Oakboro Police arrests two for auto theft

Published 4:45 pm Monday, March 1, 2021

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

Three local law enforcement agencies came together Saturday morning to make arrests in regards to two stolen vehicles which led to drug and theft charges.

Oakboro Police, along with the Stanly County Sheriff’s Office and the Norwood Police Department, combined efforts to locate two stolen vehicles while also arresting two suspects on multiple charges.

Oakboro Police Sgt. Jason Eschert located the vehicle in the area of South Main Street and West Thomas Avenue, along with four subjects: James Dye, Samantha Drake, Brianna Meadows and Aaron Meadows.

Dye, 20, was charged with felony larceny of a motor vehicle and possession of a stolen motor vehicle with a $5,000 bond.

Drake was charged with larceny of motor vehicle parts and possession of drug paraphernalia, including a pipe used to smoke methamphetamines, bags with meth residue, used needles and burnt spoons. She received a $20,000 bond.

Both of the Meadows received citations for possession of drug paraphernalia.

While waiting for sheriff’s deputies to arrive, Stanly Communications received a call about another subject, Seth Strother, walking down St. Martin Road. Once Deputy Dean Crayton arrived, Eschert went down St. Martin Road and detained the subject, who said a second stolen vehicle was at the previous location.

More deputies later arrived, along with Sheriff Jeff Crisco, and Norwood Police Department’s K-9 officer, Ajax, and Oakboro Fire and Rescue.

Strother received two felony charges, including larceny of a vehicle and a felony probations violations along with possession of a stolen vehicle. He received bonds totalling $15,000.

Oakboro Police Chief T.J. Smith said the investigation is proceeding and more charges will probably be filed in the future.

About Charles Curcio

Charles Curcio has served as the sports editor of the Stanly News & Press for more than 16 years and has written numerous news and feature storeis as well. He was awarded the NCHSAA Tim Stevens Media Representative of the Year and named CNHI Sports Editor of the Year in 2014. He has also won an award from Boone Newspapers, and has won four North Carolina Press Association awards.

email author More by Charles