees for this award to the North Carolina Community College System Office.

Also recognized during graduation were recipients of the Stanly Community College Student Leadership Awards.

Receiving college medallions for their contributions as leaders in the SCC student organization area were Keshia Dowe of New London, Human Services Club; Michael Harrington of Albemarle, Electronics Club; Kimberly Gomez of Albemarle, Phi Beta Lambda; Rebekah Lambert of Locust, Multicultural Club; and Monica Chang of Albemarle, who was also the Phi Beta Lambda state officer for 2019-20.