One race has no candidates as filing concludes

Published 2:59 pm Friday, July 17, 2020

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

Filing ended for municipal elections at noon Friday, except in one western Stanly town.

With no one filing for the office of mayor, the filing period has been extended for the Red Cross mayor position until noon Wednesday.

Filings are accepted at the Stanly County Board of Elections office at 1000 N. First St., Suite 16, Albemarle. There is a $15 filing fee for the mayoral race.

For Albemarle mayor, incumbent Ronnie Michael faces no opposition this fall.

Incumbents Dexter Townsend for District 1 and Bill Aldridge for District 3 are also unopposed.

Two at-large council member seats are available. In the running are incumbents Chris Bramlett and Martha Sue Hall, former councilman Benton Dry and newcomers T.J. Morgan and Matt Tracy.

Incumbent Gary Lowder filed for re-election to Badin Town Council. Another council seat will be settled by write-in vote, according to Kimberly Blackwelder, director of Stanly County Board of Elections.

Incumbents Larry Baucom, Rusty Efird, Harry Fletcher and Michael Haigler and newcomer Barry Sims will vie for four spots on the Locust City Council.

Incumbent Steve Huber is unopposed in his bid for Locust mayor.

Incumbents Michael Burrage and Jeffrey G. Watson filed for the two spots on the Misenheimer Village Council.

Incumbents Bill Peak, Johnny W. Chestnut Jr. and Dan Phillips and newcomer Richard Kimmer will vie for three spots on the New London Town Board.

Incumbent Harold Thompson and Linda Campbell will face off for the position of Town of Norwood mayor.

Incumbents James Lilly and Robbie Cohen and newcomers Darryl Gerald, Tracy Harris and Wes Hartsell vie for two spots on the Town of Norwood Council.

Incumbent Joyce Little is unopposed in her bid for Town of Oakboro mayor.

Incumbents Chris Huneycutt and Latoya Jackson will seek re-election against Lanny Hathcock and Jesse Lewis for Town of Oakboro Board.

Incumbent Trina Plowman and Melvin Poole are running for the two at-large spots on the Town of Red Cross Council.

Incumbents Terry Almond and “Jay” Patel, and Scott Bradley, Barry Byrd and Christy Necaise are competing for the three at-large Town of Richfield commission seats.

Incumbents Karen Love, Larry Sides and Jerry Williams are seeking re-election to the three at-large spots on the Town of Stanfield Board.

The general election is Nov. 3.