Many local candidates win elections running unopposed

Published 9:10 am Thursday, November 5, 2020

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

Story by Charles Curcio and Chris Miller

There were several municipal elections Tuesday night which featured candidates, many of them incumbents, who ran unopposed for numerous offices across the county.

Scott Efird rejoins the Stanly County Board of Commissioners after running unopposed for an at-large seat on the board.

The Stanly County Board of Education has two new members who ran unopposed, with retired doctor Rufus Lefler winning an at-large seat, while former South Stanly teacher and wrestling coach Bill Sorensen running unopposed won District 2. Incumbents Glenda Gibson (District 3) and Vicky Watson (District 4) also ran unopposed and will return to the school board.

In Badin, Gary Lowder won a seat on the town council unopposed.

Locust Mayor Steve Huber and Oakboro Mayor Joyce Little each won an additional term in the November election running unopposed for their respective towns.

Pat Nadolski was elected to serve as a Superior Court Judge for District 20A, which encompasses Stanly and Montgomery counties.

For Misenheimer, incumbents Michael Burrage and Jeffrey Watson both were reelected to the village council.

For Red Cross, incumbent Kelly Brattain was reelected as mayor.

Also in Red Cross, Melvin Poole and Trina Plowman both were elected to the town council.

Incumbents Larry Sides, Karen Faye Love and Jerry Williams were all reelected to the Stanfield Board of Commissioners.