SCC PBL picks up honors in online conference

Published 10:17 am Friday, January 8, 2021

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

Phi Beta Lambda (PBL) representatives of Stanly Community College (SCC) participated in the North Carolina Fall Leadership Development Conference and received recognition in several awards categories.

Usually held over a weekend, the conference was held online because of COVID-19 restrictions. Organizing the afternoon meeting was Rick Gardner, a Stanly Community College graduate who now serves as conference director for the state PBL organization.

Members from chapters throughout the state registered to hear speakers, the results of various activities held prior to the online meeting, and presentations by state officers, including State Secretary Allison Smith, an SCC graduate who is now studying at Pfeiffer University.

Vyktoria Iverson is filmed introducing a video presentation on the chapter that won first place at the state Phi Beta Lambda fall conference. UNC-Chapel Hill and Durham Technical Community College received second and third places, respectively.

Highlighting the 2020 Future Business Leaders of America-Phi Beta Lambda, Inc. theme “Aspire” were speakers Dr. LaTonya Steele, from Durham Technical Community College and the 2020 state Adviser of the Year award recipient, and Chad Nichols, an adviser at Rowan-Cabarrus Community College, whose comments led into a special recognition of Teresa Parker, who retired from Barton College in the fall, having served more than 40 years as a PBL chapter adviser.

The First Place Chapter Display award, done as a video presentation, was won by Stanly Community College, followed by the University of North Carolina Chapel Hill and Durham Technical Community College. Presenting on behalf of SCC was Vyktoria Iverson.

The NCPBL “NON-Trivia” Contest on state and national information on the organization was won by Asheville-Buncombe Technical Community College, with UNC Chapel Hill and SCC coming in second and third, respectively.

Members of the SCC team were Leela Jarrett of Albemarle, Hannah Barnhill of Midland and Vyktoria Iverson of Albemarle.

UNC Chapel Hill won first place for chapter membership, and SCC won first place for membership affiliation in the NCPBL Professional Division-Foundation.

Western Carolina University won the design contest for the 2020 NCPBL commemorative pin.

The meeting concluded with the announcement of Barton College, Catawba College, Durham Technical Community College and Stanly Community College as “Gold Star Chapters” for completing a list of fall goals set by the NCPBL State Executive Council.

Phi Beta Lambda membership is open to all SCC students interested in developing skills in business, professionalism and leadership.