Filing for municipal offices begins noon Monday

Published 5:01 pm Thursday, July 2, 2020

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

Filing for municipal offices in Stanly County will begin at noon Monday and will run until noon July 17.

Filing for Soil and Water Conservation District Supervisor began June 8 and will last until noon Monday. The incumbent is Aaron Burleson and the fee is $5.

The filing for the offices will be accepted at the Stanly County Board of Elections in Stanly County Commons or by mail.

Although walk-ins are welcome, Kimberly Blackwelder, director of elections for the county, encourages people to call ahead to schedule an appointment, which will help prevent people from congregating inside the office as they wait. She said the filing process takes about 30 minutes.

There are numerous municipal seats up for election. The list of positions are below. They are each four-year terms unless otherwise stated.


The election method was changed to non-partisan plurality for the first time last October.

  • Mayor ($20 filing fee)–Incumbent is Ronnie Michael
  • Two Council At-Large positions ($10)– Incumbents are Chris Bramlett and Martha Sue Hall
  • Council District 1 ($10)–Incumbent is Dexter Townsend
  • Council District 3 ($10)–Incumbent is William Sherrill Aldridge


  • Two Council At-Large positions ($6 filing fee)–Incumbents are Ernest Peoples and Gary Lowder


  • Mayor ($10 filing fee)–Incumbent is Steve Huber. Position is for two years.
  • Four Council At-Large positions ($10)–Incumbents are Larry Baucom, Michael Haigler, Harry Fletcher and Rusty Efird


  • Two Council At-Large positions ($5 filing fee)–Incumbents are Michael F. Burrage and Jeffrey G. Watson

New London

  • Three Commissioner At-Large positions ($10 filing fee)–Incumbents are Bill Peak, Johnny W. Chestnut, Jr. and Dan Phillips


  • Mayor ($40 filing fee)–Incumbent is Harold Thompson
  • Two Council At-Large positions ($20)–Incumbents are Robbie Cohen and James Lilly


  • Mayor ($25 filing fee)–Incumbent is Joyce Little. Position is for two years.
  • Two Commissioner At-Large positions ($25)–Incumbents are Chris N. Huneycutt and Latoya Jackson

Red Cross

  • Mayor ($15 filing fee)–Incumbent is Kelly Brattain
  • Two Council At-Large positions ($15)–One is vacant and the other incumbent is Trina Plowman


  • Three Commissioner At-Large positions ($10 filing fee)–Incumbents are Jim Misenheimer, Terry Wayne Almond and Jayantilal ‘Jay’ Patel


  • Three Commissioner At-Large positions ($20 filing fee)–Incumbents are Karen Faye Love, Larry Sides and Jerry Williams


About Chris Miller

Chris Miller has been with the SNAP since January 2019. He is a graduate of NC State and received his Master's in Journalism from the University of Maryland. He previously wrote for the Capital News Service in Annapolis, where many of his stories on immigration and culture were published in national papers via the AP wire.

email author More by Chris