SNAP BACK IN TIME – August 1980, 1965

Published 9:22 am Saturday, August 8, 2020

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

Friday, Aug. 8, 1980


Construction of Oakboro’s $2.5 million waste treatment plant was proceeding according to schedule.

Savings & Loan

First Colony Savings & Loan Association planned to begin operations in a mobile unit on the N.C. Highway 24-27 Bypass in Albemarle by the end of August.

Contracts for the construction of a permanent building were to be let soon, with completion anticipated by the following spring.

First Colony had purchased an .8 acre tract next to the Pizza Hut for its permanent location.


G.A. “Jake” Rudisill was looking forward to his attendance as a delegate to the Democratic National Convention in New York City.

Rudisill was an official from the Eighth District who planned to support Jimmy Carter is his bid for reelection for president.

Friday, Aug. 6, 1965

Speech Therapy

Lois Watson of Albemarle had been employed by the County Board of Education as the first speech therapist in the Stanly County Schools.

She would be able to work with 100 students in the county schools. Since there were about 600 who needed speech therapy and assistance, a careful screening survey would be undertaken to decide where her efforts could be of greatest benefit to the most children.

Federal Pacific

Workmen were busy preparing foundation for the new Federal Pacific Electric plant being constructed between Albemarle and New London off U.S. Highway 52. When constructed the structure would contain 85,000 square feet of floor space.


In a ceremony at Presbyterian Hospital School of Nursing, Wanda Holt of Albemarle, daughter of Mr. and Mrs. Silas Holt, had been tapped into Nursing’s Honor Society, SECAS.


Claude Whitley had been named chairman of the board of directors of Ridgecrest Volunteer Fire Department.

Other officers were Glenn Lowder, secretary, and Howard Wooten, treasurer. Alvin Ritchie had been named fire chief of the department. He would be assisted by the following captains: Ben Hatley, Bobby Hatley, Sherman Tucker and Clinton Harkey.