Taylor continues on NASFM board

Published 4:37 pm Thursday, August 20, 2020

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

At its annual membership meeting July 28, the principal membership of the National Association of State Fire Marshals (NASFM) elected five State Fire Marshals to serve two-year terms on the Association’s Board, announced Jim Narva, NASFM executive director.

Brian Taylor of Albemarle is the N.C. state fire marshal.

The principal membership of the National Association of State Fire Marshals elected Director of the Division of Florida State Fire Marshal Julius Halas to serve a second two-year term as president of the association. Halas has served in the fire service for more than 45 years and has served in various capacities on the Board since 2013.

“I truly appreciate the support and confidence of my colleagues in electing me to serve them for a second term as president,” said Halas. “Working together with the exceptional Board and dedicated staff, I’m certain we will continue to effectively champion fire and life safety throughout the nation.”

The NASFM membership also elected as its vice president Michael Desrochers, executive director of the Vermont Division of Fire Safety, and Butch Browning, Louisiana State Fire Marshal, to serve as secretary/treasurer. Desrochers has served on the Board of Directors since 2016. Browning has served on the Board since 2010, including serving as president from 2014-2018.

Mike Morgan, director of the Colorado Division of Fire Prevention and Control, was re-elected to join sitting board directors Brian Geraci, Maryland State Fire Marshal, and Brian Taylor, North Carolina State Fire Marshal. They will be joined by Matt Perez, Illinois State Fire Marshal, who was elected to his first term as director.

“As former Wyoming State Fire Marshal and NASFM Board member, I am excited for the association’s prospects as we work through these challenging times,” said NASFM Executive Director Jim Narva. “The membership has selected strong leaders with vision and energy. I look forward to working alongside them as NASFM continues our leadership in advocating for fire prevention and life safety.”