Yadkin Valley Conference releases spring season All-Conference squads

Published 5:37 pm Thursday, June 9, 2022

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

The Yadkin Valley Conference released its selections to the media this week for its All-Conference selections for spring sports.

Below are the selections representing high school programs in Stanly.

YVC Student-Athlete of the Year: 

Male: Ali Currie (Albemarle)

Female: Jacy Noble (South Stanly)

Academic All-Conference

Albemarle: Ali Currie, Catie Clayton.

Gray Stone Day: Jobey Swaringen, Stephanie Varbanov.

North Stanly: Nic Melton, Karsyn Chance.

South Stanly: Lucas Lefler, Jacy Noble.

Men’s Golf: 

Player of the Year: Luke Dennis (South Stanly)

Coach of the Year: Doug Smith (South Stanly)

Gray Stone: Wyatt Reeder, Jacob Trainer.

North Stanly: Jerry Almond.

South Stanly: Luke Dennis, Jacob Turner, Dustin Hurley, Davis Wright.

Honorable Mention: Nathan Wetmore (Gray Stone), Carson Morris (North Stanly), K.J. Cooper (North Stanly), Reid Smith (South Stanly), Noah Miller (South Stanly).

Men’s Tennis

Gray Stone: John Sentilles.

North Stanly: Kaleb Burrage, Ameno Morgan.

South Stanly: Caleb Lefler, Bennett Shelton, Ethan Hatley, Lucas Lefler, Cohen Whitley.

Honorable Mention: Judson Busch (North Stanly), Ethan Hopkins (South Stanly).


Player of the Year: Nic Melton (North Stanly).

Pitcher of the Year: Cole Smith (North Stanly).

Coach of the Year: Scott Clemons (North Stanly).

Gray Stone Day: Solomon Eudy.

North Stanly: Nic Melton, Luke Shaver, Jackson Lisk, Hayden Furr, Cole Smith.

South Stanly: Trevor Tucker, Reece Crump.

Honorable Mention: Jake Andrews (North Stanly), Chance Hunt (South Stanly).


Player of the Year: Mattie Poulos (South Stanly).

Coach of the Year: David Poplin (South Stanly).

Gray Stone Day: Andrew Furr.

North Stanly: Hunter Helms, Callie Parker.

South Stanly: Ali Glover, Mattie Poulos, Emma Campbell, Kassie Swink, Cassiday Smith, Skylar Mauldin.

Honorable Mention: Ilka Kuleba (Gray Stone), Georgia Mullis (North Stanly), Alexis Harward (South Stanly).

Men’s Track 

Athlete of the Year: Ali Currie (Albemarle)

Coach of the Year: Bernard Henry (Albemarle)

Albemarle: Ali Currie, Jaylen Pinkney, Slay Jackson, CJ Ellis, Dre Davis.

Gray Stone: Jobey Swaringen, Andy McLeod, Will Rummage, Quentin Hippert, Andrew Bitzer.

North Stanly: Cameron Smith.

South Stanly: Joshawa Huneycutt, Omarion Eldridge.

Honorable Mention: Miles Gregory (Albemarle, Ayden Carpenter (North Stanly).

Women’s Track

Athlete of the Year: Amari Baldwin (Albemarle)

Albemarle: Amari Baldwin, Abigail Clayton, Mary Grace Krol, Aryjha Baldwin.

Gray Stone Day: Emberlei Pauley-Brown, Ella Huneycutt, Autumn Misenheimer.

North Stanly: Paris Bennett, Shalyn Bell.

Honorable Mention: Diamond Smith (Albemarle), Katherine Cupples (Gray Stone), Lexi Goode (North Stanly).

Women’s Soccer: 

Albemarle: Bianca Navarro.

Gray Stone Day: Georgia Sangster, Mylee Swaringen, Lila Rosser.

North Stanly: Lexi Goode, Shalyn Bell.

South Stanly: Jacy Noble, Keeli Crisco.

Honorable Mention: Daziah Davis (Albemarle), Jade Watts (Gray Stone Day), Caroline Mauldin (North Stanly), Michelle Sandy (South Stanly).